Skullgirls Bugs & Glitches Thread - Check First Post

2456716

Comments

  • Mike_ZMike_Z Defender of the Night Joined: Posts: 2,165
    Hitboxes, we knew beforehand. Don't have to report it anymore, it's all the same thing which is your HD speed. (^.^) It'll get fixed a different way, but doesn't affect gameplay at least.

    Fighting on the main menu....dammit, I thought that was fixed. Ah well. :^P
    French...I believe you they're terrible, but I dunno, I never even saw the non-English versions and can't speak French. Is it possible to set your console to English? :^) (Now you know what we all went through with early SNK games, haha.)
    Those echoes are GGPO rolling back a frame or two due to lag.
    Well, that's what causes them to happen, but it's still the game doing it, rather than GGPO. We will fix this.
    On PS3 local versus mode, if the 2 player controller is removed, the notice to reconnect message comes up, and there's nothing that be done about it except plugging in another controller or exiting Skullgirls. It'd be nice if there was a way for player 1 who is still connected to have the option to go back to the main menu during that 'Please reconnect' message.
    Noted.

    Though for the menu-control thing, on PS3 you can change which controller your controller is (heh) by holding the PS button down and changing it in the small menu that shows up, not the XMB. So if you aren't in control, change yourself to whatever number is.
    I had the world's oldest signature so I replaced it with this.
  • DRaGZ141DRaGZ141 Joined: Posts: 385
    Hitboxes, we knew beforehand. Don't have to report it anymore, it's all the same thing which is your HD speed. (^.^) It'll get fixed a different way, but doesn't affect gameplay at least.

    Fighting on the main menu....dammit, I thought that was fixed. Ah well. :^P
    French...I believe you they're terrible, but I dunno, I never even saw the non-English versions and can't speak French. Is it possible to set your console to English? :^) (Now you know what we all went through with early SNK games, haha.)

    Well, that's what causes them to happen, but it's still the game doing it, rather than GGPO. We will fix this.

    Noted.

    Though for the menu-control thing, on PS3 you can change which controller your controller is (heh) by holding the PS button down and changing it in the small menu that shows up, not the XMB. So if you aren't in control, change yourself to whatever number is.

    I think it's okay to have the echoes. It's a very clear indicator when and where there was lag. Though, I guess from an aesthetic perspective, it's annoying.
  • Mike_ZMike_Z Defender of the Night Joined: Posts: 2,165
    It's more the fact that you get two or three different lines from the same move or the announcer sometimes.
    I had the world's oldest signature so I replaced it with this.
  • ZidianeZidiane KPB team member, SRK writer Joined: Posts: 1,225
    I found one. I was going through Story Mode, and was going up against Ms.Fortune. She takes her head off at some point in the match, but then she gets caught in a LP loop. She just stood there, until I hit her, throwing out LP forever. She was standing on the head, I think it was by her back foot. Nobody probably cares, because it's the computer, but I thought I'd throw that out there.
    xbl/psn: Zidiane/zidiane5
    Skullgirls: Cerebella, SSB Melee: Kirby, Samus
    Ever wonder how to play Cerebella, of Skullgirls fame? Here's a guide I made!
  • DRaGZ141DRaGZ141 Joined: Posts: 385
    It's more the fact that you get two or three different lines from the same move or the announcer sometimes.

    I guess that's true, like when it goes "Cry-CRY, KRIEG".
  • Sensei RouzuSensei Rouzu Hero for fun Joined: Posts: 3,933
    Not sure that it's a glitch but there's just a minor problem when player 2 ends a match and selects Return to Main Menu and when you go to main menu and if player 2 disconnected for having to leave player 1 can't scroll through the menu or select anything. It's simply solved by just changing p1 to slot 2, just wondering if you had noticed. I'm on PS2 btw

    Also I was wondering about the green hitbox that shows up occasionally on a character. Only happened once to me against Ms. Fortune and a Parasoul. I remember seeing it briefly on a stream before the game was released too.

    Listening to : Nas / N.W.A / ChocQuibTown / David Wise / Kool Keith / Sadistik / Undogmatic

  • DraginiteDraginite Joined: Posts: 21
    So, I was playing with Ms Fortune, and my friend was Valentine. Just a 1v1 match. Fortune was headless and, every time Valentine did her Level 1 (MAJOR SURGERY) and it hit, I think I could do an attack with my head, causing me to fall out of the Super. Sometimes it'd happen after V's first ninja dash, sometimes her 2nd dash, V would just stop doing her Super, and I'd fall out of her super.
  • stickystainesstickystaines Joined: Posts: 835
    Okay, found a really annoying bug thats already gotten me killed.

    The game favours forward techs over backward techs. What i mean is that when you are put in a move that gives the OTG bounce state (first pink then blue), if you input a forward tech immediately, then try to do a backward tech, you will still get the forward tech even though that wasn't the last input you did.

    But if you try the same thing in reverse - first inputting back tech then try forward tech all times after that - you will still get forward tech
  • poryon2poryon2 aka ocean Joined: Posts: 512
    Small glitch I found in training mode. In the corner if I performed Ms. Fortunes j.HK xx El Gato (H version) on Parasoul she would disappear for a brief second. Not sure if it happens on other characters, stages, or outside training mode though.

    Also in online sometimes the sound doubles up.
    umvc3: pw/haggar/arthur
    skullgirls: peacock/double
    persona 4 arena: teddie
    psn: poryon2 (umvc3, kof13, skullgrills, p4a)
  • DullyannaDullyanna mm hmm... nope Joined: Posts: 1,160
    During tutorial mode throw break chapter Cerebellum can't perform any action (Which I'm guessing is intentional) EXCEPT her bf charge K move (Which I'm guessing isn't intentional lol).
    "Making Yun strong on purpose was naturally a dick move"

    "3S is a hidden gem."

    "SFIV series... kept the matches very technical because there was very few downtimes, even when you are dominated."
  • tatakitataki misplaced Joined: Posts: 7,699
    Fighting game tutorials, matches, and funny stuff:
    http://www.youtube.com/user/novriltataki
    Former account:
    http://www.youtube.com/user/playtowin
  • JBourne is a FraudJBourne is a Fraud Joined: Posts: 27
    I'm having a lot of issues. I sent some tweets to @Skullgirls about it, but thought it would be a good idea to go into greater detail here. I'm playing on 360.

    When I start the game up, I can't skip any of the logo screens. When I get to the main menu, I have no control over it. I have to hit the guide button, then exit it. Now I can make a selection. I select tutorial, and pick chapter 1-1. The screen goes black, but the music still plays. After waiting for over a minute, I hit the guide button. It came up very slowly, and then the loading screen started. I have to do this every single time I load up a section of the tutorial. When I went into the pause menu to change my buttons, I had to hit the guide button to regain control after changing a single one. When I exit whatever tutorial I'm on to go back to the chapter select, I have to hit the guide button before I can do anything.

    Similar things happen when I play online. I can't invite anyone to play a game, because I can't access my party or friend sections of the guide. When I try, I just get booted back to the main guide screen. When I'm on the character select screen, I have to hit the guide button before I can do anything.

    Story, arcade, and training modes are unplayable for me. I can't select a character without hitting the guide button first, which boots me back to the previous menu.

    I'm using a Madcatz SE. I tried using a Hori and had the same issues. Both sticks work fine for AE and other fighting games being played from my hard drive. There are no other controllers plugged in, but I do have a wireless headphone/set base plugged into the back USB port. I've tried deleting the game and re-downloading, which didn't solve anything.

    Despite all the garbage with having to hit the guide button constantly and not being able to play singleplayer, I'm having an absolute blast with the game. There's no buyer's remorse here. Skullgirls is amazing, and I can't wait to be able to play it without these issues.


    EDIT: Okay, more stuff. When I start the game, I sit through a loading screen for the main menu. Once it pops up, I instantly get kicked to another loading screen.

    I managed to get an invite out to a person in my party, and it takes me to the versus menu after sending the invite. When he tries to invite me, I get a "network shutting down" message. The only way to get out of this screen is to go to the dashboard. So now I can't play singleplayer or multiplayer.
  • grandlordzerograndlordzero Joined: Posts: 133
    Found a possible glitch/exploit with peacock. Apparently if you use peacocks teleport while calling an assist, the assist moves with you. This allows you to do fullscreen left/right mixups with a medium range assist.

    Example:
    Go to training mode and pick a team of Peacock, Double, and Cerebella. Set cerebella's assist to Lock and Load (Heavy), set double's assist to Titan Knuckle (heavy punch) and put peacock on point.

    Make sure there is a full screen distance between you and your opponent. Call Lock and Load assist and teleport behind them. The assist will teleport closer and THEN attack, allowing you to do a full screen left/right mixup. Now do the same thing with doubles titan knuckle assist. You will notice that it is JUST short enough that it does not work. It still moves closer, but not close enough to hit.

    Proof of concept:




    The actual corners of the stage seem to mess with this somewhat. Not sure what the deal is yet. A friend of mine thinks its because the screen doesn't "move" when you teleport in the corner. I dunno. /shrug
    Proof of this concept not working in corners:



    Seems like a minor glitch but could potentially be useful for peacock. Figured i'd report it even though it doesn't seem completely gamebreaking.

    If this ends up being a useful glitch, can i have it named after me? lol
    I don't know why you don't like Melty. Melty has vampires, and you must be one since you obviously can't see yourself in the mirror.
    ~Warpticon
  • factory9factory9 ARCANA HEARTO TWEEEE Joined: Posts: 985
    OK, I'm in training on that bright neighborhood stage with the "lalalalalalalala" song in it.

    I tag in and walk in either direction and my sprite is replaced with hitboxes for a second before flashing back to the sprite.
  • DeathologyDeathology Joined: Posts: 546
    I'm in training mode and I have player two constantly chicken blocking (rubber band around a ps3 controller's analog stick). Anyways, I have double's HK hornet bomber as an assist and sometimes when I call it the opponent gets hit by it. Sometimes the first two hits will keep him in block stun until he hits the ground, then the third hit connects. Other times the first hit connects during the start-up of one of his jumps. It's not like hornet bomber is a low so it shouldn't be hitting him. I can't get it to work with double on point, it only happens when used as an assist. Also, I tried poking the second player with mids to see if there was every a time and when you can't block, but he was never hit. I've changed the controller, moved the rubber band around to the other side, and left and re-entered training mode with the same results. Is this a bug?
  • PremonishedPremonished I Just Press Buttons Joined: Posts: 4
    I'm on the Regular Xbox 360 with the original 160 gb hard drive and the loading times are extremely slow...sometimes I have to wait over 2 minutes of loading just to start up a local versus game. If anyone has any suggestions on what to do about this it would be helpful. Thank you.

    Edit: I actually fixed this by deleting a bunch of stuff off my hard drive and redownloading the game.
  • guitalex2007guitalex2007 Joined: Posts: 3,025
    To everyone who has mentioned the stutter on the credits, I'm 150% sure the stutter is there because the sketches that go alongside the credits are being loaded.

    In normal speed I don't notice any stutter, but when I speed up by holding X it pauses a bit before every picture. As a result, this isn't really something I'd prioritize.
    Ms. Fortune is great. Everybody likes a little head action every now and then.
    Stream here! Follow @guitalex on Twitter for stream updates!
  • Mike_ZMike_Z Defender of the Night Joined: Posts: 2,165
    The game favours forward techs over backward techs.
    Noted, will see if I can get it to be the last one you did. Shouldn't be too hard.
    Found a possible glitch/exploit with peacock. Apparently if you use peacocks teleport while calling an assist, the assist moves with you.
    The screen edge pulls the assist closer to you as it moves; they are still trying to land back where you called them but are limited to staying onscreen. Guess this is why teleports in MvC2 lock the screen. :^P Noted, but not quite sure how to fix it.
    [snip] Is this a bug?
    No! Well, kinda. You found a thing I left in to make holding up-back worse. :^)
    - As in MvC2, blockstun ends when you land, even if there was supposed to be more (hence chicken blocking is a valid tactic).
    - Jump startup is 3-4f, and during it you can't block.
    - Assist attacks won't put the opponent in pre-block stance ever, only point character attacks from reasonably close will. <- This is the kicker.

    So what happens with that setup is, they airblock the first two hits, land, exit blockstun, enter jump startup and get hit by the 3rd hit. It will never happen with Double on point because up-back will put them in pre-block instead of jump startup. Similarly, any mid or high assist can hit them out of prejump even when holding up-back. And if you are a character with a far reaching mid attack like Parasoul (F+HP), Cerbella (F+HP), or Double (HP), if you stand outside the proximity block range so the opponent will not go into pre-block from your attack, you can hit the character holding up-back as they land/rejump, without needing an assist. Projectiles can do this, too.

    It is important to note that if you hold BACK rather than up-back you can block all these things even your original example, regardless of whether you enter preblock or not, so it doesn't create any unblockable situations. This only serves to make mindless up-back slightly weaker as an answer to everything, since it tends to be a strong braindead choice in similar games. Holding up-back while waking up into a not-quite-meaty assist or projectile will just get you hit, rather than being a catch-all option.
    I had the world's oldest signature so I replaced it with this.
  • tatakitataki misplaced Joined: Posts: 7,699
    On some stages the ! mark on peacock's qcb+HP is showing just fine, but on some stages it doesn't show at all.

    Ok it's not a bug. The character shadow in the town stage is the same color as the item drop shadow. So you cannot see the !
    Fighting game tutorials, matches, and funny stuff:
    http://www.youtube.com/user/novriltataki
    Former account:
    http://www.youtube.com/user/playtowin
  • DantarionDantarion Joined: Posts: 258
    Valentines Level 3 can be interrupted by your assist!

    Pick Valentine/Cerebella, with antiair grab assist for cerebella, and bodybag grab for valentine.

    With valentine on point, do QCB+LP+MP+MK. Cerebella will grab the bodybag after the level 3 hits, causing nothing to happen. Not sure if being able to hit/grab the bodybag was intentional.

    With cerebella on point, you can antiair grab the bodybag after the assist hits if you time it right. One again, not sure if this was intented.
    I found this out messing around with trying to make option selects and get extra damage on supers.
  • sage2050sage2050 AG Vinco Joined: Posts: 628
    In training mode if P1 and P2 both pick 3 characters both players are set at 16445 life and 1.3 damage multiplier. isn't this supposed to be the stats for 2 character teams?

    if P1 picks 3 and P2 picks 2 chars, P1 is at 14300 life and 1.00 damage

    is this a bug or am i understanding something wrong?
    Always Godlike
    www.alwaysgodlike.com
  • worldjem7worldjem7 Seven World Jems Joined: Posts: 544
    Whenever someone picks a team, it shows that they pick only one character. This happens online.

    for 3v3 it uses level 2 power because otherwise matches would take forever.
  • Y2RyokoY2Ryoko Joined: Posts: 118
    In training mode if P1 and P2 both pick 3 characters both players are set at 16445 life and 1.3 damage multiplier. isn't this supposed to be the stats for 2 character teams?

    This isn't a glitch. In 3 v 3 situations, damage scaling is boosted to 2v2 status in order to make up for the influx of health. I remember Mike mentioning it during UltraChen on Monday.
  • Master_ChibiMaster_Chibi .: Dynamites! :. Joined: Posts: 15,063 mod
    Is hearing the item drop 'slide whistle' come out if even if I get hit, or having the sound disappear but still have the item actually come out due to GGPO? I've had it happen several times now.

    80gig phat ps3
    ~*Hai! Back to Japan!
  • JBourne is a FraudJBourne is a Fraud Joined: Posts: 27
    Tried to play again this morning, after re-downloading the game and clearing my cache or a second time. I still can't play anything. When I try to join a match, it just tells me "network shutting down." The first time my friend invited me, I couldn't even open the message.

    I've deleted Skullgirls, filled up some hard drive space with demos, and re-downloaded. I've tried playing it off of a USB drive. No matter what I do, the game is unplayable for me. Profound sadness.
  • sage2050sage2050 AG Vinco Joined: Posts: 628
    Whenever someone picks a team, it shows that they pick only one character. This happens online.

    for 3v3 it uses level 2 power because otherwise matches would take forever.
    This isn't a glitch. In 3 v 3 situations, damage scaling is boosted to 2v2 status in order to make up for the influx of health. I remember Mike mentioning it during UltraChen on Monday.
    thanks for clearing that up
    Always Godlike
    www.alwaysgodlike.com
  • Sanger ZonvoltSanger Zonvolt Future Cyberbots Pro Joined: Posts: 1,529
    Is hearing the item drop 'slide whistle' come out if even if I get hit, or having the sound disappear but still have the item actually come out due to GGPO? I've had it happen several times now.
    Same happens to me.
    Sword of Sophia and fightan games
    Cyberbots: Super-8 & Helion
    Vampire Savior: Lilith, Jedah, and Demitri
    Skullgirls: Painwheel/Filia/Squigly
  • ParasoulParasoul Reporting for Duty! Joined: Posts: 269
    It's more the fact that you get two or three different lines from the same move or the announcer sometimes.
    Hey yo Mike! Game is awesome son! When we gonna get some dlc. Yo? :P
  • Mr. XMr. X Non Stop ∞ Climax Joined: Posts: 20,239
    In training mode if P1 and P2 both pick 3 characters both players are set at 16445 life and 1.3 damage multiplier. isn't this supposed to be the stats for 2 character teams?

    if P1 picks 3 and P2 picks 2 chars, P1 is at 14300 life and 1.00 damage

    is this a bug or am i understanding something wrong?
    http://wiki.shoryuken.com/Skullgirls/Game_Elements/Life_and_Damage

    3v3 gets the added bonus due to the damage multiplier to offset all the life.
    You did not go back in time, this is how the forums look.
    "You are all just as bad as the people you hate. You're only interested in characters based on tears." - Since1717
    NO STREAM = DEAD GAME
    PSN: X_the_Genius | GGPO: Mr X | Skype: MisterEcks
  • BoodendorfBoodendorf Imposing your will is a matter of strength. Joined: Posts: 1,473
    I am currently having a glitch right now. I got out of the versus menu, went into leader boards and then an error pops on the screen saying Error initializing scoreboard. I try to mash but none of my buttons work and the skullheart logo on the bottom right is still spinning. Had to quit the game D:.
    "‎I don't know if you've ever let someone down, got your ass kicked or straight up failed. But those are the moments that define us. They push you further than you've ever thought possible, and force you to make choices. No matter what the cost." — Cole MacGrath
    Check out my youtube channel here!
  • IntotheKateIntotheKate Joined: Posts: 285
    Game just froze. Playing online(Xbox 360). Team was Peacock/Double(Color 4 and 6) against a Solo Parasoul(color 8). Currently frozen in the air with Parasoul doing sj.LP. I was doing QCB+HP and had Double assist(DP+HK) on the screen.
    2 frames of delay on GGPO, my internet works fine, game never unfroze. Had to turn off the Xbox. I sent a message to the other player to see if something happened but got no response.

    If you need any other information, let me know.
  • ParasoulParasoul Reporting for Duty! Joined: Posts: 269
    Game just froze. Playing online(Xbox 360). Team was Peacock/Double(Color 4 and 6) against a Solo Parasoul(color 8). Currently frozen in the air with Parasoul doing sj.LP. I was doing QCB+HP and had Double assist(DP+HK) on the screen.
    2 frames of delay on GGPO, my internet works fine, game never unfroze. Had to turn off the Xbox. I sent a message to the other player to see if something happened but got no response.

    If you need any other information, let me know.
    Old xbox? Did you see red rings?
  • HazardousHazardous Joined: Posts: 32
    On the Latest News, the URL says to go to www.skullgirls.com/game/guides ... Which doesn't exist. The URL should be www.skullgirls.com/game/character-guides to get to the correct webpage
    Skullgirls Main: Valentine + Double ("Servants of the Skull")
  • IntotheKateIntotheKate Joined: Posts: 285
    Old xbox? Did you see red rings?

    No RedRings. Bought in 2010, before the new slim version. Just had the one connection (My stick) and it was green.
  • ParasoulParasoul Reporting for Duty! Joined: Posts: 269
    No RedRings. Bought in 2010, before the new slim version. Just had the one connection (My stick) and it was green.
    Go to your hardrive. Device options/clear system cache. If it does it again on just Skullgirls it is a problem with the game if it does it with any other game then...your xbox may be dying. That or heating up too much.
  • IntotheKateIntotheKate Joined: Posts: 285
    Go to your hardrive. Device options/clear system cache. If it does it again on just Skullgirls it is a problem with the game if it does it with any other game then...your xbox may be dying. That or heating up too much.

    Alright, if it matters, it just froze again on the stained glass stage. That's been both of my freezes, will check results and whatnot. I was playing MvC2 yesterday and it was working fine, so hopefully my xbox isn't dying.
  • Mr. XMr. X Non Stop ∞ Climax Joined: Posts: 20,239
    It's froze twice on the same stage?
    You did not go back in time, this is how the forums look.
    "You are all just as bad as the people you hate. You're only interested in characters based on tears." - Since1717
    NO STREAM = DEAD GAME
    PSN: X_the_Genius | GGPO: Mr X | Skype: MisterEcks
  • IntotheKateIntotheKate Joined: Posts: 285
    It's froze twice on the same stage?

    Yes. The one with the church, I believe the final boss stage. When I cleared my cache it's just now stuck on "validating online play"

    EDIT:

    Rebooting fixed the Online validation issue. I'm going to queue for another game and if I get the stage a third time, will post if it freezes.

    EDIT2:

    Froze for a third time.
  • SoothsayerSoothsayer ↑,↑,↓,↓,←,→,←,→, B, A, SELECT, Start. Joined: Posts: 305
    So, I was playing with Ms Fortune, and my friend was Valentine. Just a 1v1 match. Fortune was headless and, every time Valentine did her Level 1 (MAJOR SURGERY) and it hit, I think I could do an attack with my head, causing me to fall out of the Super. Sometimes it'd happen after V's first ninja dash, sometimes her 2nd dash, V would just stop doing her Super, and I'd fall out of her super.
    I kind of want to know about this because I'm also finding that a lot of the blockbusters don't transition well into the headless Ms. Fortune. For instance, her head will get hit by the super while her body will just phase through it. In effect really only taking 50% damage from super. And as also previously mentioned doing Valentine's Lvl1 Dash Blockbuster if you hit Ms. Fortune and then her head is anywhere near you, you fall out of it.
    Is this head business some kind of meta-strategy or did you not intend this?
    PSN: Soothsayer04 | XBL: Thomas A Hawkk
    Feel free to add me on either account, For Ultimate Marvel or Street Fighter. Now with MORE Skullgirls.
    My Artwork Request Thread -
    http://shoryuken.com/forum/index.php?threads/soothsayers-artwork-request-thread.154447/
  • SoothsayerSoothsayer ↑,↑,↓,↓,←,→,←,→, B, A, SELECT, Start. Joined: Posts: 305
    Go to your hardrive. Device options/clear system cache. If it does it again on just Skullgirls it is a problem with the game if it does it with any other game then...your xbox may be dying. That or heating up too much.
    He could also have a broken download, it may read as correct data but is in fact corrupt in some capacity for certain actions, I had that for Final Fantasy XI which albeit is a very different from Skullgirls but once I entered a specific spot at a specific area insta-crash.
    PSN: Soothsayer04 | XBL: Thomas A Hawkk
    Feel free to add me on either account, For Ultimate Marvel or Street Fighter. Now with MORE Skullgirls.
    My Artwork Request Thread -
    http://shoryuken.com/forum/index.php?threads/soothsayers-artwork-request-thread.154447/
Sign In or Register to comment.