Can skills be "transferable"?

D'ohryukenD'ohryuken Joined: Posts: 17
I recently started playing older SF games on GGPO and that has been my first regular contact with other players. Until then versing people was very rare for me, in any fighting game. I usually just kept playing against the AI.

But the game that I really want to get good at is SF4, but I can't play that online. So, with that in mind, would you say that what I learn playing Super Turbo or Alpha 2 online can be "transferred", at least partially, to SF4? I obviously don't mean everything, since they're all whole different animals, but at least the experience of versing people, learning from and adapting to them, could that be applicable to SF4 even if I'm not really playing SF4?

I'd appreciate your inputs and thank them in advance.

Comments

• TonyTheLionTonyTheLion YOU GOIN TO JAIL NOW! Joined: Posts: 43
    Why do you feel they're "whole different animals?" What are the biggest differences you see, in your opinion? Aside from graphics and, i guess, focus attacks.
    I don't always say "that's what she said." But when I do. She did.
  • eltroubleeltrouble Joined: Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭✭
    I recently started playing older SF games on GGPO and that has been my first regular contact with other players. Until then versing people was very rare for me, in any fighting game. I usually just kept playing against the AI.

But the game that I really want to get good at is SF4, but I can't play that online. So, with that in mind, would you say that what I learn playing Super Turbo or Alpha 2 online can be "transferred", at least partially, to SF4? I obviously don't mean everything, since they're all whole different animals, but at least the experience of versing people, learning from and adapting to them, could that be applicable to SF4 even if I'm not really playing SF4?

I'd appreciate your inputs and thank them in advance.