How would you teach a complete beginner to do a hadouken?

BlackShinobiBlackShinobi Making movesJoined: Posts: 2,266 ✭✭✭
I wanted to separate this from the other thread but it started of of a post that I made in there
I can teach any able bodied person who wants to learn how to throw a hadouken how to do it in under 10 minutes and how to do it 95% of the time in 2-3 hours. Not to put down other peoples efforts, but if you can't teach someone how to hadouken consistantly within a few hours the problem is most likeIy not a learning problem for them, its probably a teaching problem on your end.
I taught my mom how to throw a hadouken, its really not that hard.

So the scenario I am asking about is this:
A person who has never played a fighting game asked you to show them how to play Street fighter, specifically Ryu. There is a PS3 and a TV in the room with you along with two pads and two sticks. How would you (in detail) teach a person in the same physical room as you sitting at the same console how to perform Ryu's special moves?

I really do think this is a teaching problem and not a learning problem. I refuse to believe that something I can show my mom how to do in 10 minutes is so incredibly difficult to learn that its causing people to give up on fighting games.

Hopefully some people will answer my question and this doesn't turn into a rambling discussion on dumbed down games and the laziness of new players that could have stayed in the other thread.
https://www.facebook.com/ShinobeFGC
http://shinob-e.smugmug.com/Tournaments
New player gameplay video critique thread. CLICK THE LINK AND CHECK IT OUT.
Help the community grow one beginner at time.

Comments

• LouiscipherLouiscipher The man you love to hate Joined: Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Slowly show them the motion. Letting them win is a good start too.
    STOMP!
  • Chef BorjanChef Borjan Joined: Posts: 807