UD-CPS2: Fully Consolized Capcom Play System 2

2456714

Comments

  • emphaticemphatic Joined: Posts: 476
    Awesome work, man.
    I love shmups and never play fighting games.
    Here's my Guwange stick: http://www.emphatic.se/?p=197
  • undamnedundamned Wake up! Time to die! Joined: Posts: 1,677
    Any chance for PAL support without the need for a converter?
    Hadn't even crossed my mind! It's not on my todo list, so if it happens, it will certainly not be at the initial release. Most folks I know from PAL countries who are really into video games also have an NTSC setup for JP/US imports.
    When can we expect the Naomi version? :p
    Hmm, doubtful anytime soon? :)
    Will this still work on an arcade cab?
    Nope. A boards are cheap, so if you have a cab, keep one for that :) The intent of this device is to reach outside the arcade savvy audiences, so I'm making zero effort to retain those functions.

    Ok, so I had a moment on my lunch break to fire up the oscope @ work. I haven't spent much time with code cleanup, aside from commenting out some blatant time eaters. Response time seems all over the place. Best response was an acceptable 2ms, whereas the worst was a staggering 40ms. I'll be spending more time with my code to better diagnose the cause of those spikes in latency.

    That aside, I was quite pleased that not only did my USB host board program on the first try, but the i/o routines I had written before receiving my boards worked without a hitch :) It's fun to win!
    -ud
  • RufusRufus An unexpected database error has occurred. Joined: Posts: 1,966
    Any chance you'll make just the USB -> JAMMA component available?
    Hitboxes http://www.pedantic.org/~nate/HDR/
    "You don't know what you're talking about as much as I do." -- Unknown
  • undamnedundamned Wake up! Time to die! Joined: Posts: 1,677
    Any chance you'll make just the USB -> JAMMA component available?
    Well, it won't be USB->JAMMA, but more likely a USB->Discrete Outputs or DB-15 or something that you can wire up yourself.
    -ud
  • deadfrogdeadfrog Joined: Joined: Posts: 6,787
    yo this thread is BUMPIN

    soon you'll have to hire an agent or a secretary to handle all of your PR
  • lolmarklolmark Joined: Posts: 227
    Very interested in this project!!
  • aggro cragaggro crag Joined: Posts: 205
    I can't wait for this. Looking forward to placing an order.
  • TaikiTaiki OH HO HOHOHOHOHO Joined: Posts: 1,029
    Hadn't even crossed my mind! It's not on my todo list, so if it happens, it will certainly not be at the initial release. Most folks I know from PAL countries who are really into video games also have an NTSC setup for JP/US imports

    PAL TVs should still come with SCART sockets, even nowadays. If the thing's wired for RGB+Sync on the proper pins, it should still work with a SCART TV that does RGB over SCART.

    (Problem being that some SCART sockets only use the composite pins, and not the full RGB+Sync.)
  • Missing PersonMissing Person Givin' dat ho ho ho dem eyes. Joined: Posts: 13,524
    PAL TVs should still come with SCART sockets, even nowadays. If the thing's wired for RGB+Sync on the proper pins, it should still work with a SCART TV that does RGB over SCART.

    (Problem being that some SCART sockets only use the composite pins, and not the full RGB+Sync.)
    Well, I have a Chinese HDTV that appears not to have an SCART socket. So I think it won't be working on this.
    XBL: WatCnBrwnDo4U | PSN: LanierIsPlusEV | CFN: MissingPerson GGPO/FightCade: Missing Person | Steam: [TAS] Missing Person | Battle.net: MissingPersn#1365
    Twitter: JTMMissingPersn | Instagram: jtmmissingperson | Twitch: http://twitch.tv/missingpersonsrk
  • TaikiTaiki OH HO HOHOHOHOHO Joined: Posts: 1,029
    Well, I have a Chinese HDTV that appears not to have an SCART socket. So I think it won't be working on this.

    I thought china was NTSC except for Hong Kong? I would've figured being a former british colony they'd have been blessed with SCART sockets.

    oops, my bad.
  • Missing PersonMissing Person Givin' dat ho ho ho dem eyes. Joined: Posts: 13,524
    No, from what I've been told, China is PAL. For instance, when we moved into our apartment, there was a Korean TV descrambler here, but it was from Korea, and we were told it wouldn't work on Chinese TVs. I know Korea is NTSC, so that only leaves PAL and SECAM, and I think SECAM is exclusive to Australia.
    XBL: WatCnBrwnDo4U | PSN: LanierIsPlusEV | CFN: MissingPerson GGPO/FightCade: Missing Person | Steam: [TAS] Missing Person | Battle.net: MissingPersn#1365
    Twitter: JTMMissingPersn | Instagram: jtmmissingperson | Twitch: http://twitch.tv/missingpersonsrk
  • ScaffaScaffa Joined: Posts: 182
    Putting money aside for this!
  • .temp.temp maximum hype Joined: Posts: 69
    well i'll be getting one of these
    4 buttons and it's GGs all round
  • undamnedundamned Wake up! Time to die! Joined: Posts: 1,677
    Awesome work, man.
    Thanks! I'm really trying to do a bang up job!

    Spent a bit of time getting more intimate w/ the timing characteristics of my USB host processor. It appears I can run it 4x faster than currently. I'll try throwing a faster oscillator on this weekend so I can get some new button latency data next week. Theoretically, at 4x, worst case lag would be in the way of 10ms, typical being more like 5ms, and best being sub millisecond. That means worst case is still less than 1 frame of input lag. Quite acceptable, IMO.
    -ud
  • Capn SpankyCapn Spanky Bullet Billpocalypse Joined: Posts: 1,795
    Spent a bit of time getting more intimate w/ the timing characteristics of my USB host processor.

    What language are you doing the code in? Are you just programming something you've already designed or are you doing Hardware description? This is just curiosity, btw. I have no valuable feedback for you. I'm just a college EE undergrad trying to figure out what you're doing.
  • MajinhurricaneMajinhurricane Forced to play super turbo, f%@# Cammy. Joined: Posts: 3,304
    undamned, check Pm <.<
    But there is no implying that every Rose player picked Rose just so they can go "hur hur hur hur there is nothing you can hur hur hur do about hur hur hur let the spirits guide you hur hur hur hur". -Anton
  • undamnedundamned Wake up! Time to die! Joined: Posts: 1,677
    What language are you doing the code in? Are you just programming something you've already designed or are you doing Hardware description? This is just curiosity, btw. I have no valuable feedback for you. I'm just a college EE undergrad trying to figure out what you're doing.
    C. Just programming a board I designed. Haha, I haven't looked at HDL since college! :) How far in school are you?

    @ Maijin: Replied!
    -ud
  • Capn SpankyCapn Spanky Bullet Billpocalypse Joined: Posts: 1,795
    C. Just programming a board I designed. Haha, I haven't looked at HDL since college! :) How far in school are you?
    -ud
    I figured that would be the case. I'm a first year transfer right now (senior by units, junior by time left.), but I have to take a bit of HDL for the next three quarters. My senior project is most likely going to be built off of an HDL development board and probably just expanded through the board's expansion slots, but when I saw that you were cutting out some code to reduce lag, I was curious if it was a Description issue or a programming issue. Now I understand, thanks!
  • wiselesswiseless geek pride Joined: Posts: 1,050
    I'm so damn curious to take a look at this baby. You had it running at Devastation, right? No pics? :(
    PSN ID: wiseless
    "Boring my opponents to death."
  • rcaidorcaido Dynamic Bayside Duo Joined: Posts: 8,225
    I'm so damn curious to take a look at this baby. You had it running at Devastation, right? No pics? :(


    Pics are on post#24
    Is there anyway to have component available for this? The reason i ask, people are tired lugging around big ass heavy crt tvs at gatherings/tourney. Being able to hook this up to a monitor would be a huge convenience IMO.
    Im also really curious how much one of these will cost. Im hoping the prices will be more on the MVS consolize range then the Atomiswave consolize systems.
  • wiselesswiseless geek pride Joined: Posts: 1,050
    Thanks, I somehow skipped that post - actually I just noticed I skipped a LOT of posts, WTF?
    Also just found out the 1st post was updated with pics! :D
    PSN ID: wiseless
    "Boring my opponents to death."
  • RufusRufus An unexpected database error has occurred. Joined: Posts: 1,966
    Pics are on post#24
    Is there anyway to have component available for this? The reason i ask, people are tired lugging around big ass heavy crt tvs at gatherings/tourney. Being able to hook this up to a monitor would be a huge convenience IMO.

    The CRT thing is more about lag snobs. VGA out is easy to get for JAMMA.
    Hitboxes http://www.pedantic.org/~nate/HDR/
    "You don't know what you're talking about as much as I do." -- Unknown
  • undamnedundamned Wake up! Time to die! Joined: Posts: 1,677
    My senior project is most likely going to be built off of an HDL development board and probably just expanded through the board's expansion slots...
    Sounds fun! You should put up a thread on it when it's done (whatever it is) :)
    Is there anyway to have component available for this? The reason i ask, people are tired lugging around big ass heavy crt tvs at gatherings/tourney. Being able to hook this up to a monitor would be a huge convenience IMO.
    I'd love to have component out, but at this time I'm not putting much focus on that aspect of the project. As rufus mentioned, (non-hd) CRTs are the display of choice for lag free play, so I'll leave it up to the user to upscale the RGB to whatever they want. Upscalers and TVs that upscale will introduce some amount of lag that I don't want to be responsible for.
    Im also really curious how much one of these will cost. Im hoping the prices will be more on the MVS consolize range then the Atomiswave consolize systems.
    Holy cow! I just looked up a cosolized Atomiswave! $829? Who pays for this nonsense! I could buy a nice cab + Atomiswave + more stuff for that! Short answer: no, this will not cost that much!

    Small update:

    4x oscillator is running fine, just need to take it to work to check new input lag specs.
    -ud
  • kasprfotokasprfoto part time player, part time modder Joined: Posts: 774
    yep, i'm in for one as well =) i been trying to get a candy cab but have no luck so this seems to be the next best thing!
  • TaikiTaiki OH HO HOHOHOHOHO Joined: Posts: 1,029
    No, from what I've been told, China is PAL. For instance, when we moved into our apartment, there was a Korean TV descrambler here, but it was from Korea, and we were told it wouldn't work on Chinese TVs. I know Korea is NTSC, so that only leaves PAL and SECAM, and I think SECAM is exclusive to Australia.

    SECAM is mostly france and eastern europe. Australia's PAL.

    Just checked Wikipedia, China's definitely PAL. Shocked they don't have SCART. Weird.
  • DarksakulDarksakul Your lack of faith disturbs me Joined: Posts: 19,755
    SECAM is mostly france and eastern europe. Australia's PAL.

    Just checked Wikipedia, China's definitely PAL. Shocked they don't have SCART. Weird.
    SCART although designed primarily for PAL was a European development. Scart did appear in the US called EIA Multiport but never
    became popular. Scart was a means to have a universal A/V connector for the European market, where before each Country had there own standards in Europe.
    Scart was introduced to Japan as the Euro A/V or Euroconnector. China being a closed market to outsiders in the late 70s, 80s and early 90s never adopt the standard. I also believe at the time Chinese homes all did not have a Television as standard.
    Never pay double the retail price
  • aggro cragaggro crag Joined: Posts: 205
    Will the UD-CPS2 work with Grey B-boards? I just did some Googling and one page suggested that Green and Blue boards could share the same type of A board, but the Grey and Orange required a matching A board.
  • mistahsnartmistahsnart Joined: Posts: 511
    Will the UD-CPS2 work with Grey B-boards? I just did some Googling and one page suggested that Green and Blue boards could share the same type of A board, but the Grey and Orange required a matching A board.
    IIRC, this is true in the case of green and blue boards. We used to run a green Japanese Marvel vs Capcom in an American B board in the arcade I worked at (yeah, it was illegal, but I don't think they cared).
  • aggro cragaggro crag Joined: Posts: 205
    I hope compatibility is less of an issue with the UD-CPS2. There's a Alpha 2 Grey board for sale and I want to put in an offer for it.
  • undamnedundamned Wake up! Time to die! Joined: Posts: 1,677
    Will the UD-CPS2 work with Grey B-boards?
    Yes & No. If you want one that will only play Gray boards, I can build one for you, but if you want max compatibility the best you can get is USA/Blue and JP/Green (which, afaik, are also compatible w/ Rental/Yellow boards). Unless you already have some huge collection of Gray boards, I would not suggest buying them.
    -ud
  • aggro cragaggro crag Joined: Posts: 205
    Thanks for the heads up. I'm really glad I hit this thread up before making any purchases.

    Edit: Another question, will you be taking pre-orders on the UD-CPS2?
  • undamnedundamned Wake up! Time to die! Joined: Posts: 1,677
    will you be taking pre-orders on the UD-CPS2?
    I will probably take pre-orders when I'm ready to start mass production. I don't want to take a bunch of pre-orders and then encounter some hangup in my design and leave people hanging for some undetermined amount of time.

    Small Update:

    - Started adding a F.A.Q. section to the first post.
    - Had a bit of time to play with the faster oscillator on my USB Host and realized I was "doing it wrong" :) Currently running at old clock speed, but tweaked some code and knocked about 8ms off of the worst response time. A different oscillator should be here next week and I am looking forward to sub-10ms response times.
    -ud
  • emphaticemphatic Joined: Posts: 476
    Well, it won't be USB->JAMMA, but more likely a USB->Discrete Outputs or DB-15 or something that you can wire up yourself.
    -ud

    Would it be possible to use a USB stick/PCB and hook that up to say... a super gun by putting your creation between the two? I think a small converter like that would sell like hot cakes. Even better with a small app that can program the board's layout and save it to onboard memory like I-Pac or J-Pac does.

    USB input > screw terminal output. I'd buy one in a heartbeat.
    I love shmups and never play fighting games.
    Here's my Guwange stick: http://www.emphatic.se/?p=197
  • undamnedundamned Wake up! Time to die! Joined: Posts: 1,677
    Would it be possible to use a USB stick/PCB and hook that up to say... a super gun by putting your creation between the two? I think a small converter like that would sell like hot cakes. Even better with a small app that can program the board's layout and save it to onboard memory like I-Pac or J-Pac does.

    USB input > screw terminal output. I'd buy one in a heartbeat.
    Yep! Totally in the works, man :)
    -ud
  • UnessentialUnessential Joined: Posts: 1,168
    If you make that USB->DB15 i'd definitely buy that.
    <quitjockinmystyle> everybody i wil approve what is cheating moves or not.
    STToronto https://www.facebook.com/groups/499056723549379/
    Because very few ST players check SRK anymore. mostly it's the local facebook group and NHC.
    PM me here or on facebook if you need a stick mod or repair. Same with arcade boards and superguns.
  • JTTMJTTM Joined: Posts: 1
    I just registered for the main purpose of telling you that I will buy this as soon as it is available. Have been looking for exactly something like this for several years.
  • narsnars Your local Gunta Hunta. Joined: Posts: 289
    Where can i get a crt tv like yours, im jealous. and im sorry if i misunderstood this, but all your providing is the "system" correct? and i just gotta buy the cartridges/games? will it matter what version it is? forgive me i have no experience with any of this.
  • blood spit nightblood spit night Joined: Posts: 96
    Where can i get a crt tv like yours, im jealous. and im sorry if i misunderstood this, but all your providing is the "system" correct? and i just gotta buy the cartridges/games? will it matter what version it is? forgive me i have no experience with any of this.
    That monitor owns and I'd like to know where to get one too. Yes, it's just a cps2 a board consolized. You will need cps2 B boards. It shouldn't matter as long as they're of US/JP origin. Boards are colored depending upon region, us/jp being blue/green respectively. For others it will require a custom system

    What I want to know is, how will controls work..? Will we be able to specify inputs to meet certain needs..? (pads, etc..)
    .
    Also, regarding price can you atleast confirm these won't cost more than $400..?

    Hopefully this will assist in ST revival!
  • narsnars Your local Gunta Hunta. Joined: Posts: 289
    That monitor owns and I'd like to know where to get one too. Yes, it's just a cps2 a board consolized. You will need cps2 B boards. It shouldn't matter as long as they're of US/JP origin. Boards are colored depending upon region, us/jp being blue/green respectively. For others it will require a custom system

    Thanks for the heads up man. I'm gonna be looking up prices. &as far as inputs go, will I need a specially modded stick in order for it to play on this?
  • blood spit nightblood spit night Joined: Posts: 96
    Thanks for the heads up man. I'm gonna be looking up prices. &as far as inputs go, will I need a specially modded stick in order for it to play on this?
    Nope, not as far as I know. Any usb stick should work (with the exception of 360 hardware at the moment) but it is still in the process of being developed.
  • undamnedundamned Wake up! Time to die! Joined: Posts: 1,677
    I just registered for the main purpose of telling you that I will buy this as soon as it is available. Have been looking for exactly something like this for several years.
    Thanks! All fresh info will be posted here! :)
    Where can i get a crt tv like yours, im jealous.
    That monitor owns and I'd like to know where to get one too.
    It's an Amiga 1080 monitor. Same model also came out for Commodore computers. There is a 1080s model, which has stereo audio, as well. Keep your eye out on ebay, craigs list, etc. Should be able to find one for $20ish. You'll probably have a better chance finding the whole computer setup than just the monitor alone (ex. http://www.ebay.com/itm/330631073043).
    What I want to know is, how will controls work..? Will we be able to specify inputs to meet certain needs..? (pads, etc..)
    Shouldn't matter whether it's pad or joystick. Or do you mean change button configuration? I plan on allowing button re-mapping. I will explain further when it is implemented.
    Also, regarding price can you atleast confirm these won't cost more than $400..?
    I would like to have it in that ballpark, but I am waiting until I have the manufacturing process streamlined before giving a final price.
    Hopefully this will assist in ST revival!
    Indeed!

    Update:

    The last week has been slow do to waiting on parts and some RL stuff. Ironing out the last of the mechanical stuff so I can make templates for everything and get custom face plates made. Hopefully input lag specs can also get ironed out once I get parts in.
    -ud
  • FrankCastleAZFrankCastleAZ SRKTT Modder of the Year 2014 & AZHP Gaming Founder Joined: Posts: 890
    I didn't notice it when I was playing on it at Devastation, but I noticed on the photos on the first post you're using an old IBM Thinkpad power supply. I have at least 3 of them laying around my apartment if you wanted them for the future. Still want to talk details about the possible trade. Call me yo, you got my number.
    SRK Tech Talk Modder of the Year 2014 - Self proclaimed biggest Madcatz TE1 fanboy of all time
    AZHP Gaming - Providing casual and tournament video gaming services at events and conventions since 2006
    Paradise Arcade Shop <-- Buy all of your arcade parts from here
    Eightarc <-- Buy all of your arcade sticks from here (Code AZFGC2015 for $10 off $50+ or AZHPGAMING for $15 off $100+)
  • FulaaniFulaani Of terrorist descent Joined: Posts: 2,555
    Perhaps a dumb question, but what would a vanilla USB stick be? I dont suppose it's just a 360/ps3 stick.
    zoning took an indefinite hiatus
  • RufusRufus An unexpected database error has occurred. Joined: Posts: 1,966
    Perhaps a dumb question, but what would a vanilla USB stick be? I dont suppose it's just a 360/ps3 stick.

    Most likely HID which PS3 stuff will typically do.
    Hitboxes http://www.pedantic.org/~nate/HDR/
    "You don't know what you're talking about as much as I do." -- Unknown
  • GeorgeCGeorgeC Joined: Posts: 2,850
    Guys,

    I have a few questions... Not gonna ask the obvious about costs since undamned won't know until his project is done!

    I'm seriously considering jumping onto the CPS-2 bandwagon. There are around a half-dozen CPS-2 games (big 1990s Capcom fan) that I really like with 3-4 that have never been properly ported to console. It's looking less likely that Capcom will ever bother to do this. After all, they pretty much have given up putting their own programmers on port projects and have been outsourcing port projects for a few years. Aside from SF Alpha Anthology and Darkstalkers Collection -- both Capcom programmer ports --, pretty much everything's been done third-party with fair to middling results. I think general consensus is building that Capcom's Net support sucks but many of us lonesharks hate the changes and rebalances done to the ports.

    In all honesty, what are the fair market prices for the A & B board hardware? I understand some B boards may be more expensive due to rarity but on average what can you expect to pay for a B board? Does Phoenixing boards reduce their value? From what I understand there is convenience gained there but forgive me if I'm mistaken in the belief that altering the B board might affect its market value -- ie, many collectors do NOT want permanently altered hardware.

    I like that undamned is talking USB controller support... This makes the most sense by far and will streamline the process considerably for the most people. I'm hoping that the final project will support the Hori, Mad Catz, and MC Cthulu PCB's. These are pretty much what I have now for stick PCB's. The prospect of redoing things with DB-15 or some other connector is not appealing to me!
  • undamnedundamned Wake up! Time to die! Joined: Posts: 1,677
    In all honesty, what are the fair market prices for the A & B board hardware? I understand some B boards may be more expensive due to rarity but on average what can you expect to pay for a B board? Does Phoenixing boards reduce their value? From what I understand there is convenience gained there but forgive me if I'm mistaken in the belief that altering the B board might affect its market value -- ie, many collectors do NOT want permanently altered hardware.
    It's kind of hard to pin down pricing on CPS2 B boards, George. From what I've seen on ebay this year, this is what I would expect to pay (some titles are missing, do to not seeing them come up for sale often):

    <$50:
    Street Fighter Alpha/Zero
    Super Street Fighter 2

    $50-$75:
    Street Fighter Alpha/Zero 2
    X-Men Children of the Atom
    Marvel Super Heroes
    X-Men vs Street Fighter
    Marvel Super Heroes vs Street Fighter
    Pocket Fighter
    D&D: Tower of Doom
    Mighty Pang!
    Marvel vs Capcom

    $100+:
    Street Fighter Alpha/Zero 3
    Gigawing
    Super Puzzle Fighter IIX
    1941: The Loopmaster

    $150+:
    Alien vs Predator
    Battle Circuit
    D&D: Shadow Over Mysteria
    19XX
    Dimahoo
    Mars Matrix

    $200-$250:
    Super Street Fighter 2 Turbo

    $250-$350:
    Progear / Progear no Arashi

    A boards hang in the $20-$40 range. As far as Phoenixed boards, it's almost an eye of the beholder thing. I've known people willing to pay more because they want to buy all their stuff Phoenixed and I've known people who want to keep their board original as long as possible, if it hasn't already died. I Keystone mod pretty much everything that comes through my hands, making it easier to keep fresh batteries in my boards.
    -ud
  • GeorgeCGeorgeC Joined: Posts: 2,850
    Thanks undamned!
    Confirms what I've seen, too --
    I was seeing about the same prices you quoted online. The A boards/systems are cheap but the board prices are all over the place now depending on where you buy them!

    Most of what I want is thankfully in the lower half of that scale.

    I wouldn't care if most of these games are Japanese, Euro, USA, or Hispanic. I think they're pretty much all the same and it's territory switches that determine language (?). Could be mistaken on the territory switch, though.

    I'd be more likely to go the Phoenix route when and if I can find those boards or get them modded... I hate the business of those batteries. That kept me from pulling the trigger years ago!

    I'll keep an eye on this thread to see how things go with your mod. I'm definitely interested.
  • DNGR S PAPERCUTDNGR S PAPERCUT Joined: Posts: 1,608
    Is it ready yet? I want to give you money. Will this work on my Xbox TE Stick?
    ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ஜ۩۞۩ஜ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
    Ah shit..    
    ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ஜ۩۞۩ஜ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
  • MayhemMayhem Mostly Harmless Joined: Posts: 577
    $200-$250:
    Super Street Fighter 2 Turbo
    Wow, is US pricing on ST really that insane? I've bought several ST B-boards from Japan around ¥5000 JPY and there are nearly always plenty available. Sure shipping would cost a little more than buying locally, but you'd still come out way below $200 USD total. Just a hint for anyone looking to buy the game...
    Once I start I cannot stop myself
  • GeorgeCGeorgeC Joined: Posts: 2,850
    Mayhem,

    I'll keep that in mind... I was thinking along those lines and there are a couple of companies abroad and in the US that DO ship/import boards...

    As with anything, it's who you buy from and WHEN... (I've learned with "When" that timing is everything between paying below MSRP for any item or multiples of its original cost! I try not to buy stuff for above 50% original cost -- and those are cheaper items(!) -- and have NEVER imported a game system on Day 1 of release...)

    DNGER S -- Love your profile pic! LOL
Sign In or Register to comment.