I'm green to fighters and am confused about inputs.

ModelHXModelHX Joined: Posts: 6
I just read through the Newbie Saikyo Dojo thread on execution so I didn't post something that's in the FAQ, and it's helpful, but it doesn't answer something even more basic I'm confused about. I'm completely new to playing fighters, but I've watched a ton of tournament stuff, and it looks like fun (not that I'm deluding myself into thinking I'm going to be the next Daigo). I picked up a cheap Hori EX2 off Craigslist (didn't want to put too much money into something that might be unfun) and am playing SSF4AE. Right now, I'm just trying out characters in training mode and trial, trying to find ones I like, and I've been messing around with Guile and his Ultra 1. After failing to make it come out right for ages, I got it right randomly. I looked at my input for it and saw that there were extra directions in the command. I can do it pretty easily now, but my input looks like:

Charge downback, downforward, down, downback, down, downforward, forward, upforward, 3K.

I assumed the input had to be (based on the icon) strictly:

Charge downback, downforward, down, downback, upforward, 3K.

This just looks insane to me that I can input all those extra directions in the command and it still comes out. What's going on here? Is this just part of that weird icon in the command list for his Ultra 1 and that means it's okay to do it this way, or is this something inherent to the mechanics of the game? If it's the latter, to what kinds of commands does this extend?

Comments

• eltroubleeltrouble Joined: Posts: 5,504 ✭✭✭✭
    The actual motion is just:

Charge :b: :f: :b: :f: :3p:

But what you're seeing is something called input leniency. Basically, the game is willing to ignore those extra inputs, as long as you hit the right amounts within a short period of time, it knows you're trying to do the ultra motion, and so it comes out when you do it. It's normal.