Should I train against the CPU?

hifumihifumi Joined: Posts: 15
I'm a bloody noob and don't know anything about SF4. Nothing that isn't apparent at the very first sight of the game.
I think I'd feel more comfortable playing against the CPU first. It also allows me to play a lot more, because I can just keep playing whereas in online play I'll have to look for a new opponent after each match, go through character select and all that stuff. It's pretty annoying only to get beat to a pulp again.

I still need to try out all the characters and find one that feels comfortable. Learn which button does what. Don't even mention pulling off combos and special moves when I need to.
Would you generally advise against playing vs. the CPU, so as to not pick up any bad habits? Playing against the CPU a lot makes you adapt to the patterns the CPU uses a lot, but it might not even help a lot against what players do...

Comments

• GordonsBeardGordonsBeard QCF+P Bad Stoned Joined: Posts: 379
    If you are brand new then yeah, the CPU isn't a bad training opponent. You gotta learn how to do all your moves, and how to confirm from a little poke, into a good combo - the CPU is perfect for these kind of applications. What the CPU will not be able to teach you is how to play mindgames, or how to defend yourself against a real opponent.

The CPU will be easily exploited, and you might pick up bad habits (like mashing Shoryukens on wakeup), but until you get comfortable enough to throw a fireball 100/100 times, none of this really matters.

I'd really recommend trying to find a friend who's around the same skill level as you, as playing a real opponent is just much more fun and rewarding - not to mention more worthwhile. But don't feel bad about playing the CPU for a while, there is a lot of stuff to take in at first.
  • hifumihifumi Joined: Posts: 15