Drawing/Sketching fundementals thread

Comments

• PozerWolfPozerWolf Gummies, yum! ;o Joined: Posts: 8,374 ✭✭✭✭✭ OG
    The video's TL;DL is basically practice makes perfect.
    Which... that's usually been the general rule of thumb in almost everything.

I think the problem with that video is the fact that he HAD to make the video. A lot of people out there are trying to figure out some magical way in getting better real quickly, when in the end, there really is no real answer. I'm still a beginner, but everyone has the same story to share with me.

"Learn your fundamentals. Draw from life. Draw what you like"
    The more I do my studies, the more I see why people take certain stylistic approach. So something is working. Hopefully I can get some good stuff coming out in the next couple of months. Still learning the human figure (among other studies), I should be able to do more in-depth figure drawing soon. So far I've only been doing 30 second and 2 minute figure drawings. But the more I learn about anatomy, the more my figures are getting better. Not only that, but my drawing speed has increased. I guess since I have a stronger understand of the human figure, there's less thinking and more drawing.
    All I do is draw naked birds all day.
    Twitter; PozerWolf
  • axeman61axeman61 My Baby Blue. Joined: Posts: 4,793
    I don't think people want a magic bullet as much as they want some method or plan with a degree of solidity. You hear "practice makes perfect" everywhere, but things are foggy after that. How much practice? How exactly do you practice? It varies for each person, as it should. Especially with something creative, like drawing. I'd figure anything resembling a straightforward plan has to clear the fog a little.
    "I want to find an honest [president]. Some guy who's just going to get on TV and be like 'Look, in order for this whole thing to work, at least two-thirds of you need to just go to the beach and walk into the ocean.'"
    -Bill Burr.