Quarter Circle foward/backward problem.

cookeyjarcookeyjar Joined: Posts: 3
I think someone already posted a similar thread about this problem, but I thought it would be nice to hear some helpful feedbacks on this.

Okay, so I'm a total complete newbie when it comes to fighting games, but I thought I give it a try and bought Guilty Gear XX Accent Core for the Wii. Since I don't own a GameCube Controller or a Fight Stick of any kind, I went for the optional controller for Wiimote and Nunchuck controller. Since I ignorantly thought that it wouldn't be that hard to excute a QTR Circle foward/Backward move since it was a joystick of some form, I found myself constantly struggling to execute it even while on Training Mode. My thumb started to cramp badly to the point I found myself frustrated and wanted to refund the game.

But, I didn't want to chicken out and I also knew that fightsticks doesn't come cheap, I perservered and practised hours on end....The result? MORE Thumb cramping...;;;; Now, I'm turning to the experts on SRK to help me with my little problem.

1. Do I have to get a fightstick for this situation? Are they mandatory?
2. If the Nunchuck controller is clunky at executing these moves, how can I improve myself on GC controller?

Comments

• KawwKaww ゴ ゴ ゴ ゴ ゴ ゴ ゴ ゴ Joined: Posts: 508 ✭✭
    This is just an IMO and by no means an expert opinion. If you're considering a stick for the Wii, you're better off using the money to get another console... HOWEVER with the Wii U coming out, this opinion may change. On top of that, Hori already announced a Tekken tag 2 stick for the Wii U. I'd wait and see before deciding on buying a stick.

More on topic, the classic controller is pretty damn amazing. $20 or less and it's a great pad, especially for the very few fighting games on the Wii.
    wii-classic-controller-1v9d-460.jpg

To top it off, you can use it on whatever else wii game you play. I'd strongly recommend it for anyone that has a Wii in general.