UMvC3: How Do I Improve My Game? (Give Suggestions)

Malice IntentMalice Intent The DruginatorJoined: Posts: 5
I've been playing everyday for a few months now, starting to get use to my stick, got a nice team consisting of Zero, X-23 and Ammy (sometimes Spiderman) but im still not tht very good at the game. For instance, the highest difficulty i can go is normal and even sometimes i still get owned by the computer. So what im really asking is what were your ways you guys improved or got better. If possible share your story and journey to way you are now in UMvC3 :D thanks!

Comments

• GordonsBeardGordonsBeard QCF+P Bad Stoned Joined: Posts: 379
    The computer is not any good to practice against. In Marvel a lot of the skill comes from making your opponent guess wrong, and putting them in situations that take perfect quick reactions in order to avoid.

The CPU doesn't get "confused", it never gets "mixed-up", when you attack it, it runs CanIBlock(difficulty), and if it returns "True", then it will block the correct time - every time.

Unfortunately this will be a short thread because the real answer on "how do I get better at marvel" is: practice. You have to see what other people are doing in order to hit you, and you need to find out/discover what mixups you have that will get others confused and opened up.

The computer in Marvel isn't good for anything except hitconfirming - it's a great tool if you want to practice nothing but the absolute safest ways in, and if you want to do that then set the CPU to super hard. Even then you're mostly wasting your time once you have the controls down. The majority of your time should be spent in training mode, learning new mixups and combos, or online, where you use the new combos and mixups.
  • XthAtGAm3RGuYXXthAtGAm3RGuYX Never did no harm Joined: Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭✭✭