RJ-45 Multi Console Cthulhu Arcade Stick Tutorial Ver.2

245678

Comments

  • myktekmyktek Joined: Posts: 14
    anyone know someone that will do this mod for me... I'm just horrible with wiring
  • TruckasaurusTruckasaurus SUNDAY!SUNDAY!SUNDAY! Joined: Posts: 1,229
    :woot: YEAH! I was looking for the pinouts and the wirings for the newly added systems (saturn, 3DO, et al)

    Thanks Rtdzign! :encore:
    Truck-0-Saurus Truck-Stop!
    http://www.shoryuken.com/showthread.php?t=198554
    Raising Awareness for Optical Joysticks:
    http://www.shoryuken.com/showthread.php?t=126941
  • Casper0878Casper0878 Joined: Posts: 90
    The following pictures dont match up

    LookAtThisMess.jpg

    WiringEthernetColorsTo_GV_Row.jpg

    in the first picture, the green and the blue stripped wire are going to the imp, but in the second picture every wire is going to the Cthulhu board. which way is correct??
  • ToodlesToodles da Fetus of Gawd! Joined: Posts: 10,778
    The following pictures dont match up

    in the first picture, the green and the blue stripped wire are going to the imp, but in the second picture every wire is going to the Cthulhu board. which way is correct??
    Both. :)
    The green and blue stripped wire shown in the second picture goes to the imp. The other six go directly to the RJ-45. The outgoing D+ and D- from the Imp joing with the other six at the rj-45, like in the first diagram.
  • Casper0878Casper0878 Joined: Posts: 90
    Both. :)
    The green and blue stripped wire shown in the second picture goes to the imp. The other six go directly to the RJ-45. The outgoing D+ and D- from the Imp joing with the other six at the rj-45, like in the first diagram.

    so would i be safe to assume that the only time you wire all 8 of them to the MC Cthulhu is when you are not using an imp board??
  • ToodlesToodles da Fetus of Gawd! Joined: Posts: 10,778
    If you want to be able to play xbox360 through the RJ-45 jack, you need an imp connected between the RJ-45 and MC, and six of the RJ-45 wires will be connected directly to the MC, and the other two will go through the imp. If you don't want to play xbox360 through the RJ-45, then all eight columns get wired directly to the eight pins of the RJ-45.
  • rtdzignrtdzign Joined: Posts: 5,174
    Go with Picture 1 if you are dual modding with an Xbox 360 board with an imp.

    Go with picture 2 if you a using a MC Cthulhu by itself.
  • kubebotkubebot Large Member Joined: Posts: 1,269
    .........

    Their CAT6 stuff has a different RJ-45 receptacle that could fit better into wood cases (24mm hole). The square backend that accepts the cable is removable for wiring, so if the case were thin enough it should work. Right now they are pretty expensive though (~$30?).

    2Ph4Xm.jpg
    Also if you wanted to use a Neutrik ethercon you would have to use a special "push-pull" locking version.
    http://www.neutrik.com/us/en/dataconnectors/210_t2_1217768028/NE8MC6-MO_detail.aspx
    And I've not found these for sale online, but then again I didn't look very hard.
  • drunkninja42drunkninja42 My Little CvS Joined: Posts: 1,697
    I suggest that you take a multimeter and triple check the pins to the RJ-45. Also I would boot the system up with the cord already in the system and then plug the ethernet jack end into the stick. NESes are prone to reset if you slightly move the system. Also double check this instructable by Toodles himself. I suggest that you just forget about the purposes of the wires and the similarities between Nes and Snes circuit design and treat them like totally different systems. Just strictly think of the pin numbers to the G-V rows.

    http://www.instructables.com/id/How-To-Install-an-NES-cable-onto-a-Multi-Console-C/

    Ha, yeah, finally got my hands on a multimeter and did some continuity tests and found a slight difference in the cable my initial observations didn't catch. My NES cable works perfectly now. Now to try for a Saturn one....
  • speedsterharryspeedsterharry Joined: Posts: 781
    I tried to solder the MC Cthulhu to the pins of this Neutrik connector:

    210_t2_364779420.jpg

    Unfortunately, soldering wires to pins which are not tied mecanically to a PCB resulted in lots of shorts. In the course of events, one of the Neutrik pins was also completely FUBAR. Is my Neutrik connector good for the bin or can I buy individual special pins for this connector. Does anyone know ?

    I changed this Neutrik to one of those recommanded by rtdezign (the one with terminal strips soldered at the rear - more expensive OK but so much more convenient !). This morning, I had the pleasure to see that neither the MC Cthulhu nor the madcatz PCB that was soldered to it was fried. Losing both PCBs (not even mentioning wiring) got me a little nervous, I must confess :sweat:
  • ViciousXUSMCViciousXUSMC Joined: Posts: 165
    Ha, yeah, finally got my hands on a multimeter and did some continuity tests and found a slight difference in the cable my initial observations didn't catch. My NES cable works perfectly now. Now to try for a Saturn one....

    Making me want to go to the fleamarket and find a NES :D

    Even though I can emulate the games on my PC just fine, something about jiggling NES cartridges, blowing on them and cleaning with rubbing alcohol makes the real thing so much more fun :D

    I have a lot of the NES classics on my virtual console on the wii as well.
  • KazujiroKazujiro PSN ID: Kazujiro XBLive: Kazujiro SRK Joined: Posts: 1,631
    Dude, thanks for putting all this info in an easy to follow tutorial. Thanks to this thread I did my NES, SNES & Saturn cables without any difficulty! (except I had to sand down some of the insulation on the NES/SNES wires for them to fit into the RJ45 plug)
  • TwinkleTwinkle Mecha Otaku Joined: Posts: 284
    Would a usb to RJ-45 adapter like [URL="http://cgi.ebay.com/ETHERNET-10-100-NETWORK-ADAPTER-USB-LAN-RJ45-CARD-/190368894214?cmd=ViewItem&pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2c52decd06]ETHERNET 10/100 NETWORK ADAPTER USB TO LAN RJ45 CARD - eBay (item 190368894214 end time Jul-27-10 07:14:18 PDT)"]this[/URL] work work also?

    I just don't feel like taking off the female b on a working chtulhu.
    Measure twice, cut once.
  • KazujiroKazujiro PSN ID: Kazujiro XBLive: Kazujiro SRK Joined: Posts: 1,631
    Would a usb to RJ-45 adapter like this work work also?
    ETHERNET 10/100 NETWORK ADAPTER USB TO LAN RJ45 CARD - eBay (item 190368894214 end time Jul-27-10 07:14:18 PDT)

    I just don't feel like taking off the female b on a working chtulhu.

    No. If you RJ-45 mod the Cthulhu, you can leave the female B alone.
  • rtdzignrtdzign Joined: Posts: 5,174
    On the boards that I used, I took off the USB B sockets just to see how hard it was to remove, but I didn't have to. I then did it twice for symmetry.

    That USB adaptor, I'm pretty sure it won't work for what i'm guessing your thinking.
  • TwinkleTwinkle Mecha Otaku Joined: Posts: 284
    That USB adaptor, I'm pretty sure it won't work for what i'm guessing your thinking.
    Okay thanks, I was just pondering if there was a way to convert a usb 4 to an 8 pin socket externally.

    Now for another subject, will these fit the holes so you can just crimp & plug these?
    Measure twice, cut once.
  • NerrageNerrage STICKS for JOY Joined: Posts: 3,349
    I have to ask, where's a good place to get the RJ45 boots and jacks without having to buy like packs of 50? After all, I'm only gonna be using about 4 or 5.
  • rtdzignrtdzign Joined: Posts: 5,174
    Try looking for small electronics hobby stores on yelp.com
  • weezy58weezy58 Lost TE in mail... Joined: Posts: 432
    Ok, I'm having some diff. with wiring the GC extension wire I received from ebay. It's a 10ft. white extension, here's the link 10 ft controller extension cord Nintendo Wii/Gamecube - eBay (item 260627147414 end time Jul-28-10 09:35:11 PDT). Now I've tried wiring the 3 top rows to the RJ45, but doesn't seem to read.

    I've updated the firmware on the MC and evened wired my other one in reverse thinking I might have wired it backwards, but didn't wort either. My PS3/USB ones work fine.

    I'm wondering if it's the extension itself or just me? Here's a pic
    36387_109321512451519_100001210110868_76250_7377603_n.jpg

    36387_109321515784852_100001210110868_76251_457072_n.jpg

    Anyone got some suggestions? Got some errands to run, but if anything, I'll try the bottom row of green, blue, and yellow as a last resort.
  • TortaTorta A piece of Cake Joined: Posts: 698
    get a multimeter and a thin wire.. there's a youtube video i think for the gamecube

    VAMOS
    MCCthulhu >> all

    KOFXIII: Ash/King/Vice
  • NerrageNerrage STICKS for JOY Joined: Posts: 3,349
    Try looking for small electronics hobby stores on yelp.com

    Pah. Live in too small of a town for anything even remotely close. Looks like I can get enough for 50 for about $10 shipped on amazon, though. Hmm. I'll just experiment around, lol. Ethernet port to something random like micro USB so that I can use my camera on a wired connection. Lol.
  • rtdzignrtdzign Joined: Posts: 5,174
    For some reason GC wires always give me the most problems. I always get it backwards, then get the crimp pins backwards. It is best to take a break from it for a few hours and start over from scratch with a fresh mind.
  • weezy58weezy58 Lost TE in mail... Joined: Posts: 432
    Thanks Torta & rt, will give it another shot when I get home. Will post results
  • weezy58weezy58 Lost TE in mail... Joined: Posts: 432
    Ok, I'm getting too frustrated with this! Rt, you got a pair of 6ft. GC RJ45 nodded wires up for sale?
  • rtdzignrtdzign Joined: Posts: 5,174
    At the moment no, I don't have any GC wires around. Try posting in the trading forum for one.
  • WinchesterWinchester Quick On The Trigger Joined: Posts: 822
    I was looking around the forum to find out if there were any variants of the RJ-45 ports that do not require screws to configure into the case. Reason being is that i'm receiving a case that I would prefer not to have drilled around and would like to find another way to add the jack in and secure it without damaging the case.
  • spenzaliispenzalii Joined: Posts: 2,016
    I was looking around the forum to find out if there were any variants of the RJ-45 ports that do not require screws to configure into the case. Reason being is that i'm receiving a case that I would prefer not to have drilled around and would like to find another way to add the jack in and secure it without damaging the case.

    I think I saw on one of the older threads where someone had used a Keystone RJ-45 jack and cut a hole in a button plug. That said, I'm not sure how you could have the RJ-45 and not drill some sort of hole in the case, unless there was already a 24mm hole in said case for you to use
    And we build BALLER SHIT! (c) Matskat
  • rtdzignrtdzign Joined: Posts: 5,174
    you should look at post 3 you can use a Din 8 connector and route the cord through a notch. Remember to label that pinout and tape it to your stick.
  • GeorgeCGeorgeC Joined: Posts: 2,850
    Quick question because I looked through two RJ-45 tutorial threads and could not find this!

    I have plenty of leftover Cat5 cable and want to use what I have for two more MC Cthulu mods this coming year... I'm obviously going to use the RJ ends first...

    How to do I order the remaining Cat5 wires into new RJ-45 containers? IE, what's the pinout order for the color of the wiring within the cables?


    EDIT:

    NEVER MIND! Found it here at http://www.swhowto.com/CAT5_Ch1.htm


    Seems like this should be in the RJ-45 tutorial... Just in case...

    For those of us who are nuts enough to make more than two multi-system controllers!
  • rtdzignrtdzign Joined: Posts: 5,174
    CAT5PlugColorsT568B_2.gif

    Yep this picture is type b. It's the same just turned to the side.

    WiringEthernetColorsTo_GV_Row.jpg
  • WinchesterWinchester Quick On The Trigger Joined: Posts: 822
    you should look at post 3 you can use a Din 8 connector and route the cord through a notch. Remember to label that pinout and tape it to your stick.

    Thinking about it, that's actually the most convinent option next to putting the keystone jack into a 24 mm button plug. The case still has a notch on it so all I would need to do is wire it then create the connection ends for the cord. Thanks for the heads up!
  • GeorgeCGeorgeC Joined: Posts: 2,850
    rtdzign,

    Of course after finding the RJ45/Cat5/6 connection webpage, I just looked at the remaining RJ-45 connection on my Cat5e/Ethernet cable and realized what the proper wire order was!

    It was a real "DUH" moment for me! :rofl:


    Nonetheless, I bookmarked the page I found.

    There are actually two wiring orders for Cat5e/6 but the "B" order was the right one for my particular Cat5 cable.

    Like I said before, I WILL run out of cable section with the RJ-45 connection if I do two more multi-system mods before the end of the year.

    I've done enough RJ-45 crimps that it's no longer a big deal to me... You just have to be patient and take your time fitting the wiring into the modular connector!
  • xFATSAKSxxFATSAKSx Joined: Posts: 21
    I have some questions to anyone who can answer. I am attemping a RJ-45, 360 TE, and MC Cthulu mod. Do i solder the xbox usb to top of the imps soldering points? Because, in the tutorial given by rtdzign he has the d+ and d- from the cat5 routed there. Also, can i just solder the cat5 wires to row 1 of the MC cthulu? i just want the extra cables forthe ps2 and the wii. Thanks
  • weezy58weezy58 Lost TE in mail... Joined: Posts: 432
    hey rt,

    I took your advice and went away from making a GC cord for awhile...I tried again 2 days ago and was able to have 1 successful one. But I tried again the next day and was unable to make this one work. It wired and everything the same way, but just doesn't work. I guess I'll have to wait again a couple of days, give it a rest, and try again...Thanks though!
  • NiteWalkerNiteWalker For me it was Friday. Joined: Posts: 1,668
    Are you making sure the cables are going all the way in so they contact the pins in the ethernet connector? Also, are you making sure they're crimped tight enough? The small pins are supposed to puncture the individual wires.

    I have the same white extension cords. Hope I don't run into issues...
    On a never ending quest for the perfect arcade stick.
    SimpleCase Custom Arcade Stick Enclosures
  • rtdzignrtdzign Joined: Posts: 5,174
    I have some questions to anyone who can answer. I am attemping a RJ-45, 360 TE, and MC Cthulu mod. Do i solder the xbox usb to top of the imps soldering points? Because, in the tutorial given by rtdzign he has the d+ and d- from the cat5 routed there. Also, can i just solder the cat5 wires to row 1 of the MC cthulu? i just want the extra cables forthe ps2 and the wii. Thanks

    No, you solder the D+ and D- from the Xbox 360 USB points to the middle points on the imp. You must choose what pcb you want to be primary.
    You should look at this thread.
    But to quickly answer your question with a picture:
    Step2_DplusDminus.jpg
  • NiteWalkerNiteWalker For me it was Friday. Joined: Posts: 1,668
    Awesome update to the original thread.
    Nice work. :tup:
    On a never ending quest for the perfect arcade stick.
    SimpleCase Custom Arcade Stick Enclosures
  • xerzecxerzec Joined: Posts: 46
    My autodetect for PS3/360 doesn't work so I'm gonna need a RJ-45 to USB line for PS3. I bought an A-to-B USB cable in anticipation of having a jack inside the stick, but that didn't work out. I don't have a crimping tool or wire stripper. Can I just cut off the non-standard USB end of the cable, take an RJ-45 head off an ethernet cable, and manage to make it work? Is there anywhere I can buy an RJ-45 to USB cable that works for PS3 properly?

    If any of you can make/have a RJ-45 to PS3 cable that you are willing to sell I would also be really interested in buying it, I don't trust myself with mods or any similar work. Just PM me.

    Thanks in advance.
  • speedsterharryspeedsterharry Joined: Posts: 781
    The Imp doesn't autodetect anything, you have to force the primary or secondary PCB by pressing the GUIDE button or not when plugging the cable.
  • NarrooNarroo Joined: Posts: 115
    I am only planning on making a PS2 cord at the moment; perhaps a Saturn cord later.
    So, instead of making an extra port and seriously modding my stick, can I attach my PS2 cord to a usb cord somehow? Or is it possible to attach a USB end to my PS2 cord?
  • NiteWalkerNiteWalker For me it was Friday. Joined: Posts: 1,668
    Nope. Not enough pins. Your best bet for a one-all solution is to do the rj45 mod. quick and simple, especially if you grab one of the solder screw terminals for the row the rj45 cord goes into.
    On a never ending quest for the perfect arcade stick.
    SimpleCase Custom Arcade Stick Enclosures
  • NiteWalkerNiteWalker For me it was Friday. Joined: Posts: 1,668
    Pah. Live in too small of a town for anything even remotely close. Looks like I can get enough for 50 for about $10 shipped on amazon, though. Hmm. I'll just experiment around, lol. Ethernet port to something random like micro USB so that I can use my camera on a wired connection. Lol.

    Sorry for the double post but I just saw your post. I know it's a month later but I hope this helps out some in the future.
    I get all my ethernet boots, cable, tools, jacks, etc. from monoprice. Very cheap and the quality is there.
    Here's some of what I get:
    Boots -$2.66 for a bag of 50 is next to nothing.
    Connectors -One bag should last a loooong time. These are great quality as well.
    Cat 5e Network Cables -They have them in a bunch of lengths and colors. I usually grab a longer length of the color I want, a bag of boots and connectors if needed. Make as many cables as you need.
    Cable Stripper -Very useful to have for doing the ethernet cables as well as the controller cables.
    Ratcheting Crimpers -I absolutely love these. They make it super easy to crimp the connectors on with the right amount of pressure. Not expensive either.

    I also get all my USB Cables from monoprice too. Dirt cheap and they work just fine.

    This thread deserved a bump anyway. :party:

    Monoprice FTW. :china:

    One more thing: A multimeter is a necessity for doing multi-console arcade sticks. But you don't have to spend a fortune. I bought this one years ago and aside from changing the battery it hasn't failed me yet. Right now it's on sale for $3.49 so now would be a good time to grab it.

    edit: Might as well add the neutrik drilling template here too.
    I made this from the pdf from neutrik's site.
    I flipped it (it was from behind view so it was backwards), redid the writing and made the lines darker and solid rather than dashed. It's accurate. It works with both the NAUSB (usb) and NE8FDP (rj45) connectors. Use a 24mm or 15/16" drill bit for the center hole and a 1/8" bit for the mounting holes.

    Print with NO SCALING. I print from microsoft word or photoshop. You can fit 25 to a page in word if you set all the margins to .5" or less.
    300dpi.

    NeutrikDrillingTemplate.png
    On a never ending quest for the perfect arcade stick.
    SimpleCase Custom Arcade Stick Enclosures
  • Chester CharmChester Charm Charmer Joined: Posts: 33
    rtdzign: thanks for such a clear tutorial.
    天
  • TruckasaurusTruckasaurus SUNDAY!SUNDAY!SUNDAY! Joined: Posts: 1,229
    Any ideals on how to incorporate a PiiWee board into an MC Cthulhu setup? Hmmm, All I can think of right now is 2 separate RJ45 ports, one for the MC Cthulhu and then another separate one for the PiiWee? Maybe I'm missing/missed something.
    Truck-0-Saurus Truck-Stop!
    http://www.shoryuken.com/showthread.php?t=198554
    Raising Awareness for Optical Joysticks:
    http://www.shoryuken.com/showthread.php?t=126941
  • NiteWalkerNiteWalker For me it was Friday. Joined: Posts: 1,668
    Let me know if I'm getting this right; the MC Cthulhu does GC only right? And the PiiWee does the classic controller?
    On a never ending quest for the perfect arcade stick.
    SimpleCase Custom Arcade Stick Enclosures
  • jdm714jdm714 Blue Blue Glass Moon Joined: Posts: 12,828
    Well technically not only GameCube, but Multi-Console Cthulhu does do it, yes.
    And PiiWee is Classic Controller, yes.
    J&J SoCal Modding: http://shoryuken.com/forum/index.php?threads/113434/
    Visit J&J SoCal Modding's Blog for review of new Arcade Parts: http://jjsocalmodding.blogspot.com
  • NiteWalkerNiteWalker For me it was Friday. Joined: Posts: 1,668
    Well technically not only GameCube, but Multi-Console Cthulhu does do it, yes.
    Right; I meant functionality wise it only did gamecube controller support and not classic controller support.

    I can see the piiwee being great for vc games.
    On a never ending quest for the perfect arcade stick.
    SimpleCase Custom Arcade Stick Enclosures
  • ToodlesToodles da Fetus of Gawd! Joined: Posts: 10,778
    Every VC game is GC controller capable. SamSho Anthology is about the only thing that you would expect to use an arcade stick with but doesn't support the GC controller.
  • TruckasaurusTruckasaurus SUNDAY!SUNDAY!SUNDAY! Joined: Posts: 1,229
    what if an RJ45 port was wired to row one of the cthulhu and then the piiwee's output/connecting wires were wired up to row 2 of the cthulhu, to corresponding spots in the row so an RJ45 plugged classic controller extension cable could use the same RJ45 port the Cthulhu was running through?

    Just spitballing/snowballing possible ways to piggyback a piiwee onto an MC Cthulhu and have both running through the same RJ45 port
    Truck-0-Saurus Truck-Stop!
    http://www.shoryuken.com/showthread.php?t=198554
    Raising Awareness for Optical Joysticks:
    http://www.shoryuken.com/showthread.php?t=126941
  • AkkaAkka Joined: Posts: 287
    Hey guys,

    anyone any information on making a cable for the N64? Does the MC Cthulhu support N64?
    AE: Juri
    UMvC3: Magneto/Trish/Doom
    KI: Orchid
Sign In or Register to comment.