The System Mechanics Thread

1141516171820»

Comments

  • DanderDander BANNED Joined: Posts: 7,213
    edited September 2014
    No, that's not what I mean at all. I'll admit I didn't try to think about what you wrote beyond simply reading it.

    I'm saying that although there is no real indication to Makoto's hurtbox moving, at least none that you have all come up with in your very comprehensive analysis of the "available" system variables, MAYBE, there are some less explicit interactions at play that go along with making the game more of a game about a story/anime into and of itself. I recall reading somewhere that Makoto was very self-sconscious about her breasts, so much so that she tapes them down or wears a sports bra. So, Makoto wears baggy clothes, and considering that most characters move when they breath, maybe her baggy clothing is "hiding" the movement on her hurtbox. Likewise, Ibuki wears baggy clothes and it plays in to a lot of her hurtboxes and hitboxes. It's a game, not the zero zero algorithm to human gene regeneration.
    8tROOXi.png
  • DevdanDevdan Joined: Posts: 532
    Someone explain this one for me. Maybe it's a day 1 that I just never caught onto, I don't know, but it's bugging me.

    I was fighting a Hugo earlier with Dudley. He hit me with in air with sa3, and I bounced out. I don't know the proper punish, but I tried dashing in and using roundhouse before he recovered, and it hit. Then I tried to combo into EX Machinegun, because why wouldn't I do that? He was able to block it. Why?
  • DanderDander BANNED Joined: Posts: 7,213
    Devdan wrote: »
    Someone explain this one for me. Maybe it's a day 1 that I just never caught onto, I don't know, but it's bugging me.

    I was fighting a Hugo earlier with Dudley. He hit me with in air with sa3, and I bounced out. I don't know the proper punish, but I tried dashing in and using roundhouse before he recovered, and it hit. Then I tried to combo into EX Machinegun, because why wouldn't I do that? He was able to block it. Why?

    EX mgb is slow as fuck. Unless you're running into the corner it doesn't hit earlier. I only say running into the corner because of a recent experience on ggpo, so that might be wrong. But yeah, ex mgb is slow as fuck, and shoto cr rh is quick as balls. If you mean dudley cr rh, I don't know what to tell you.
    8tROOXi.png
  • DevdanDevdan Joined: Posts: 532
    edited September 2014
    I mean Dudley's RH into EX MGB. It's like, his bnb. I use it all the time. It whiffs crouching on some characters, but I don't think Hugo is one of those characters...also, he wasn't crouching.

    I've noticed in training mode that sometimes stuff doesn't combo right on stunned characters too, and have always found that odd, but it's never been an issue in a real match. [edit] this is unrelated, Hugo was not stunned.
  • ryan.ryan. Joined: Posts: 1,913
    You probably late cancelled it.

    And the training mode bug has been present since dc and ps2. When the dummy has no life the combos break for no reason.
  • DevdanDevdan Joined: Posts: 532
    Sure didn't feel like I did, but if there's no obvious-to-pros reason I'll chalk it up to netplay. Good to know that the other thing is only in training mode though.
  • darkhiryuudarkhiryuu Hello Hella Joined: Posts: 202
    Were you playing online? I've had that happen sometimes, or if I do EX MGB into Ducking Upper the Ducking Upper hits go through their body. It's most likely due to lag.
  • isotopezisotopez Joined: Posts: 125
    I've had rh -> ex mgb not combo on arcade. It just happens sometimes. Probably has to do with what Ryan said.
  • DeemoDeemo Joined: Posts: 466
    Wakeup speeds - Bringing this up again http://gr.qee.jp/01_3rd/01/base/12.html

    I'm pretty sure this table is inaccurate or possibly missing a 4th wakeup speed? Dudley cannot safe jump or meaty rose 12 after sa3 knockdown because he wakes up too fast but nothing on this table indicates it, so confused
  • DeemoDeemo Joined: Posts: 466
    edited October 2014
    accidental double post
  • Spaceninja007Spaceninja007 Joined: Posts: 46
    Are people using dip switches online?... It seem like people are. Cheating. Also does anyone know the frame data on a CvS2 parry compared to 3S?
  • sidewindersidewinder Stiff Arm... Joined: Posts: 656 ✭✭✭✭✭ OG
    Are people using dip switches online?... It seem like people are. Cheating. Also does anyone know the frame data on a CvS2 parry compared to 3S?

    dude you don't have to go into every single thread asking the same junk ,dip switches don't work online. .l.
    im not that good , but there's always room for improvement... i think
  • DanderDander BANNED Joined: Posts: 7,213
    Are people using dip switches online?... It seem like people are. Cheating. Also does anyone know the frame data on a CvS2 parry compared to 3S?

    It's just the lag. Just don't hold your breath.
    8tROOXi.png
  • Spaceninja007Spaceninja007 Joined: Posts: 46
    sidewinder wrote: »
    Are people using dip switches online?... It seem like people are. Cheating. Also does anyone know the frame data on a CvS2 parry compared to 3S?

    dude you don't have to go into every single thread asking the same junk ,dip switches don't work online. .l.

    Yo.... I didn't know where I should post my question. I saw the last post in here was 9 days. Anywho, thanks for the response dude.

  • free_manfree_man Joined: Posts: 81
    I had PS2 version but I think the arcade version is more faster because of input lag and I don't know if it can influence in the game and I play online on FightCade. So which the best way to training parry without console version, i.e. with only the ROM?
  • darkhiryuudarkhiryuu Hello Hella Joined: Posts: 202
    edited November 2014
    The best way to practice parry training through emulator is using cheats to simulate training mode.
  • IglooBobIglooBob Bob the builder Joined: Posts: 4,023
    edited January 2015


    Can someone explain how this works? I set Chun to walk forward then leap attack after SA2. here's the outcomes (shown in order in the short video)

    1) Yun gets hits standing up and UOH combos into super (he can't block after leap attack hits).
    2) Yun blocks high and super doesn't come out.
    3) Yun gets hit crouching and super doesn't combo (he can block after getting hit by leap attack).

    so my questions are

    1) is the hit or block option select (if it hits super will come out, if it's blocked nothing will come out) specific to UOH for some reason, or can it be done with other moves? (not including DED)
    2) why does it combo on standing hit but not crouching hit?
  • DanderDander BANNED Joined: Posts: 7,213
    The crouching version she hits too far inside and is forced to wait the extra frames it takes her pushbox to slide off of yun. When Yun is standing he has no vertical overlap and so Chun just drops into super after the hit. I want to add, and I'll do so reluctantly, that because she takes longer to hit Yun I think she falls into a longer recovery. I could be wrong about that but it's just how I usually see it happening.
    8tROOXi.png
  • JAK..JAK.. Joined: Posts: 544
    edited January 2015
    1) I have unintentionally setup training dummies that did this with normals into specials/supers.

    2) After comparing his crouching and standing hit boxes it appears that standing allows the uoh to hit deeper.




  • DanderDander BANNED Joined: Posts: 7,213
    JAK.. wrote: »
    1) I have unintentionally setup training dummies that did this with normals into specials/supers.

    2) After comparing his crouching and standing hit boxes it appears that standing allows the uoh to hit deeper.




    could you rephrase that?
    8tROOXi.png
  • pheraipherai LIVE FOREVER Joined: Posts: 11,875 mod
    so maybe yuns standing hitbox is skinnier than his crouching hitbox?
    pherai gouki dated gwen stefani in HighSchool. Thats why today she likes all things Japan. smokin.gif
  • akuaku スピリチュアルやからね! Joined: Posts: 3,865
    I've always seen Rikimaru and Nuki cancel into another move after hitting the UOH on a crouching Yun/Yang. Like the sequence would go SA2->j.HPx2(or j.LK)->UOH->cr.MK(or b.HP)->SA2. Maybe you need to combo into another move and then do SA2 if you hit the opponent crouching?
  • ryan.ryan. Joined: Posts: 1,913
    edited January 2015
    Vs crouching... Leap to sa2 def works with the right timing. I'll take a vid in a bit.

    And same for leap into cr mk ex sbk/ sa2.
    Post edited by ryan. on
  • ryan.ryan. Joined: Posts: 1,913


    Made the same situation with both standing and crouching combo while guard and parry don't.

    I think you connected the super a little late in that vid and also yun must be fatter standing than crouching.
  • IglooBobIglooBob Bob the builder Joined: Posts: 4,023
    cool thanks gentlemen. I always figured "if it connects on standing it should always connect on crouching." clearly that's not accurate!
  • DanderDander BANNED Joined: Posts: 7,213
    IglooBob wrote: »
    cool thanks gentlemen. I always figured "if it connects on standing it should always connect on crouching." clearly that's not accurate!

    For all the fluff we get about ESN's data being useful, none of you guys ever acknowledge push boxes.

    ayayayay
    8tROOXi.png
  • TiredOceanTiredOcean Low-tier theory fighter Joined: Posts: 134
    Wait, hold on - you can OS whether a super comes out based on whether a UOH hits or not? Because that's what I'm seeing in Ryan's vid, and it doesn't look like DED either. If so, can someone tell me how? (It definitely isn't included in vandarkholme's vid about option selects)
  • ryan.ryan. Joined: Posts: 1,913
    Yea super doesn't come out. Has to do with the timing you recover if they get hit or guard. It's not really an option select because you don't want to be imputing super and risk a leak. It's best to just confirm the hit. It's not difficult.
  • MinigolfmanMinigolfman Joined: Posts: 30
    Always wondered is this rule foolproof for attack bonus taunts? seems more to it sometimes
    Donkus wrote: »
    Attack bonuse are lost when you are hit, or after you hit the opponent (lasts until your combo is finished), or after you force the opponent to block/parry an attack.
  • akuaku スピリチュアルやからね! Joined: Posts: 3,865
    I had no idea where to put this, so I might as well post it here.
    Recently there was a video showing a Tachi Gigas being executed while the player's hands are displayed. What was different about this compared to other videos I've seen was how it was executed.
    He tapped down(or I think downback?), had the stick on neutral, walked forward slightly and then did 360+P.


    I tried this method myself, and it actually worked!

    Note: That first Gigas in the video was the 2nd time I managed to pull it off so I was really, REALLY happy.

    The timing is pretty strict..or maybe my execution's just bad because I can only get this down once every 5-6 tries.
    Sorry if it's not anything new, but I'm just getting off the high of finally doing a Tachi Gigas lol
  • ESNESN 最初はぐう... Joined: Posts: 1,345
    It may be harder cause of the 360/720 timer reset (similar to charge resets), making it kinda "aleatory" doable.

    Could you record this again but with the Kaiten view displayed on screen? May be helpful to see timers behavior with this trick.
  • akuaku スピリチュアルやからね! Joined: Posts: 3,865
    ...y'know what, I should've done that.
    I'll do it once I get home later today.
  • akuaku スピリチュアルやからね! Joined: Posts: 3,865
    Sorry for the double post, but here's the video you requested @ESN .


    Recorded this with MAME's vid recorder so I had a harder time getting it out.

    Kaiten View helped out a lot with showing the input. As you can see the timing between the down tap and forward walk is fast enough where down is still stored.

    I didn't really use the bars for timing, just the arrows. lol
  • R_V_NR_V_N Joined: Posts: 28
    Does anyone know the maximum number of partitions you can split a charge into? 4 partitions was the max I could do in my tests.

    So for example you can tap forward 3 times while building up Urien's charge and his tackle will still come out. You can split the charge into 4 partition. But if you add a 5th partition then the charge doesn't work.
  • -=KOH=--=KOH=- In Japan Joined: Posts: 1,569
    edited August 2016
    R_V_N wrote: »
    Does anyone know the maximum number of partitions you can split a charge into? 4 partitions was the max I could do in my tests.

    So for example you can tap forward 3 times while building up Urien's charge and his tackle will still come out. You can split the charge into 4 partition. But if you add a 5th partition then the charge doesn't work.

    It's not an 'amount' it's a period of time. Check the training tool others have posted, it uses an emulator.
    All the way in the back of the food stamp line.
  • R_V_NR_V_N Joined: Posts: 28
    I am not talking about the time required to equip the charge. The time is about 2 seconds. What I meant was, how many partitions the game lets you split that 2 seconds into. Of course if you charge over 2 seconds then partition doesn't work.

    The maximum partitions I broke it down into was 4 parts. Not many practical uses for this information though.
  • ESNESN 最初はぐう... Joined: Posts: 1,345
    You may want to check what koh has pointed to you, you'll be able to understand how charges really work and will have your answer.
    And the correct number for charge length, instead of your 'about 2 seconds'...
  • R_V_NR_V_N Joined: Posts: 28
    I understand what KOH means but you are misunderstanding my point. I understand about the emulator and had already tested on it before posting here. Is my communication skills that bad? I only said "about 2 seconds" to try make my whole point simpler. Of course its not a matter of seconds but a matter of how many frames your put your stick in back/down.

    You don't have to complete all of it in 1 go, you can split it into parts. My point was how many parts its possible to split it into. I had already used the emulator to test and I could split it into 4 parts at max. But this topic was just for satisfying my curiosity and has no practical use so nevermind...
  • ESNESN 最初はぐう... Joined: Posts: 1,345
    edited August 2016
    Charge length is 43 frames, which is less than half of your '~2 sec', quite a large error.
    Koh talked about 'training tools' which uses emulator, not emulator only.
    What do you know about charge reset mechanism? This is what will give you your answer, which is also 43 btw.
  • R_V_NR_V_N Joined: Posts: 28
    Yeah, I know, that's what I meant. I already used the training tools with the emulator for all that.
    Believe me I know about the charge reset mechanism and played with it too.
    But nevermind this topic.

    Though I guess my sense of 2 seconds time is really bad... always had a poor sense of time
  • TebboTebbo Play. Joined: Posts: 5,616
    two seconds is an eternity.
    theoretically you can split it into as many parts as you can fit into before the reset kicks in. there is no limit based on times you've split the charge.
    your assumptions which led to your question were wrong from the start. which is why koh and esn responded as they did. if you understand what you saw in vids/emulator then you'd never ask the question.
    Play more.
  • DanderDander BANNED Joined: Posts: 7,213
    Tebbo wrote: »
    two seconds is an eternity.
    theoretically you can split it into as many parts as you can fit into before the reset kicks in. there is no limit based on times you've split the charge.
    your assumptions which led to your question were wrong from the start. which is why koh and esn responded as they did. if you understand what you saw in vids/emulator then you'd never ask the question.

    Don't you know the entire brane runs on the same single impulse.

    God you're such a fucking idiot sometimes.
    8tROOXi.png
  • TiredOceanTiredOcean Low-tier theory fighter Joined: Posts: 134
    I don't know where to put this. I just keep forgetting where it is, so here is the Crystal Cube's scrolling input display lua script for FBA-rr. http://ameblo.jp/3fv/entry-11163304413.html
    Also, how's everyone doing?
Sign In or Register to comment.