Where to start?

JayradJayrad ...Joined: Posts: 26
I've been watching some videos of UMVC3 on youtube, and I finally decided that I want to get into it. So I go buy the game, turn on the game, and suddenly realize that I have no clue where to even start. I spent forever just trying to figure out who to pick and I'm feeling really overwhelmed by all the characters, assist types, combos, etc. When I got into mission mode I can barely get passed mission 3 with any character. I have some experience with fighters. I've played mostly 3D fighters like Virtua Fighter, Tekken, Sould Calibur etc. I mainly just picked one character to master and I could at least hold my own.

So basically I would like some advice on a team to use that would at least help me get comfortable with the game. I dont really care who the characters are or the style of the team. I just need a basic team that is somewhat easy to use and can give a me good place to start. Any other advice you could give me would be great.

Thanks,
Jayrad

Comments

• MomochuuMomochuu Little ♥ Monster Joined: Posts: 14,282
    First thing you should do is pick a somewhat easily accessable character. Like don't pick Dante or Viper as your first character or something. After that, pick two characters that compliment the character. Learn the normals of every character on your team in and out. See if they're low or high, check the frame advantage of them to see which ones are safe for blockstrings. I see way too many new players do their full magic series on block and get blown up for it. This team you picked to learn the game doesn't have to be your main team. After you get some experience with the game I'd recommend looking around the roster and seeing what character suits you the most. From there, go to the respective character board and see what kind of team setup is ideal for your character. Everything past that is just experience playing people and excessive amounts of training mode.