How to apply 'correct' pressure?

Evil_ScragEvil_Scrag Joined: Posts: 87
Hi guys

Im not very good at ssf4: AE...

Anyway, been playing vs some high ranked people (3k+ pp) and just asked them for some general feedback.

The main thing that i got back was that i dont apply enough pressure, and when i do try it isnt correct.

How do i do this correctly? I know it is very vague question but any help would be great.

Also, another thing is that they said i walk my self into a corner. I dont think i 'walk myself to the corner' but i do find myself there often. Any advice? I dont think i handle their pressure very well, maybe i dont punish enough? Not sure.

Let me know if you need clarifying on anything

Comments

• VerstandeVerstande Joined: Posts: 324
    Online is the last option you should resort to if you want to gain experience.
  • NecrotrophicNecrotrophic キコケン Joined: Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭
    That's not true and can we see some videos maybe?
    Xbox live, GFWL and GGPO:Necrotrophic
    Chun Li (SF4, ST, 3s), Akuma (SF4), Ryu (SF4,ST, 3s), Cammy (SF4, ST)
    youtube.com/necrotrophic
  • Evil_ScragEvil_Scrag Joined: Posts: 87

This is from February... I probly didnt play for about 6months after that, and have only started again in the last 2-3. Sorry i don't have anything more recent.

I dont jump away and walk into the corner like that any more, i hold my ground and poke a bit better and i know more than just 1 or 2 combo's. The end result is more or less the same though. This was a character the guy was learning, and on his main i got absolutely destroyed.

Watching this video i can say i have improved a lot, but not to the standards i want. I have trouble staying over 1k pp (not that it is a real measure of skill but it gives you a rough idea.... back when i recorded this i was lucky to break 500pp on a good day)