FightCade 3S (GGPO killer)

AlexisdabombAlexisdabomb Joined: Posts: 2,528
http://www.fightcade.com/

Mentioned this to a couple of you guys. It's basically an open source GGPO and so far it's better than GGPO. For one it features a far wider variety of games (Capcom's Beat 'em Up Masterpieces for example), gives you more customization, and personally I think the netcode is better. It's still in Beta but so far it's been a smoother experience. I've had fewer dropped inputs, I've been able to react to shit much more, and it's just less buggy. The classic lines on the screen glitch doesn't happen nearly as much.

Just the fact that I played a typical Yun and I knew he was going to do midscreen jump-punch or Shoulder and I buffer-parried and holy shit I actually parried the thing and got a BNB. That would NEVER happen on GGPO. You just cannot buffer-parry on GGPO.

So, check this shit out. It's only going to get better from here.
"I wish someone would flex in front of the camera and say I'm awesome....

;_; "

Dander.
«1345

Comments

  • DanderDander BANNED Joined: Posts: 7,227
    Will begin testing tomorrow.
    8tROOXi.png
  • exodusexodus anti-vid scrub advocate! Joined: Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭✭✭ OG
    GGPO God signing in! Hello!

    Haven't tested fightcade, but I was under the impression that it uses the same exact emulator. Given such, I'm inclined to believe that any positive experiences may just be placebo effects. After all, you can have good GGPO connections and bad ones. It's dependent on so many factors. The same goes for running GGPO on Mac. For what you do for fightcade, you could also use boot camp. It does use pyqt's GUI though, and that's much better than stock GGPO (minus the ping refresh).
    .
  • AlexisdabombAlexisdabomb Joined: Posts: 2,528
    edited November 2014
    exodus wrote: »

    Haven't tested fightcade, but I was under the impression that it uses the same exact emulator. Given such, I'm inclined to believe that any positive experiences may just be placebo effects.

    All I'm saying is, I've had it happen too many times where I'm just doing a Flash Chop or EX Flash Chop and it doesn't come out. It felt like every other match that would happen or I jump in and throw and I don't get my tech. In FightCade, that hasn't happened nearly as much.

    At the very least you can say it has a lot of potential just because it's open source and being actively developed.
    "I wish someone would flex in front of the camera and say I'm awesome....

    ;_; "

    Dander.
  • DanderDander BANNED Joined: Posts: 7,227
    it immediately has the potential to be better if its just on a new server because it's on a new server.
    8tROOXi.png
  • TiredOceanTiredOcean Low-tier theory fighter Joined: Posts: 134
    A new server doesn't mean shit though. I'm pretty sure all the server does is act as a chat channel and allow people to challenge each other, but the actual connections are P2P. The only upside is that this new server might not go down as much as the one Ponder maintains.

    I agree with exodus on the placebo effect thing. I wanted to mention it on my original post but I guess I forgot about it.

    Two other things I wanted to mention:
    - There's no port forwarding! This caused a lot of issues with GGPO before, so it's nice that you don't have to do this anymore.
    - Although I don't actually know if I'm right or not, I believe that Wine might introduce input lag. I haven't done any tests but as Wine is a compatibility layer I get the feeling that there may be some lag as it converts DirectInput system calls to whatever Mac/Linux uses. I'm not a programmer though, so take this theory with a pinch of salt.
  • DanderDander BANNED Joined: Posts: 7,227
    Why the fuck would you need a whole server just for chat?
    8tROOXi.png
  • Missing PersonMissing Person Righto. Joined: Posts: 13,770
    Mac and Linux support is not "false advertising." The client itself works cross platform, and considering FBA works perfectly fine in Wine as long as you use the correct settings, that is fine for now.

    Eventually I'd love to see them move everything over to a cross-platform emulator so that it could be cross-platform without the assistance of Wine, but for right now, this is fine.

    They basically have to reverse engineer the netcode, so maybe at some point they can implement it into another emulator once they have that done.
    XBL: WatCnBrwnDo4U | PSN: LanierIsPlusEV/FORpowerfulGame | CFN: MissingPerson/YddeDdeDe GGPO/FightCade: Missing Person | Steam: [TAS] Missing Person | Battle.net: MissingPersn#1365
    Twitter: JTMMissingPersn | Instagram: jtmmissingperson | Twitch: twitch.tv/missingpersonsrk
  • free_manfree_man Joined: Posts: 81
    Someone has tested on GNU/Linux version to know if lag is less than Windows version?
  • Missing PersonMissing Person Righto. Joined: Posts: 13,770
    free_man wrote: »
    Someone has tested on GNU/Linux version to know if lag is less than Windows version?

    It would be around the same. If there were any advantage to running it on Linux, it would be negated by the fact that it is having to be ran under Wine.
    XBL: WatCnBrwnDo4U | PSN: LanierIsPlusEV/FORpowerfulGame | CFN: MissingPerson/YddeDdeDe GGPO/FightCade: Missing Person | Steam: [TAS] Missing Person | Battle.net: MissingPersn#1365
    Twitter: JTMMissingPersn | Instagram: jtmmissingperson | Twitch: twitch.tv/missingpersonsrk
  • wuziqwuziq keyboard Joined: Posts: 484
    fightcade/pyqtggpo are open source, but not the ggpo library (the actual netcode part). fba is open source but the same version is being used. so yes, any improvements u may notice are placebo.

    does the server coordinate the connection of clients to each other on demand? or are IPs registered once a client connects to the chat, with coordination being peer to peer afterwards? i'm just guessing. i think it might be the former, because it would explain why it's hard to connect to people during peak hours, like friday evenings. in that case, it's better to have a server that can service more requests.

    also, i highly doubt that performance under wine is better than just native windows.
    PSN: wuziq
  • DanderDander BANNED Joined: Posts: 7,227
    fightcade isn't bad at all. It's much more responsive than ggpo but after consistent play gets bogged down too. Still, more consistent than ggpo and no roll backs to speak of. Instead you get missingnos, which is fine by me, because it provides a lot of insight into how they do their animation. Instead of redrawing on the spot, it scrolls under a mask. Fucking cool.
    8tROOXi.png
  • DanderDander BANNED Joined: Posts: 7,227
    Still can't do quick multiparries though.
    8tROOXi.png
  • TebboTebbo Play. Joined: Posts: 5,688
    IglooBob wrote: »
    I've been playing GGPO more lately. I know this is beating a dead horse but I cannot play functionally on that emulator (fba). I don't know how any ggpo player manages to anti air anything (or maybe they don't which is why a lot of the players jump in all day?).

    rofl
    i'm really glad you said this. because i have the same problem, i wonder if maybe our sticks are just slow as balls with windows/fba? slow stick + latency = frustration.

    i tend to crouch until late against jumpins (especially as remy). if I go for a late parry it almost never works on ggpo. eating a jump in while crouched is just embarrassing.
    i don't doubt that some people can do it just fine, so i think my own setup must be responsible to a large degree.
    it doesn't happen to me anywhere near as often on offline oe (360) or cps3.


    dander i wonder what you mean. it def does redraw. i think what you're seeing is the result of it being emulated, not outputting directly to a crt. even if its outputting to a crt, it's still emulating it, then that emulated image is being displayed by the crt. so in no situation is it actually doing the process 'correctly' under emulation. i think the emulator can 'draw' faster than it can be displayed basically. cps3 can't do that since the visual output and the running of the game are matched speed wise, always, exactly (both sharing the same value).

    cps3 which has to display on a crt is going to draw each frame line by line. so it's always going to redo the animations line by line. is that what you mean? it doesn't 'dump' what's on screen first or something, it draws over line by line.
    Play more.
  • TheBlackHombreTheBlackHombre Aesthetic Joined: Posts: 1,665
    Tebbo wrote: »
    IglooBob wrote: »
    I've been playing GGPO more lately. I know this is beating a dead horse but I cannot play functionally on that emulator (fba). I don't know how any ggpo player manages to anti air anything (or maybe they don't which is why a lot of the players jump in all day?).

    rofl
    i'm really glad you said this. because i have the same problem, i wonder if maybe our sticks are just slow as balls with windows/fba? slow stick + latency = frustration.
    Remember to disable aero (can right click > properties > compatibility > disable desktop composition - for it to be automatic) if you're on Windows 7, otherwise you'll have some input delay.
  • IglooBobIglooBob Bob the builder Joined: Posts: 4,039
    You'll have input delay either way. Check out the lag test thread for more info.
  • DanderDander BANNED Joined: Posts: 7,227
    Tebbo, I was meaning it's on a sprite sheet rather than seperate stills on some separate files. I dunno why I thought it would be the latter.


    8tROOXi.png
  • wuziqwuziq keyboard Joined: Posts: 484
    Tebbo wrote: »
    i wonder if maybe our sticks are just slow as balls with windows/fba? slow stick + latency = frustration.

    just wondering, have you updated the polling rate of your USB port to 1khz?
    PSN: wuziq
  • DanderDander BANNED Joined: Posts: 7,227
    btw, how come none of you have logged on to fightcade.
    8tROOXi.png
  • TebboTebbo Play. Joined: Posts: 5,688
    wuziq wrote: »
    Tebbo wrote: »
    i wonder if maybe our sticks are just slow as balls with windows/fba? slow stick + latency = frustration.

    just wondering, have you updated the polling rate of your USB port to 1khz?

    i havent and dont know how. how can i change that? i only know that for my mouse since it has its own software.

    @dander oh ok i get you. ya i cant imagine them not being on sprite sheets.
    Play more.
  • free_manfree_man Joined: Posts: 81
    Which video config is more close to the arcade monitor without 3D projection effect?
  • wuziqwuziq keyboard Joined: Posts: 484
    edited November 2014
    Tebbo wrote: »
    i havent and dont know how. how can i change that? i only know that for my mouse since it has its own software.

    it depends on what OS you're using, but i used this for windows 7: http://www.overclock.net/t/596276/changing-usb-polling-rate-to-1000hz-or-lower

    FWIW, i have a cthulhu pcb, which works fine on my ps3, but i still needed to update the polling rate on my PC to remove lag.

    oh btw the guide is mouse-centric but don't worry about that. in the setup.exe, just uncheck "Mouses Only" to see your stick. if you've done everything correctly, you should see the filter enabled and set to 1000 hz on your device: http://snag.gy/7Cnyi.jpg and this is tied to the USB port, not to the device; so if you plug your stick into a different port, you'll have to use the tool to update the rate on that port as well.
    PSN: wuziq
  • caspiancaspian Joined: Posts: 16
    I'm running Yosemite here and I can't open FightCade at all. I just keep getting this Problem Report:

    FightCade quit unexpectedly.
    Crashed Thread: Unknown
    Exception Type: EXC_BAD_INSTRUCTION (SIGILL)

    Anyone have any ideas? I'm soul crushed.
  • KaneKane biding my time Joined: Posts: 388
    I'm trying to use fightcade but I can't accept challenges for some reason. The game simply doesn't load. Strangely I can spec and challenge myself just fine. Any suggestions?

    Currently using ver 0.35.
  • SF2GuileXSF2GuileX BOXQ2 Joined: Posts: 663
    This looks pretty slick. Most important feature is the custom challenge sound. That SF challenge sound was always so loud on GGPO that I just muted it, but missed a lot of challenges because I wasn't always looking at the window. I'm gonna spread the word.
  • isamuisamu Joined: Posts: 435
    To the makers of Fightcade:

    please please PLEASE make a version for Android, not to actually play, but just to spectate.
    Dungeon Fighter Online, Elsword, Dragon's Crown, Streets of Rage Remake, Open BOR...it's great to be an old school Beat'em Up fan in 2014 :)
  • wuziqwuziq keyboard Joined: Posts: 484
    edited November 2014
    SF2GuileX wrote: »
    This looks pretty slick. Most important feature is the custom challenge sound. That SF challenge sound was always so loud on GGPO that I just muted it, but missed a lot of challenges because I wasn't always looking at the window. I'm gonna spread the word.

    if you want a custom challenge sound while using official ggpo client and servers, you can edit the challenger-comes.wav file in the assets folder (and probably reencode and replace the mp3 file as well - i'm not sure which file the client uses).

    or you can just download pyqtggpo, which is the chat client used by fightcade.
    PSN: wuziq
  • SF2GuileXSF2GuileX BOXQ2 Joined: Posts: 663
    wuziq wrote: »
    SF2GuileX wrote: »
    This looks pretty slick. Most important feature is the custom challenge sound. That SF challenge sound was always so loud on GGPO that I just muted it, but missed a lot of challenges because I wasn't always looking at the window. I'm gonna spread the word.

    if you want a custom challenge sound while using official ggpo client and servers, you can edit the challenger-comes.wav file in the assets folder (and probably reencode and replace the mp3 file as well - i'm not sure which file the client uses).

    or you can just download pyqtggpo, which is the chat client used by fightcade.

    I tried doing that with GGPO, but it still played the default challenge sound. I could never figure it out, but someone did link me to pyqtggpo some months ago. I would like to add or edit some themes to the client though.
  • TiredOceanTiredOcean Low-tier theory fighter Joined: Posts: 134
    @isamu‌ if you have a feature you want in Fightcade, you should try contacting the dev on Twitter, but he also has an SRK account! His name on both SRK and Twitter is @pof (https://twitter.com/pof)
  • RVNRVN Joined: Posts: 46
    This uses the exact same emulator as GGPO? So every update will just be cosmetic... right?

    Hilarious wiki on louiscipher aka Alexisdabomb
    http://ggpo.wikidot.com/louiscipher


    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    -Alexisdabomb: I think I've played enough dudes in general that I can say I'm decent
    -Harmonaz: i just want to know why YOU are so upset whenever you are here
    -Harmonaz: criticising how ppl play
    -Alexisdabomb: I'm more annoyed at the level of play and the trolling
    -Harmonaz: when, arguably, you are an absolute nobody when it comes to making judgements on how to play 3s
    -Harmonaz: posting more than anyone on srk does not make u a good player
    -Alexisdabomb: But I think I have enough experience when I can point out when a dude uses gimmicks...

  • DanderDander BANNED Joined: Posts: 7,227
    Well it doesn't play like a clone of ggpo and I've even heard say that the netcode has been slightly improved. So there's that.
    8tROOXi.png
  • isamuisamu Joined: Posts: 435
    TiredOcean wrote: »
    @isamu‌ if you have a feature you want in Fightcade, you should try contacting the dev on Twitter, but he also has an SRK account! His name on both SRK and Twitter is @pof (https://twitter.com/pof)

    Thanks for the suggestion but I'm not on Twitter.
    Dungeon Fighter Online, Elsword, Dragon's Crown, Streets of Rage Remake, Open BOR...it's great to be an old school Beat'em Up fan in 2014 :)
  • SaitsuSaitsu Tranquilo...ASSENAYO! Joined: Posts: 34,107
    I'm struggling to get this to work myself. I always find a way to make things harder than they need to be.
    PSN: Saitsuofleaves SF5 Tag: Saitsu  Baby Steps to Giant Strides
    FC: 0490-4604-8179 
    Street Fighter 5: Vega
  • marcus32Xmarcus32X twitter @marcus32x Joined: Posts: 55
    duckcanoe wrote: »
    Why is there no CvS2 online yet =[

    They have SvC Chaos FFS

    That's because SvC runs on MVS hardware, and CVS2 was on NAOMI\PS2 etc.

    There is a way to play using PCSX2 however.
  • alien nose job.alien nose job. Joined: Posts: 88
    edited December 2014
    IglooBob wrote: »
    I've been playing GGPO more lately. I know this is beating a dead horse but I cannot play functionally on that emulator (fba). I don't know how any ggpo player manages to anti air anything (or maybe they don't which is why a lot of the players jump in all day?).

    I think abandoning FBA in favor of shmupmame would be the best possible option for online 3s. If they could combine ggpo netcode with Shmupmame it would be a best case scenario - clearly better than FBA and OE both.

    So while I'm not too interested in fightcade at the moment, if they switched to Shmupmame they would have my immediate attention.

    Agreed, I can't play FBA anymore.

    According to papasi on the "Shmupmame - ST" thread, the problem is it seems the guy behind Shmupmame didn't release his sources and doesn't reply to people trying to reach him.
    So I doubt anyone can implement something in it, right ?
    Or maybe things have changed now...

    As for Groovymame, the guy seemed highly responsive to people's demands and trying his best to improve, but the thing is it's mainly for CRTs, using win XP °___° , and a hassle to setup.

    Months ago, I came accros a post by Telesniper which claimed to have a great time using this... actually, I wonder if it's not the closest to arcade you can get if you own a CRT as it will perfectly adjust the emulator's speed to the exact refresh rate you should have. As far as I know, it's the only emu that allows this.
    Plus it generates real scanlines on CRT without using any ectra filter.
    Damn.
    You would still have a small lag with USB, but apparently it could be fixed in mame.
  • wuziqwuziq keyboard Joined: Posts: 484
    RVN wrote: »
    This uses the exact same emulator as GGPO? So every update will just be cosmetic... right?
    Dander wrote: »
    Well it doesn't play like a clone of ggpo and I've even heard say that the netcode has been slightly improved. So there's that.

    same emulator and netcode. chat client is pyqtggpo.

    server, however, is different; and depending on how it compares to the official ggpo.net server, it could coordinate games better during peak hours. i think the p2p aspect (i.e., during gameplay) is the same. would be nice for @pof‌ to verify :)

    there's also automatic replay saving.
    PSN: wuziq
  • DanderDander BANNED Joined: Posts: 7,227
    edited December 2014
    I don't know man. Maybe the netcode bit was just louis being funny again. But maybe the server change is enough to make a difference. I say this not from some technical point of view but because it had a noticeable decline in input drops, meaning none and they were even on time, and it doesn't roll back. I'm not saying it isn't ggpo, it is, but there is something different about it. Even the commentator in the background, that guy that says things like "let's go" after you mess up a parry or something, doesn't pop on every 3 seconds and he doesn't say stupid shit that doesn't fit the situation.

    It's funny that no one has ever acknowledged hearing that commentator. It's probably the one thing I think 3s could do without. Useless unless you can play with someone that is on point with all of their parries.
    8tROOXi.png
  • AlexisdabombAlexisdabomb Joined: Posts: 2,528
    @POF I have to politely disagree. FightCade and GGPO do feel different. I can parry and react to things much more on FightCade than GGPO. I've also had fewer dropped inputs.
    "I wish someone would flex in front of the camera and say I'm awesome....

    ;_; "

    Dander.
  • RVNRVN Joined: Posts: 46
    Hey pof, thank you for your clarification. Cheers.
    Hilarious wiki on louiscipher aka Alexisdabomb
    http://ggpo.wikidot.com/louiscipher


    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    -Alexisdabomb: I think I've played enough dudes in general that I can say I'm decent
    -Harmonaz: i just want to know why YOU are so upset whenever you are here
    -Harmonaz: criticising how ppl play
    -Alexisdabomb: I'm more annoyed at the level of play and the trolling
    -Harmonaz: when, arguably, you are an absolute nobody when it comes to making judgements on how to play 3s
    -Harmonaz: posting more than anyone on srk does not make u a good player
    -Alexisdabomb: But I think I have enough experience when I can point out when a dude uses gimmicks...

  • CUTWESTCUTWEST There is no rivalry. =( Joined: Posts: 1,742
    Fightcade is hella superior.
  • RVNRVN Joined: Posts: 46
    @POF I have to politely disagree. FightCade and GGPO do feel different. I can parry and react to things much more on FightCade than GGPO. I've also had fewer dropped inputs.

    You're seriously going to dispute the guy that put the thing together when he tells you it's exactly the same?
    Ignore the guy and save yourself the nightmare. Or see my signature link to see why he's like this.
    Hilarious wiki on louiscipher aka Alexisdabomb
    http://ggpo.wikidot.com/louiscipher


    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    -Alexisdabomb: I think I've played enough dudes in general that I can say I'm decent
    -Harmonaz: i just want to know why YOU are so upset whenever you are here
    -Harmonaz: criticising how ppl play
    -Alexisdabomb: I'm more annoyed at the level of play and the trolling
    -Harmonaz: when, arguably, you are an absolute nobody when it comes to making judgements on how to play 3s
    -Harmonaz: posting more than anyone on srk does not make u a good player
    -Alexisdabomb: But I think I have enough experience when I can point out when a dude uses gimmicks...

  • BurnYourEgoBurnYourEgo Ishikawa don't care about your weeabullshit avatar. Joined: Posts: 1,995
    RVN wrote: »
    @POF I have to politely disagree. FightCade and GGPO do feel different. I can parry and react to things much more on FightCade than GGPO. I've also had fewer dropped inputs.

    You're seriously going to dispute the guy that put the thing together when he tells you it's exactly the same?
    Ignore the guy and save yourself the nightmare. Or see my signature link to see why he's like this.

    Ha yeah, I read your signature like 2 seconds after I made that post. I feel sorry for this pof guy. I'm glad he's kind this stuff up and running and am tweaking my set-up to play on it myself, but having Alexisdabomb as an avocate it'll do more harm than good.

    I think Alex even dropped 2 spots on the tier list as a direct result of Alexisdabomb playing him.
    Steam: BurnYourEgo: Terribly playing KOFXIII and Xrd, want to learn Skullgirls
    Fightcade:Bathtub_Leviathan: ST, maybe 3s
  • wuziqwuziq keyboard Joined: Posts: 484
    pof wrote: »
    Hey guys.... just jumping in quick to clarify a few things:

    cool thanks!

    btw what machine is running the fightcade server?
    PSN: wuziq
  • fantochefantoche Joined: Posts: 3
    I played I think 30 matches yesterday on fightcade because ggpo was down. I left fightcade with my arms sore lol ( I'm playing online with a homemade Sanwa arcade stick) Never felt this on ggpo. A lot of moves heavy to perform. At a first impression I thought it was only in my side but other players was complaining about that as well.
    Animation and pixelization was so strange at first, I felt a few missing frames and just after tweaking some video settings I had better results but not 1:1 with GGPO
    Of course the client is better than GGPO client. A lot of rooms for new games = no more need to messing with unsupported games and lose countless minutes trying to explain someone how to setup a unsupported game, The interface is slick although I miss a big challenge button lol. ahh and the replay feature needs no comments, it's the best feature there.
«1345
Sign In or Register to comment.