Drawing/Sketching fundementals thread

15678911»

Comments

• Citrus_monkeyCitrus_monkey Joined: Posts: 2,017
    You can't go wrong with wacoms. I'm a concept artist, my career demands I use one for around 50 hours a week on average. My intuos 3 lasted me 5 years(the pen crapped out, the tablet still works fine) and my intuos pro is going on its 4th year. If you treat them with care they will never crap out on you, so even if the price tag truly is scary, it's well worth it.
  • StarhammerStarhammer The Laughing Man of SRK. Joined: Posts: 20,743 ✭✭✭✭✭ OG
    Manga Studio 5/ Clip Studio 5 (Same program) is really good. Great line quality and light weight for a reasonable price. (They usually have sales for it at 50-60% on summers. One is on right now.)
    Photoshop if your wallet can afford it but generally I think its over rated and for illustrations you dont use all of the features other competitors dont have.
    Krita. Free online software. I havent used it but its kinda like Clip Studio and Photoshop.

Those are ones I seen most comic book artists use. Other potential one is Paint Tool Sai (?) Its really lightweight and simple.
    Personally, I like Manga Studio cause the its streamlined but still has an easy to understand custom-ability to its brushes.

As for art tablets, aside from Wacom theres another one called Huion. Cheaper then Wacom but the trade off is drivers are ass and doesnt have the quartz(?) battery pen Wacom has. So you have to keep it charged to use it.

Cool. Knowing that, I'll go after these first. I have heard of Manga Studio, so I'm down.
    You can't go wrong with wacoms. I'm a concept artist, my career demands I use one for around 50 hours a week on average. My intuos 3 lasted me 5 years(the pen crapped out, the tablet still works fine) and my intuos pro is going on its 4th year. If you treat them with care they will never crap out on you, so even if the price tag truly is scary, it's well worth it.