Things you just don't understand about ST

Comments

• PaskyPasky Ninja with pistol! Joined: Posts: 1,863
    I used MAME's cheat search and just did comparisons until it left a single address. Although, I'm starting to think there is something else determining dizzies, because when I make a cheat locking that address to a certain value, it seems to act the same as if I hadn't done that.

You need to set a breakpoint at the dizzy value address. Find out what reads from it and step through the assembly code, that way you can find the threshold or the flag (whichever it uses) that determines when the dizzy occurs that way. Just looking at the value really won't do anything unless you find out what is reading the value and how it is interpreted.
    <Pasky> so you can go extra fast by just holding it?
    <bookah> turbo handjob
    <baklakiller> sure if had a penis
    <baklakiller> im a beginner gief
  • CauldrathCauldrath Joined: Posts: 617
    Yeah, because I totally want to step through the undoubted mess that is the Street Fighter 2 codebase with the added bonus of having to disassemble it from a ROM instead of having real code. I don't even know where I could get an arcade ROM disassembler. There's a HUGE difference between doing a few comparisons of RAM and stepping through disassembled code. Like, I'd-better-be-getting-paid-a-lot-for-this-and-get-a-few-weeks-to-do-it difference, even if someone else provided the disassembler.
    My blog where I try to break games: http://cauldrath.blogspot.com/
    My videos of me trying to break games: http://www.youtube.com/user/Cauldrath
  • PaskyPasky Ninja with pistol! Joined: Posts: 1,863