Official 'Kitty' class boards thread

1404142434446»

Comments

  • mechanicalgrapemechanicalgrape Joined: Posts: 14
    Well I found a workaround for 360 mode. I had to go into Device Manager and disable the HID-compliant game controller listed under Human Interface Devices. Only thing is that now it's always in 360 mode regardless of how I plug it in. But it's working so I'm okay with it for now.
  • CasualGamerCCCasualGamerCC Joined: Posts: 43
    edited February 2016
    I have an unused VLX Kitty board that I found in parts boxes from my old store, still in the static bag. Wondering if it's possible to use this like a MC Cthulhu and install it in a non-Hori stick or if I should just try to sell it and get a different board for multi console goodness.
  • VickoVicko Vegas Modder Extraordinaire! Joined: Posts: 2,829
    it is but those are pretty valuable, i would save it or sell it
    SRK Tech Talk Member of the Year 2015
    Need a stick modded? I can dual mod, repair, and customize your stick or Hitbox for PS4/PS3/XB1/360

    www.vickomods.com
    lol
  • CasualGamerCCCasualGamerCC Joined: Posts: 43
    Ok, I think I'll put it up on eBay then. I don't see myself ever getting a VLX stick in the future and the stuff I have is mostly for MAME and older consoles.
  • RynoWRynoW Joined: Posts: 36
    When I plug my TE Kitty into my Brooke 360->PS4 converter, my stick thinks it's being plugged into a PC and goes in PS3 mode, unless I force it into 360 mode by switch to RS and holding turbo while plugging in. This is pretty inconvenient. Is there a way to get it to default to 360 mode when I plug it into a Brook converter or PC?
  • ShrapnlShrapnl Joined: Posts: 10
    RynoW wrote: »
    When I plug my TE Kitty into my Brooke 360->PS4 converter, my stick thinks it's being plugged into a PC and goes in PS3 mode, unless I force it into 360 mode by switch to RS and holding turbo while plugging in. This is pretty inconvenient. Is there a way to get it to default to 360 mode when I plug it into a Brook converter or PC?

    I was able to plug my Xbox 360 SFxT V.S. stick modded with a TE Kitty directly into my PS4. I'm presuming the auto detect worked detecting it as a PS3 controller as I was able to register it as a legacy controller then in SFV. Apologies, I presume you're trying to use it with SFV, if it's another game then please ignore. :)
  • RynoWRynoW Joined: Posts: 36
    Shrapnl wrote: »
    RynoW wrote: »
    When I plug my TE Kitty into my Brooke 360->PS4 converter, my stick thinks it's being plugged into a PC and goes in PS3 mode, unless I force it into 360 mode by switch to RS and holding turbo while plugging in. This is pretty inconvenient. Is there a way to get it to default to 360 mode when I plug it into a Brook converter or PC?

    I was able to plug my Xbox 360 SFxT V.S. stick modded with a TE Kitty directly into my PS4. I'm presuming the auto detect worked detecting it as a PS3 controller as I was able to register it as a legacy controller then in SFV. Apologies, I presume you're trying to use it with SFV, if it's another game then please ignore. :)

    I ordered the adapter before legacy support was announced, but I'd like to use it with Guilty Gear Xrd anyway. Like I said, it still works if I force Xbox mode, but I was just wondering if there's a firmware that defaults to Xbox mode on PC plugin, or a hex value I can change in the current firmware to change the default behavior.
  • VickoVicko Vegas Modder Extraordinaire! Joined: Posts: 2,829
    It won't autodetect PC so you'll just have to switch to RS and hold select/turbo.
    SRK Tech Talk Member of the Year 2015
    Need a stick modded? I can dual mod, repair, and customize your stick or Hitbox for PS4/PS3/XB1/360

    www.vickomods.com
    lol
  • sucramsucram I like bean jam Joined: Posts: 26
    edited February 2016
    Shrapnl wrote: »
    I was able to plug my Xbox 360 SFxT V.S. stick modded with a TE Kitty directly into my PS4. I'm presuming the auto detect worked detecting it as a PS3 controller as I was able to register it as a legacy controller then in SFV. Apologies, I presume you're trying to use it with SFV, if it's another game then please ignore. :)

    THANK YOU FOR THIS. I have an Xbox 360 TE S modded with the TE Kitty and I was looking for any sort of information.
    Post edited by sucram on
  • analogmonkeyanalogmonkey Joined: Posts: 7
    I've got a couple of TE kitty's still in the static bags, are they still the best way to get a multi format stick (retro consoles + pc)?

    Or is there a better alternative now? and just sell these if they are worth anything?
  • NENDONENDO I will meditate and then destroy you. Joined: Posts: 3,344
    I've got a couple of TE kitty's still in the static bags, are they still the best way to get a multi format stick (retro consoles + pc)?

    Or is there a better alternative now? and just sell these if they are worth anything?

    It's still a really good way to get PC/Retro support. If you're going to sell them, do so ASAP. Just a word to the wise.
  • BenticBentic Joined: Posts: 4
    Hey guys!

    I know there isn't much activity in this thread anymore, but I finally could register on the forums without an invite and only recently started making cables for my TE-Kitty.

    I've got a TE Round 1 fightstick and I'm trying to make a Super Nintendo cable. I made two PlayStation 2 cables (I have an MC Cthulhu ready for my PS3 SE fightstick, I'm waiting for a fightpad PCB someone will give me) which work fine.

    I tried several times making that SNES cable (from an official controller, if that matters), but still can't successfully do it. I checked the wires several times, according to the user's guide and the RJ-45 thread, and tested the console and RJ-45 ends with my multimeter once crimped, and everything seems to match (continuity works for one pin only for each wire).
    Unfortunately, when I plug it in the console, it would seem that only the A button works, and is triggering several buttons at once. For instance, in Super Castlevania IV, every time I press A, the game goes in or out of pause, the character jumps forward whipping and throwing a knife (which would be at least the right direction and B, X, R and Start buttons).

    I figured I would try reflashing the firmware, but I'm without luck here too.
    I'm on Windows 10 Pro 64-bit.
    I start Kitty.exe, click on Update firmware, select tekitty_complete_13.hex (is there a new one?) hold the Guide button and plug the stick in (switches on DP and unlocked, I think I tried LS too), the top left and bottom right LEDs are lit, I click OK, approve the execution of the program by clicking Yes, and the command line window only flashes for a fraction of a second.
    I tried doing it manually by starting an admin command prompt and pasting the command line from runasadm.bat (by changing the vlxkitty_complete_10.hex with tekitty_complete_13.hex), and the result is:
    U2IO flash erasing: FAILED.
    Device is not found.
    Operation aborted.

    I guess the -vid or -pid value doesn't match.
    Not sure if reflashing the firmware would help, but I discover now that I have two problems to solve :p

    Can anyone help me with this ?

    Thanks in advance.


    P.S.: I previously made one successfully for a friend who also has a TE Round 1 with TE-Kitty, so not sure what the issue is.
  • VickoVicko Vegas Modder Extraordinaire! Joined: Posts: 2,829
    have you checked continuity on your ethernet and neutrik? does his cable work on your setup?
    SRK Tech Talk Member of the Year 2015
    Need a stick modded? I can dual mod, repair, and customize your stick or Hitbox for PS4/PS3/XB1/360

    www.vickomods.com
    lol
  • BenticBentic Joined: Posts: 4
    Hey Vicko, thanks for replying!

    Yes I did, and my PlayStation 2 cable works.
    I don't have my friend's cable on hand right now (and won't be able to borrow it for two weeks I think).
  • triple_leitriple_lei Fan of green-mouthed Zangief Joined: Posts: 98
    edited May 2016
    All I can say is my TE Kitty wouldn't work at all with some SNES games (namely Super Double Dragon and its Japanese counterpart, Return of Double Dragon). Come to think of it, I remember hitting a face button and pausing in that game too.

    It kinda broke my Kitty at that point. To fix it, I had to reflash the firmware, so until you can do that, I guess you're stuck.

    I know the Kitty works with Street Fighter II: The World Warrior and Mega Man X, so try those.

    Less-than-perfect compatibility is kinda why I'm using my Capcom Fighter Power Stick more for SNES and NES games... :s


    EDIT: Pretty sure I had almost the same setup as you when I reflashed (Windows 10 Home, 64-bit). I remember sweating a bit when the updater just flashed for a fraction of a second. I forget exactly what I did, but I did get it to work. Maybe I was right-clicking and doing that whole "run as administrator" thing or running in compatibility mode... but I may have just switched USB ports -- whether to or from a USB 3.0 port, I forget.

    EDIT 2: My cable was also made from an official SNES controller.
    Post edited by triple_lei on
  • BenticBentic Joined: Posts: 4
    Hey guys, I had a bit of time to look into that flashing problem.

    No compatibility mode for fw_update.exe nor runasadm.bat of course, but only for Kitty.exe.
    I tried Windows 7 compatibility, tried a different USB port, but it still doesn't work. I only have USB 3 ports on my Windows 10 laptop.

    So I tried on an other computer with Windows 8 and USB 2 ports, and it worked!
    I don't know if the problem was with Windows 10 or the USB 3 ports...

    Either way, my SNES cable still doesn't work. I'll have to dig up a few games in my basement to try, see how it goes.

    If it still doesn't work, I'm seeing my friend on sunday, so I can try with his cable.

    I'll let you know the results!
  • BenticBentic Joined: Posts: 4
    edited May 2016
    OK guys, I got to try my cable on my friend's stick on his console, and it works well.

    I stupidly forgot my stick, so I took his back with me, and I have the same problem on MY console, either with his cable or mine. Same behaviour as explained before.

    Any particular issues with PAL consoles ? I assume it shouldn't matter. We tried on my friend's Super Famicom, I'm not sure we tried on his PAL console this time, but if I recall correctly, we tried the cable I made for him on it before, and successfully.

    I guess my console is a bit faulty... It has difficulties loading US and Japanese games with an adaptor (which were not that clean, but worked flawlessly on my friend's console after cleaning).
    I don't know if there could be any relation between the issues with non-PAL games, and my stick with TE-Kitty not working as it should...

    Does anyone have any idea on what I should be looking for ?

    Thanks in advance again! :)
  • BraintrashBraintrash Joined: Posts: 69
    Off topic, but do someone has got the picture of the fix to do on the Kitty, with the headset issue. Seems to be gone... :-/
  • VickoVicko Vegas Modder Extraordinaire! Joined: Posts: 2,829
    What headset issue?
    SRK Tech Talk Member of the Year 2015
    Need a stick modded? I can dual mod, repair, and customize your stick or Hitbox for PS4/PS3/XB1/360

    www.vickomods.com
    lol
  • DarksakulDarksakul Your lack of faith disturbs me Joined: Posts: 22,415
    Vicko wrote: »
    What headset issue?
    Agreed, the Kitty has nothing to do with the Headset, that would fall under your existing Xbox 360 PCB the Kitty is now mounted too.
    "You must defeat Sheng Long to stand a chance."
  • BraintrashBraintrash Joined: Posts: 69
    Well, I for sure didn't dream there was a flaw on the Kitty board which was easily fixed, but well, yeah, you probably know better.

    Miss the old SRK for sure...
  • DarksakulDarksakul Your lack of faith disturbs me Joined: Posts: 22,415
    edited May 2016
    Braintrash wrote: »
    Well, I for sure didn't dream there was a flaw on the Kitty board which was easily fixed, but well, yeah, you probably know better.

    Miss the old SRK for sure...
    The old SRK? I been around longer than you.

    When you remove the Kitty board did your headset go back to working?
    Also did you ever unplug the headset cable going from the Main PCB to the headphone jack?
    Post edited by Darksakul on
    "You must defeat Sheng Long to stand a chance."
  • BraintrashBraintrash Joined: Posts: 69
    :facepalm:
  • StormStorm Joined: Posts: 3
    Hi,
    I've modded my TE-S stick recently with the Kitty PCB and its working great. But now I want to connect the stick to my Neo Geo, so I want to add a DB-15 port to the stick.

    I already soldered the Buttons and the ground wire from the terminal Block to a DB-15 socket but its not working correctly. Only when I disconnect the ribbon cables from the terminal block, the neo geo is registering the buttons correctly.

    Could you tell me why?

    Thanks!
  • DarksakulDarksakul Your lack of faith disturbs me Joined: Posts: 22,415
    Storm wrote: »
    Hi,
    I've modded my TE-S stick recently with the Kitty PCB and its working great. But now I want to connect the stick to my Neo Geo, so I want to add a DB-15 port to the stick.

    I already soldered the Buttons and the ground wire from the terminal Block to a DB-15 socket but its not working correctly. Only when I disconnect the ribbon cables from the terminal block, the neo geo is registering the buttons correctly.

    Could you tell me why?

    Thanks!

    You have to treat your DB-15 install like another PCB for a dual mod.
    You got ground but you also need to tap into your Neo Geo +5volts from the controller port to put the board into idle, or you going to get the issues you are having here.
    "You must defeat Sheng Long to stand a chance."
  • StormStorm Joined: Posts: 3
    Thanks for your reply.
    So I would just have to connect the 5V from the DB15 connector to the kitty board?
  • StormStorm Joined: Posts: 3
    Nevermind, I tried it a couple of minutes ago and it works perfectly. Thank you very much!
  • Antonio-o-oAntonio-o-o Joined: Posts: 326
    With of course omitting the xb360 functionality, would the TE Kitty operate without having the stock 360 pcb piggybacked to it? If one simply wanted to use this (red) pcb for legacy functionality, could it work?
  • speedsterharryspeedsterharry Joined: Posts: 784
    With of course omitting the xb360 functionality, would the TE Kitty operate without having the stock 360 pcb piggybacked to it? If one simply wanted to use this (red) pcb for legacy functionality, could it work?

    Use a MC Cthulhu instead. Alas; this PCB is not produced anymore and you might have trouble sourcing it
  • Antonio-o-oAntonio-o-o Joined: Posts: 326
    @speedsterharry

    Good point there.
  • VickoVicko Vegas Modder Extraordinaire! Joined: Posts: 2,829
    not true

    stay tuned @ PAS
    SRK Tech Talk Member of the Year 2015
    Need a stick modded? I can dual mod, repair, and customize your stick or Hitbox for PS4/PS3/XB1/360

    www.vickomods.com
    lol
  • DubonDubon Joined: Posts: 468
    Vicko wrote: »
    not true

    stay tuned @ PAS

    I'm about to order another UFB. Should i wait?

  • sasquachsasquach MvC2 making a comeback 2017? Joined: Posts: 366
    Dubon wrote: »
    Vicko wrote: »
    not true

    stay tuned @ PAS

    I'm about to order another UFB. Should i wait?

    What's more important, legacy or modern consoles? But yea am excited for more Cthulhus since I may buy two or three more.
    "I'm just nice" -Harry Potter
  • VickoVicko Vegas Modder Extraordinaire! Joined: Posts: 2,829
    Dubon wrote: »
    Vicko wrote: »
    not true

    stay tuned @ PAS

    I'm about to order another UFB. Should i wait?

    How could you even compare the two? You either need legacy or you need modern shit. One does not replace the other.
    SRK Tech Talk Member of the Year 2015
    Need a stick modded? I can dual mod, repair, and customize your stick or Hitbox for PS4/PS3/XB1/360

    www.vickomods.com
    lol
  • DubonDubon Joined: Posts: 468
    Nah, i thought u ment a possible new brook with added legacy to ufb functionality... Nm then
  • AMurderOfCrowsAMurderOfCrows Satun Specialist Joined: Posts: 115
    Any follow up on this? The kitty was my favorite mod thus far and I've got 3 more TEs sitting here that I'd like to mod.
    "So it is written....so it shall come to pass. Quoth the Raven, 'Nevermore!'"
Sign In or Register to comment.