Mayflash mod questions

AgentClankAgentClank Joined: Posts: 8
Hi, newbie here. I'm looking to mod my Mayflash stick (http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0015PHMFU/) with some Sanwa parts and I had a couple questions about it.

Here's the tutorial series I'm using:

And here's what I'm looking to get:
http://store.gameshark.com/listCategoriesAndProducts.asp?idCategory=334
http://store.gameshark.com/listCategoriesAndProducts.asp?idCategory=335
http://store.gameshark.com/listCategoriesAndProducts.asp?idCategory=329

So from what I understand, apart from the parts I'll need:
screwdriver, thin wire, pliers, electrical tape, rat tail file, soldering iron and solder, and a desoldering braid.
Is there anything else I'll need for this project?

Apart from that, it appears to me what Vareous did was to file the holes wider and use the 30mm buttons. Is this correct, and if so, could I just get the 24mm buttons and use those instead? The Mayflash appears to be a 24mm, but about 33mm if you include what they're placed in: here's an image - http://i.imgur.com/M8fjWQP.png

In addition, are the dust covers useful? The stick as it is already has a dust cover "plate" under the ball that I would continue using, and I'm used to brushing against the stick itself as much as holding the ball so I'm worried that the "shaft" cover may slide around while I do this.

Finally, some TE sticks are on sale for $100: should I just buy one instead? It's just a money thing really: I've got money, but I don't feel like I need to spend it. (one such one would be the SFXT stick http://store.gameshark.com/viewItem.asp?idProduct=5327&idCategory=274)

Any help would be appreciated. I've looked around but can't seem to find much.
Other info: SSF4AE and xT on PC, with stick on table. Would use white for 6 main buttons and yellow/orange for 3x, or if can use 30mm would go with cyan/yellow/red/white to match l/m/h/3. Going with white stick, possibly black. No other design ideas at the moment.

Comments