3rd Strike Lag/Speed Tests

24

Comments

  • yuukiyuuki Joined: Posts: 782
    edited April 2014
    Edited *sent PM*
    かかってきな。
  • Lance3rdLance3rd Alaska 3rd Strike Joined: Posts: 986
    let's have a discussion on this, if you guys are interested.

    so I think we can probably assume that 360 and PS3 both lag the same, though it is interesting that 360 averaged a bit higher consistently.

    of course you can't really lag 1/3 of a frame. a higher average would just mean that you're getting a few more 5 frame delays than the other platforms. or it could just be "that's how the screen was refreshing this time around" and mean nothing at all.

    finding a way to be accurate about it is more difficult than initially expected. what I'm taking from this is that CPS3/360/PS3 all have the same delay offline, as does OE training mode. and that PS2 is delayed a frame, and that Dreamcast is delayed two frames. but with the kinda large window for precision, it's hard to say any of that with 100% certainty.

    there's still the emulators to test, which I think is the one we'll have to regard with the most skepticism - all we can really say is how much the emulators lag on one specific setup, within a half frame of accuracy.
  • ryan.ryan. Joined: Posts: 1,918
    I'm more interested in game speed now!
  • Lance3rdLance3rd Alaska 3rd Strike Joined: Posts: 986
    me too. I think we could save your more accurate input lag testing for later. we have ballpark numbers now anyway, and I think these are mostly not a surprise to anyone, it's just nice to have confirmation of what people have been saying for years.

    onto the speed tests!
  • cribbacribba Joined: Posts: 22
    isotopez wrote: »
    Shmupmame (fullscreen aero off) - 3.7

    So Shmupmame is possibly the most accurate lag wise then? CPS3 being 3.6 and PS3 being 3.8, if we assume that the monitor response time, tearing and what-not didn't mess with the final result.
  • isotopezisotopez Joined: Posts: 125
    edited April 2014
    cribba wrote: »
    isotopez wrote: »
    Shmupmame (fullscreen aero off) - 3.7

    So Shmupmame is possibly the most accurate lag wise then? CPS3 being 3.6 and PS3 being 3.8, if we assume that the monitor response time, tearing and what-not didn't mess with the final result.

    Any error from screen tearing or ghosting would inflate the lag numbers since the move comes out, but it's a little hard to see it happening, so I might count the next frame as the startup frame. Shmupmame's purpose is to reduce lag, so it should be better than fba or mame in that regard. Groovymame is supposed to be another good alternative to fba or mame, but it's harder to set up.

    Our next goal is to test for speed differences and input timing differences. My plan for the input timing tests is to make a programmable controller. We're thinking of testing necro's elbow cannon juggles on urien (1 frame link), cancelling normals into stuff with different cancel timings, and super input windows. Let me know if there's anything specific you guys want to know about, and we might be able to fit it in.
  • Hol HorseHol Horse a.k.a. Fugo ~ イタリアの強大なユリアン Joined: Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭✭✭ OG
    and people will still be using fba on shady lcd models and sub-optimal usb configuration. And still believing to play 3s.
    gooby plz
  • mpikkonmpikkon "S" class tier (OP) Joined: Posts: 355
    edited April 2014
    isotopez wrote: »
    Here's the results for fba and shmupmame. Also, we don't have a crt, so we had to use an lcd monitor, which comes with lag. We did these tests on a Dell U2312HM monitor, which is listed as having 9.3ms of lag here. I'm not sure how accurate that number is, but I posted lag numbers with the extra monitor lag and without it. Also, lcd monitors don't show the image as being cut in two on the camera, but they come with ghosting, and with aero off there's screen tearing, both of which possibly affected the lag count a little.

    3S Lag Results (Excluding Monitor Lag)
    FBA (aero on) - 6.0
    FBA (aero off) - 4.6
    Shmupmame (aero on) - 5.4
    Shmupmame (aero off) - 3.8
    Shmupmame (fullscreen aero off) - 3.7

    3S Lag Results (Including Monitor Lag)
    FBA (aero on) - 6.5
    FBA (aero off) - 5.1
    Shmupmame (aero on) - 6.0
    Shmupmame (aero off) - 4.4
    Shmupmame (fullscreen aero off) - 4.3

    edit: We're going to see if we can also test groovymame, but that may take a while to get up and running.

    Thank you for these tests. I have been telling this for quite a long time:
    "Not all emulators lag the same.
    The input delay depends on your system build and connection.
    Technology is evolving.
    The higher quality on the system mechanics, the more stable/solid PC you have, thus optimal function on any application".


    Thank you. This is justice.

    Btw, my PC is "S" class tier(OP).
  • Lance3rdLance3rd Alaska 3rd Strike Joined: Posts: 986
    edited April 2014
    Here's what I take from it:

    You should not use Aero

    You need a CRT

    GGPO will come with an extra frame of delay even on perfect setups, which will exacerbate adding GGPO delay.

    It doesn't really have anything to do with how good your computer is, more to do with what combination of settings you're using.

    I agree that it's encouraging that shmupmame looks pretty close to cps3. It means there's potential for a suitable emulator version of the game if we can address game speed questions and also deal with audio latency. Which we haven't done any tests for but is for sure one more component of the big picture.
  • Lance3rdLance3rd Alaska 3rd Strike Joined: Posts: 986
    Also worth mentioning: we didn't use 'force 60hz' which I didn't know was the standard for ggpo players. I'm not sure if that'll make any difference or not. We can find out later when Isotopez can use his more accurate method and we can run through all the possible configurations and see what impact they have. We can do that after we run the speed tests.
  • mpikkonmpikkon "S" class tier (OP) Joined: Posts: 355
    Lance3rd wrote: »
    Here's what I take from it:

    You should not use Aero
    I am aware of the fact that Aero adds input delay on applications running on the background/desktop.
    That's not shocking. It only proves that there's nothing new under the sun.
    Lance3rd wrote: »

    You need a CRT

    No.

    How will a new generation video card cooperate with an old technology monitor? Poorly at best...
    There is visual and input delay cause the VGA cable cant support the video card's huge bandwidth.

    Do your research if you want.

    For example, connect a Geforce GTX 670 on a 5ms LCD HD monitor (any reliable company name) or a CRT monitor through A VGA cable.
    The new video card (which is a very good quality product+high gaming force) is optimized for HDMI cables and HD monitors.
    You will notice image tearing, ghosting, input/visual delay on anything. Aero Off won't do anything here.
    You downgrade your own product on your own...

    Connect your new video card through a HDMI cable on a HD monitor, update drivers, directX, sound card drivers, flash the bios, etc.
    You will notice a major difference...

    A CRT monitor does the job fine when you have combination
    1.Old OS, for example Windows XP. It ultra light, most compatible with old technology products. That makes sense, since it does not support the new CPUs and Direct X 10/11.
    2.Old hardware. For example, 512/1GB video cards which are not optimized for HD resolutions. 3 year old video card/CPU/RAM at least.
    Lance3rd wrote: »
    Here's what I take from it:

    GGPO will come with an extra frame of delay even on perfect setups, which will exacerbate adding GGPO delay.

    OK, but do not overlook GGPO is outdated on Windows 7 systems. It's a modified FBA version which was released on 2009...
    Lance3rd wrote: »
    It doesn't really have anything to do with how good your computer is, more to do with what combination of settings you're using.

    Do better justice, please.
    A good computer is:
    a combination of good/high quality parts, everything is up-to-date technology and software optimizations done by the User (drivers, Direct X, bios, etc)
    Depending on the settings you apply, you find the best performance that matches your gaming.
  • isotopezisotopez Joined: Posts: 125
    Do you have a camera you could lag test your S tier computer with? That could settle something that keeps happening on these forums every few months.
  • Lance3rdLance3rd Alaska 3rd Strike Joined: Posts: 986
    edited April 2014
    I think it would be worthwhile if you obtained a high speed camera (they're not too expensive) and run these same tests on your own setup. I would appreciate anyone who did that actually. Unlike CPS3 and OE which will be fixed, there may be more variability with computer and emulator setups. It would be nice to find out what other people are seeing.

    The thread is meant to give us reasonably accurate and reproducible answers on how much input lag and game speed differ from platform to platform. So any claims we make in this thread should be backed up by evidence. Without testing your setup yourself you really can't have any idea what difference any of those things would make.

    Only argue what we can test and prove basically. I hope you and anyone else interested will run similar tests on their own setups.
  • mpikkonmpikkon "S" class tier (OP) Joined: Posts: 355
    edited April 2014
    isotopez wrote: »
    Do you have a camera you could lag test your S tier computer with? That could settle something that keeps happening on these forums every few months.

    This is my "S" tier PC:

    Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
    Monitor SyncMaster P2270HD (native 1920x1080p resolution)
    Intel Core i7-2600K
    ASUS Geforce GTX670-DC2T-2GD5, connected through HDMI, Full HD 1920x1080p resolution + PCI Express 3.0 enabled on Bios Settings
    Onboard VIA Sound Chipset
    16 GB RAM DDR-3 Corsair 1600Mhz (Dual Channel 2x8, XMP profile enabled)
    PSU 775w Thermaltake
    Motherboard GA-Z77M-D3H with updated latest BIOS version
    Latest Drivers, directX, windows 7 updates all installed.
    No anti virus running on gaming.

    I can play almost any 3D game on High settings on Full HD resolution.
    I can record without dropping any frame at all (FRAPS).
    I can enjoy Street Fighter III 3rd Strike with any emulator I please. Way better than my PS2(bad port) and PS3 port(good port).
  • isotopezisotopez Joined: Posts: 125
    But what about the lag?
  • mpikkonmpikkon "S" class tier (OP) Joined: Posts: 355
    edited April 2014
    isotopez wrote: »
    But what about the lag?
    I run the emulator at full screen, 1920x1080p, Aero Off and proper settings.
    I do not feel any lag at all. Find a similar system and try on your own.

    Btw, I am pretty sure that the newest HD monitors perform even better than mine.
  • Lance3rdLance3rd Alaska 3rd Strike Joined: Posts: 986
    thanks @ESN! looking forward to it.

    I think it would be cool if as many people as possible ran similar tests. PC + emulator is the big question mark but it doesn't hurt to have more results for console either, especially considering our kind of sizable margin for error. maybe @isotopez could write up a quick guide on what you need and how to set it up to run your own version of this test.

    I understand if it's too expensive or too much trouble. just putting it out there that if anyone else wants to run equivalent tests and post their results, we will be glad to have them.
  • mpikkonmpikkon "S" class tier (OP) Joined: Posts: 355
    edited April 2014
    ESN wrote: »
    You may be right about everything you said but saying it won't prove anything.
    Read Lance3rd answer again...
    Being right and true, it is proof enough. ESN, you are being biased.
    ESN wrote: »
    I will test my pc setup (the same since ggpo came out) next week.
    Post all your system specs and emulator settings and do it.
    However, do not expect that your results apply 100% on millions builds out there.

    Lance3rd wrote: »
    I think it would be cool if as many people as possible ran similar tests. PC + emulator is the big question mark but it doesn't hurt to have more results for console either, especially considering our kind of sizable margin for error. maybe @isotopez could write up a quick guide on what you need and how to set it up to run your own version of this test.

    I understand if it's too expensive or too much trouble. just putting it out there that if anyone else wants to run equivalent tests and post their results, we will be glad to have them.

    If anything can do it right, that is a PC system.
  • yomipoweryomipower not a legendary game designer Joined: Posts: 1,167
    I run my 32mb Radeon 7500 laptop on a Full HD LCD with it's max resolution via VGA and it doesn't lag at all, now what bitch?
    Yomi, which is the Japanese word for the underworld. Also a brand of vitamins for children.
  • ryan.ryan. Joined: Posts: 1,918
    Pc sux
  • mpikkonmpikkon "S" class tier (OP) Joined: Posts: 355
    edited April 2014
    ryan. wrote: »
    Pc sux
    Consoles are PC wannabes. They just copy their technology/software. That is the truth. They exist and evolve thanks to PC technology.
    I personally find consoles a little immature for my age. They are practical, when you want to participate/organize a local tournament. That is all. That is subjective, as well.
    ryan. wrote: »
    Any low badget Pc build sux
    Fixed
  • Lance3rdLance3rd Alaska 3rd Strike Joined: Posts: 986
    edited April 2014
    we'll get started with the speed tests this weekend.
  • mpikkonmpikkon "S" class tier (OP) Joined: Posts: 355
    Lance3rd wrote: »
    most people are not going to agree with your position, because that's not how video/audio/input latency works as far as it is currently understood. if you feel everyone is wrong, it is up to you to run the tests yourself and prove that we are wrong. if you have no interest in doing that there's really no point to you posting in this thread.
    Oh, and why trust few ppl who dislike PCs and refuse to post their system specs? Ppl who had bashed emulators and their service in the commnity non-stop in the past.
    Am I right, IglooBob?

    By all means, everyone do your research on delay/speed on your PC build. Just be unbiased and honest on your work.
    That's all I ask.
  • Lance3rdLance3rd Alaska 3rd Strike Joined: Posts: 986
    we've been unbiased and pretty open about how we test this stuff throughout. if anyone suspects we're making stuff up or that we have some kind of bias, all I can really say is they should run the same tests themselves and see what results they get.

    we're open to stuff that could potentially affect the lag and are willing to test it. we still plan on testing in XP after, we still plan on testing GroovyMAME, and if anyone points out anything else, we'll test if it's possible. we made it a point to find out what everyone uses as their standard FBA setup to make sure we're looking at what everyone else is looking at. I think we've been pretty fair to every platform. we're just not going to start testing every possible combination of PC hardware. we don't have the time or the resources to do that. it also is unlikely to make a difference. considering that ShmupMAME is already very close to real arcade, I kinda doubt our hardware setup is a problem (besides the monitor which as isotopez mentioned is slightly laggy).

    I think there's not much to say besides that. everyone will be happy to look at your results if you want to test your own setup, but I don't see much point in arguing about it if you don't do that. all that can ever come to is your assumptions versus someone else's assumptions.
  • ryan.ryan. Joined: Posts: 1,918
    How much does a s tier pc cost for playing 3rd Strike?

    Also mpikkon, how much time and experience do you have with cps3?
  • mpikkonmpikkon "S" class tier (OP) Joined: Posts: 355
    ryan. wrote: »
    How much does a s tier pc cost for playing 3rd Strike?
    If you don't pay money, you will see no performance/stability nor longevity. My build suits my needs for 5 years at least. See, it's an investment, not just a game machine.
    ryan. wrote: »
    Also mpikkon, how much time and experience do you have with cps3?
    Enough time and experience to contribute the best 3s Yun Tutorial on the web, my 4 years old work.
  • ryan.ryan. Joined: Posts: 1,918
    edited April 2014
    I was just wondering the price. If you're saying 3rd Strike is perfect emulated but only if you spend $1000+ then there's really no point to discuss it. I can just buy a cps3 myself.

    Also, your tutorial is impressive. I can tell you put in a lot of time and effort. Good job buddy. But I was asking if you actually have hands on experience with cps3 3rd Strike. If you only have limited time then it's hard to take your word when you say emulated 3rd Strike is good.
  • jblairjblair remember to cancel your preorder! Joined: Posts: 1,390
    I thought it was known that emu 3s is no good? I doubt that a better pc makes it perfect. It's way faster than cps3
  • mpikkonmpikkon "S" class tier (OP) Joined: Posts: 355
    edited April 2014
    ryan. wrote: »
    I was just wondering the price. If you're saying 3rd Strike is perfect emulated but only if you spend $1000+ then there's really no point to discuss it. I can just buy a cps3 myself.
    We don't have the official PC release, am I correct? It should have been released. An official PC version vs console versions.
    ryan. wrote: »
    Also, your tutorial is impressive. I can tell you put in a lot of time and effort. Good job buddy. But I was asking if you actually have hands on experience with cps3 3rd Strike. If you only have limited time then it's hard to take your word when you say emulated 3rd Strike is good.
    I have no local 3s scene, nor enough free time to watch 3s videos or play on GGPO as I used to do. Still, my contribution is highly appreciated. Thank you, ryan.
    Post edited by mpikkon on
  • yomipoweryomipower not a legendary game designer Joined: Posts: 1,167
    You can be autistic about it and buy a $1500 Alienware PC if you wanna be a retard, but it doesn't change the fact that CPS3 emulation is imperfect across all emulators due to them using the same codework pretty much.

    Also Lance/isotopez/whoever, can you test the first CPS3 emulator by Nebula? I'm sure everyone has forgotten about it by now since it doesn't have netplay and it's ancient, but just for the sake of completion. You can get the emu from Nebula's homepage, but IIRC the rom needs some custom BIOS file or something in the .zip or it wont work, regular sfiii3 romsets from the usual sites didn't work.
    Yomi, which is the Japanese word for the underworld. Also a brand of vitamins for children.
  • Lance3rdLance3rd Alaska 3rd Strike Joined: Posts: 986
    yomipower wrote: »
    You can be autistic about it and buy a $1500 Alienware PC if you wanna be a retard, but it doesn't change the fact that CPS3 emulation is imperfect across all emulators due to them using the same codework pretty much.

    Also Lance/isotopez/whoever, can you test the first CPS3 emulator by Nebula? I'm sure everyone has forgotten about it by now since it doesn't have netplay and it's ancient, but just for the sake of completion. You can get the emu from Nebula's homepage, but IIRC the rom needs some custom BIOS file or something in the .zip or it wont work, regular sfiii3 romsets from the usual sites didn't work.

    Sure thing. It'll be when we swing back around to the lag tests, but we can do that.
  • exodusexodus anti-vid scrub advocate! Joined: Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭✭✭ OG
    As much as this is helpful in fueling our understanding of the intricate differences of each platform, I am fairly certain it is at least to some extent counterproductive in promoting the health of 3S as a whole. Too often do I notice people coming out in favor of one or the other, or neglecting to participate when given the option, simply because it is in their minds an inferior/incorrect version of 3S. I can say with 100% confidence that close to none of these people (or their respective competition) are at a point in their game where they are good/proficient enough in every area of the game to forego playing it in any inferior iteration (minus DC). I commend what isotopez/igb/anyone else for what they do in order to increase our understanding of the nuances surrounding this magnificent fighter, but I think it needs to be said that you should promote the playing of 3S wherever you can get it.
    .
  • exodusexodus anti-vid scrub advocate! Joined: Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭✭✭ OG
    edited April 2014
    I'm not saying what you're doing serves no purpose. It's definitely a very good thing; moreover, I wanted to state that regardless of the results, most of everyone should not avoid a certain platform because it is "laggier". Dreamcast stands an exception because it shifts the startup and active frames, resulting in a literal change in the game.
    .
  • d3vd3v Coughing DAT PINK SPIT Joined: Posts: 36,054 mod
    @mpikkon‌
    Flag abuse is a bannable offense. Also, your blatant PC fanboy-ism has added nothing of objective value to the thread, especially in the face of what we already know (all LCDs have add input delay over CRTs, 3S PC emulation being imperfect, etc.).
    You can't ask for well-thought-out changes off day 1, week 1, or mostly even month 1 play...and that's when the game is out and everyone's in the lab.
    -Mike_Z

    If there's anything we do best, it's breaking games and then making everyone suffer with all the cheapness.
    -PersiaXO
  • General_AwesomoGeneral_Awesomo "Hyouh!" Joined: Posts: 370
    Something here is making me scratch my head. There's PS3 results for filters on and 360 results for training mode. Why is there no PS3 results for training mode and 360 results for filters on? Did you guys just forget or something? And why even bother with training mode in the first place?
    GT: GeneraI Awesomo USFIV Main: Vega
    PSN: General_Awesomo UMvC3 Team: Zero (β) / Taskmaster (α) / Vergil (γ)
  • Lance3rdLance3rd Alaska 3rd Strike Joined: Posts: 986
    Ah yeah I guess that wouldn't make sense on first glance lol.

    We tested ps3 first, then 360 after the recent patch for both consoles. We tested filters on and off with ps3 and concluded from that that filters don't add any lag on OE. So we figured no point in testing filters on both consoles since it was likely the same. In between testing ps3 and 360 Ryan and a friend of his asked us to test OE training mode since they thought it might be adding lag. So we folded that into our 360 test. we probably would've tested filters and training mode on both consoles if there looked like there was any difference. but from the looks of things it's all the same between the two OE ports.

    we'll know if that's true for sure later when isotopez does his more accurate test. I believe the reason there's a difference in result numbers is because of where the inputs landed in the frame and where the camera frames landed in comparison to the monitor frames. for instance consider three possibilities of when you input a button:

    beginning of a frame - will show up 3 frames later, basically on time
    middle or towards the end of a frame - will show up 3 frames later, so same frame as if you did it at the beginning but less "real time"
    very end of a frame - will miss the window for making that frame, will actually show up 1 frame later, so you'll get what looks like a random extra frame of lag

    that's my understanding for why our results are not in whole numbers and why a bunch of platforms that presumably lag the same would have slightly different results (but all within the margin of error). I know you didn't ask, but thought I should explain in case it wasn't clear why I'd say 360 and PS3 are probably the same.
  • NoMoreFunlandNoMoreFunland Perfection equals obliteration! Joined: Posts: 1,229
    Exodus, GGPO is the most inconsistent platform for the game. That's just fact due to a million different PC setups even putting aside the inherent lag spoken of here.

    Lance and iso's research is good in many ways. One being that it snaps players out of the over simplified notion of "the arcade ROM is used therefore it's a superior online experience because its arcade perfect." With my 4 year old MacBook Pro I get noticeable input lag with delay set to 0 and even more sever audio lag. Ruins the learning for me but I haven't given up yet.

    Tbh your arguments seem more about bringing players into the GGPO environment rather than getting players to be less biased to all platforms. If anything this research should encourage GGPO players to buy a cheap console and play on both.
  • exodusexodus anti-vid scrub advocate! Joined: Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭✭✭ OG
    edited April 2014
    You're mistaking my preference with what I am trying to say. I prefer GGPO. I said "Play 3S any which way you can get it, because the exposure is more beneficial than detrimental." Unless you are somehow assuming I am siding with mpikkon, which I was not. Their little back and forth is what made me post to begin with.
    .
  • NoMoreFunlandNoMoreFunland Perfection equals obliteration! Joined: Posts: 1,229
    edited April 2014
    Your clarification is more clear and concise, thanks. I hope you are helping your preferred community to see the validity of playing on platforms other than GGPO. Less bias is good for everyone.

    Edit: nice ninja edit exo. It was better in the first draft. Lol
    Post edited by NoMoreFunland on
  • WTF-AKUMA-HAXWTF-AKUMA-HAX DBGT non canon > maxxvatar OVA Joined: Posts: 17,796
    edited May 2014
    isotopez wrote: »
    Our next goal is to test for speed differences and input timing differences. My plan for the input timing tests is to make a programmable controller. We're thinking of testing necro's elbow cannon juggles on urien (1 frame link), cancelling normals into stuff with different cancel timings, and super input windows. Let me know if there's anything specific you guys want to know about, and we might be able to fit it in.
    Its a lot more tests to do and needing some baseline for comparison like those target combo or cancel ideas, and towards the last of the things to test maybe, after all the bigger stuff

    but is there something anyone has thought of to determine each stage's gamespeed? Of course you figure the ones with more going on in background objects or always on-screen layered effects like Yang's rain are the more "laggy" ones.

    Otherwise we get the offhand comments that "lol those guys looking for lag, someone found out every stage lags differently! So you are all wrong!" seen it before and no links to what they were talking about. Its not out of the ordinary that SF games have different stage lag, which the SFA2 people know directly as it changes things during Custom combos, and was pinpointed to background objects and the game accounting for those. Having them removed with edits, reduced or got rid of it all.
    1999 = "A Game with Parries isn't Street Fighter"
    2016 = "Releasing a Complete Game isn't Street Fighter"
    You wouldn't even understand if I told you.
    People will forget what you said.
    People will forget what you did.
    But, people will never forget how you made them feel.

  • bk2099bk2099 Joined: Posts: 99
    edited June 2014
    isotopez wrote: »
    I've finished rerecording and recounting footage for the 360 and dreamcast. I decided to only count the frames at 120fps and then divide those numbers by 2, which gives the lag at 60fps with half a frame of precision.

    The videos for the consoles aren't consistent with cps3 because they refresh at a different rate, so the console averages are likely skewed a little compared to cps3.

    These numbers do not mean that 360 lags more than the ps3 or even cps3. Both consoles' averages fall within the same range of error.

    3S Lag Results:
    CPS3 - 3.6
    PS2 - 4.7
    PS3 (filters off) - 3.8
    PS3 (filters on) - 3.8
    360 (filters off) - 4.1
    360 (training mode) - 3.9
    Dreamcast - 6.1

    *All these averages should be +/- 0.5 frames of the actual lag.




    I was wondering if you could retest the Dreamcast version when you get some time. I would do it myself but I don't have the recording gear.

    The reason is because the CPS3 hardware uses a Hitachi SH-2 as its CPU and the Dreamcast uses the Hitachi SH-4, which is in the same processor core family. This makes the Dreamcast the closest to the CPS3 in terms of hardware.

    Also if you could perform the tests:
    -in 240p mode [Hold Start+L (or Start+Z on the Arcade Stick) before the Capcom logo appears to get the 320x240 mode.]
    -using a "Madcatz Dream Pad" or any other 3rd party controller since the stock Dreamcast controllers are known to lag.
    -using the Street.Fighter.III.Third.Strike.Arcade.Edition-RDC ISO. Apparently it's arcade perfect with unblockables.
    -bonus if you can wire it up to an arcade monitor in 15khz RGB mode.
  • exodusexodus anti-vid scrub advocate! Joined: Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭✭✭ OG
    No, seriously. DC is not 3S at all because there's a global shift in startup/active/recovery frames. It's the least accurate out of any iteration.
    .
Sign In or Register to comment.