Yang Q&A: Ask simple questions here!

Comments

• GolcarJack3SGolcarJack3S Joined: Posts: 17
    Hey. I'm new to playing Yang In ultra. I decided to try and learn a second character, so I thought I'd go with Yang seen as I play him in 3S. I have combos nailed down pretty well. However I seem to be having trouble getting in, and safely applying pressure on my opponents. Any tips?
  • EastEast Break Through Joined: Posts: 901
    Hey. I'm new to playing Yang In ultra. I decided to try and learn a second character, so I thought I'd go with Yang seen as I play him in 3S. I have combos nailed down pretty well. However I seem to be having trouble getting in, and safely applying pressure on my opponents. Any tips?

Yang has great footsies, gotta learn to utilize them.
  • OSDOSD Joined: Posts: 441
    edited July 2014
    Is there a place where I can learn Yang's dive kick setups/uses?
    The only setup I know of that is somewhat useful is in the corner after a throw: Dash, walk forward a little, jump forward lk.divekick. I think it was an unblockable setup. It doesnt combo though so its more to confuse the opponent/ make dp's whiff.
    Try neutral jumping, delaying divekicks and getting used to his footsie tools. If you walk in and neutral jump just inside their poke range you can easily whiff punish it with a divekick. If you switch up neutral jumps with (delayed) divekicks it'll be hard for your opponent to react. Add footsies to the mix and you're basically in full control.

Safe pressure: Blockingstring ending in rekka. From there you can delay a 2nd rekka, go back to footsies, cr.lk/c.mk xx rekka, divekick in, neutral jump to see how they react...basically whatever you want.
    @OSD Ok thanks. I have some of that down as well. I usually do a few divekick strings, then neutral jump in heavy divekick range. And then go for a light divekick, baiting an anti air. As stupid as this sounds it seems to work pretty well for punishing.