Struggling with a modded Fightstick.

FeralJimFeralJim Joined: Posts: 2
Hi guys,

I just picked up Arcade Edition and I'm having a blast trying out all the characters. At the moment I'm looking to main Oni, with some Blanka and Fei Long on the side.

The Fightstick I picked up is a MadCatz Tournament Edition, but it's been modified. What his done is added another JLF spring (to increase resistance) to the stick and then added some masking tape around the shaft (to reduce size of the gate).

There is enough tape there to make it really easy to hit the switches, and it's using an Octagonal gate.

I had to do a bit of researching, but I think I got all the terminology right!

Anyways, I'm having enormous trouble successfuly executing the QCF motion. I always seem to miss Down-Forward, and can't put out a Hadouken with any regularity at all (1/4 works).

I'm not really sure whether it's because I'm new to using a Stick (and fighting games in general), the modifications his made, or because I just completely suck at the motions myself.

I read that this was a pretty common (and store recommended) mod to the Stick when it was released, has anyone else done something similar and knows what I'm talking about?

Is it me or the Stick? :)

Edit: I'm not really comfortable or experienced enough to easily un-mod the Stick, which is why I've made this post. I'm trying to work out whether the problem is me or not, I'm actually hoping the mods are great, make the stick better, and it's just a L2P issue.

Comments

• Trouble BrewingTrouble Brewing Salty about Ultra Joined: Posts: 4,495 mod
    1) It could be the stick. I would undo the mod if possible. Stock square gate is much better than Frankenstein'ing a stick like that.

2) It could be you. Read this link and follow the advice:
    http://shoryuken.com/forum/index.php?threads/srk-newbie-saikyo-dojo-execution-guide-read-me.102691/
    The artist formerly known as Starcade RIP