Absolute Question and Answer Thread v.3 (ASK YOUR QUESTIONS HERE!)

24567174

Comments

  • PresidentCamachoPresidentCamacho Dwayne Elizondo Mountain Dew Herbert Camacho Joined: Posts: 3,455
    It's here, you have to scroll the On page menu down to find it: http://www.akishop-customs.com/PS360Plus.html
    Play Crimzon Clover, or go to hell.
  • NakiNaki 「謎のバイカー」 Joined: Posts: 448
    Assuming that the Atrox board is common ground, would this be the appropriate way to try and hook up an MCC + IMPv2 to it?
    i.imgur.com/igAN1Gn.png
    like this post if you want cfe released on psn/xbla
    cvs2 too
  • DarksakulDarksakul Your lack of faith disturbs me Joined: Posts: 23,791
    Yes the Atrox is Common ground.
    “Strong people don't put others down... They lift them up.”
    - Darth Vader, Philanthropist
  • NakiNaki 「謎のバイカー」 Joined: Posts: 448
    So hooking up the MCC+IMPv2 like that to the Atrox should work, right? Is there anything special to be aware of regarding the existing USB port on the Atrox if I plan on using an ethernet coupler from the IMPv2 board or can I just ignore the Atrox USB port?
    like this post if you want cfe released on psn/xbla
    cvs2 too
  • DarksakulDarksakul Your lack of faith disturbs me Joined: Posts: 23,791
    edited November 2014
    That I can't tell you, the experience I had was on the Beta version of the Atrox not the final retail version.
    They did made some changes from the Beta and the Final version of the stick.

    I am hoping someone else on the community chimes in, as I don't want to lead you astray.

    You can read though http://forums.shoryuken.com/discussion/145828/the-razer-arcade-stick-thread for more info
    “Strong people don't put others down... They lift them up.”
    - Darth Vader, Philanthropist
  • Prototype909Prototype909 Joined: Posts: 41
    Figured I'd post here before going ahead and making my own thread, please advise if a thread is necessary.

    Around 3-4 years ago now I purchased a custom stick w/ RJ-45 and MC Cthulhu support for Xbox360/Ps3 support. By default the stick would register as a 360 stick when plugged in and to switch to "Ps3 mode" I was supposed to hold the HOME button on the stick prior to plugging the USB end of the cable into the console. The problem: the non-360 part never worked -except- for one instance in which I was able to get it working for a period of a few hours on my Ps3 after which I was never able to replicate the feat (Went to bed, turned the console off and nada the next day). After sending it back to the individual who made the stick three separate times (And receiving about five new USB/RJ-45 cables over the course of those three shipments) the guy swore that it still worked on his Ps3. After 3-4 years of on and off still vainly trying to get this thing to work properly I am a bit skeptical that user error is the issue but I guess nothing can be ruled out and I am not above trying yet again.

    I no longer have an Xbox360 to test the stick on so my efforts have all since gone to trying to get it to work on my Ps3. When I plug the stick in to my Ps3 after holding the HOME button I can see what appear to be lights beneath the top of the stick flashing (Beneath the buttons), but nothing else that gives me any indication of what might be wrong. If someone could give me some guidance or troubleshooting advice I'd appreciate it (Or if more information is necessary to diagnose let me know).
  • PresidentCamachoPresidentCamacho Dwayne Elizondo Mountain Dew Herbert Camacho Joined: Posts: 3,455
    I would try a dual pole, dual throw switch rather than the imp board to see if that's where the problem is. That said, if you're not concerned with 360 support at this point, you could just bypass the 360 board altogether and hook up the cthulhu directly. If it still doesn't work after that, there's an issue with the cthulhu.
    Play Crimzon Clover, or go to hell.
  • Prototype909Prototype909 Joined: Posts: 41
    edited November 2014
    Update to the above -

    Flashing from within the stick is coming from what I assume is where the 360 Pad/Stick LEDs are located normally, so it doesn't appear to be anything troubleshooting related (At least to my knowledge). Even after downloading the Wired 360 Controller drivers for my PC and testing it on that stick displays as USB Device Unrecognized, holding down HOME before plugging the stick in also displays as USB Device Unrecognized.

    To summarize -

    Stick is by default in a "Xbox 360" state. Holding down HOME is supposed to switch it to "MC Cthulhu Ps3/Ps2" state
    Windows 7 PC does not seem to recognize either state (Assuming they are even properly switching as they are meant to) as a valid USB device when plugged in, even after installing 360 Controller Drivers on the computer.
    I no longer have a 360 to test it on, but while I still I did it worked fine on that.
    Attempts to get the stick to work on my Ps3 have proven unsuccessful over the course of the few years I've owned the stick, though at once point on a Windows XP PC both the 360 Fightpad and MC Cthulhu states were read properly

    I don't have any current/self-taken pictures of the inner workings/wiring of my stick, so the best I can do is a photo taken by the creator after it was made just to show what the lay-out is - however I myself am not knowledgeable in regards to wiring. http://i.imgur.com/Q9kwxBW.jpg

    I no longer care about multi-console/360 support, ideally I just want to be able to plug into my Ps3 and have a working Ps3 stick without having to abandon my stick case. Everything else can go if needed.
  • FrankCastleAZFrankCastleAZ SRKTT Modder of the Year 2014 & AZHP Gaming Founder Joined: Posts: 910
    Blah

    Pics requested
    SRK Tech Talk Modder of the Year 2014 - Best retail sticks of all time = Onyx/Pearl, TE1, Dragon, VLX
    AZHP Gaming - Providing casual and tournament video gaming services at events and conventions since 2006
    Paradise Arcade Shop <-- Buy all of your arcade parts from here
    Eightarc <-- Buy all of your arcade sticks from here (Code AZFGC2015 for $10 off $50+ or AZHPGAMING for $15 off $100+)
  • PresidentCamachoPresidentCamacho Dwayne Elizondo Mountain Dew Herbert Camacho Joined: Posts: 3,455
    edited November 2014
    Flagging "WTF" when people try to help you won't get you too far here. Open up the case and plug the Cthulhu directly into the PS3 using a a USB a to B cable (make sure to unplug the RJ45 cable from your ps3 or pc first, plug both in and things will be fried). If it works , you can simply replace the Rj45 jack with a USB jack, leaving the RJ45 cable disconnected.
    Play Crimzon Clover, or go to hell.
  • Prototype909Prototype909 Joined: Posts: 41
    edited November 2014
    Flagging "WTF" when people try to help you won't get you too far here. Open up the case and plug the Cthulhu directly into the PS3 using a a USB a to B cable (make sure to unplug the RJ45 cable from your ps3 or pc first, plug both in and things will be fried). If it works , you can simply replace the Rj45 jack with a USB jack, leaving the RJ45 cable disconnected.

    I'm not the one who flagged anything (Unless it was done as a misclick), will update with pics + the results of this when I have the opportunity.
  • PresidentCamachoPresidentCamacho Dwayne Elizondo Mountain Dew Herbert Camacho Joined: Posts: 3,455
    Eh, it happens easily on phones.
    Play Crimzon Clover, or go to hell.
  • Prototype909Prototype909 Joined: Posts: 41
    Ok, figured I'd post pictures before I proceeded in taking anything apart and making a big mess

    http://imgur.com/a/LUGyC

    Based on what I'm seeing (In the first picture) the receiver where I'd normally place the other end of the USB A to B cable into is positioned to be facing part of the case itself with basically no room in-between, the only way to plug anything into is is going to be unscrewing the Cthulhu entirely before I can plug it in does this seem correct?
  • FrankCastleAZFrankCastleAZ SRKTT Modder of the Year 2014 & AZHP Gaming Founder Joined: Posts: 910
    edited November 2014
    You know that you're supposed to hold down home WHILE you are plugging it in right? You mentioned holding it down before plugging it in, dunno if that was just a different choice of words.

    Do you have a multimeter to test the wire connections? First thing I thought of was perhaps the Home buttons of the PCBs aren't connected properly to the imp or to the button or the microswitch of the home button is going out so it's not working. That doesn't explain why it would show up as an "Unrecognized USB device" though.

    Both of those PCBs should work fine with a PC. You'll usually get an "Unrecognized USB device" if the D+ Green and D- White wires of the connection are mixed up. Considering you're using an RJ45 to USB connection, it could mean that one or both of the signal (D+ and D-) wires on the network jack side weren't crimped properly and isn't transmitting when plugged into the jack

    When you plug it in to any USB source does the LEDs for the 360 board light up?

    Have you verified that the wires going into the screw terminals on the Cthulhu are all solid and aren't coming out or loose?

    Having a multimeter means you can check the ground is flowing thru both boards, that the voltage is powering both boards, that there is no signal loss from any of the 4 wires from USB (Ground Voltage D+ D-) from one point to another, you can check the RJ45 to USB cable is correctly crimped. etc etc etc. If you have a multimeter, you can literally continuity test every point from one step to another to narrow down the potential issues.

    Also, whomever padhacked that fightpad/brawlpad shouldn't be putting glue on top of his solder points, but glue on the wire next to the solder points, this allows someone not only to make corrections on the solder point if necessary without tearing the glue off and risking lifting a trace, but also prevents the wire from being lifted up.

    I'm all for you potentially fixing your own issue here, but if you don't have the tools to do anything about it, I'd just suggest taking it to another modder.
    SRK Tech Talk Modder of the Year 2014 - Best retail sticks of all time = Onyx/Pearl, TE1, Dragon, VLX
    AZHP Gaming - Providing casual and tournament video gaming services at events and conventions since 2006
    Paradise Arcade Shop <-- Buy all of your arcade parts from here
    Eightarc <-- Buy all of your arcade sticks from here (Code AZFGC2015 for $10 off $50+ or AZHPGAMING for $15 off $100+)
  • PresidentCamachoPresidentCamacho Dwayne Elizondo Mountain Dew Herbert Camacho Joined: Posts: 3,455
    Yeah, you'll have to unscrew it. Put something non conductive between it and the imp board to prevent contact while you've got it loose.
    Play Crimzon Clover, or go to hell.
  • Prototype909Prototype909 Joined: Posts: 41
    edited November 2014
    You know that you're supposed to hold down home WHILE you are plugging it in right? You mentioned holding it down before plugging it in, dunno if that was just a different choice of words.

    Do you have a multimeter to test the wire connections? First thing I thought of was perhaps the Home buttons of the PCBs aren't connected properly to the imp or to the button or the microswitch of the home button is going out so it's not working. That doesn't explain why it would show up as an "Unrecognized USB device" though.

    Both of those PCBs should work fine with a PC. You'll usually get an "Unrecognized USB device" if the D+ Green and D- White wires of the connection are mixed up. Considering you're using an RJ45 to USB connection, it could mean that one or both of the signal (D+ and D-) wires on the network jack side weren't crimped properly and isn't transmitting when plugged into the jack

    When you plug it in to any USB source does the LEDs for the 360 board light up?

    Have you verified that the wires going into the screw terminals on the Cthulhu are all solid and aren't coming out or loose?

    LEDs for the 360 board do light up upon plugging it into any USB source, they flash upon being plugged in and then stop or go out for lack of a better term. If they are supposed to be continuously lit after being plugged in then that is not the case.

    And yes, I know that I'm supposed to hold down home while plugging it in.
  • everythingWasBeeseverythingWasBees Full of questions Joined: Posts: 159
    Are there buttons that'd match the color of the characters on the dualshock buttons? Or is that something I'd have to pull off with paint. Preferably Sanwa, but Seimitsu work as well.
  • AmerikaAmerika Something witty here. Joined: Posts: 418
    edited November 2014
    Are there buttons that'd match the color of the characters on the dualshock buttons? Or is that something I'd have to pull off with paint. Preferably Sanwa, but Seimitsu work as well.

    You can order buttons that are approximately the same colors. Or you could order buttons that allows you to put artwork under the cap and then you can make them actually look like bigger versions of the buttons on the dualshock controller. Paradise Arcade, Focus Attack and other shops allow you to purchase individual buttons.
  • everythingWasBeeseverythingWasBees Full of questions Joined: Posts: 159
    edited December 2014
    e: nevermind, question was answered in prior post on second look, and through a bit of research on my own part. Thank you so much for your help @Amerika!
    Post edited by everythingWasBees on
  • appomoappomo uupps Joined: Posts: 4,568
    edited November 2014
    hello guys,
    i consider to build myself a hitbox in the near future and i have a qestion about buttons.

    right now i think about the sanwa obsfs (wrong size in the link)
    http://www.arcadeshop.de/Sanwa-Buttons-Sanwa-OBSFS-30-schwarz_1128.html

    since they are not as loud as the usuall ones but i read somewhere...probably here, that there are some kind of
    microswitch buttons which durability should be much better but i havent seen them so far.


    which buttons would you recommend for a hitbox?
    for the case that there is a option without soldering i would prefer them as long as they are good.

  • EpiEpi Joined: Posts: 348
    appomo wrote: »
    hello guys,
    i consider to build myself a hitbox in the near future and i have a qestion about buttons.

    right now i think about the sanwa obsfs (wrong size in the link)
    http://www.arcadeshop.de/Sanwa-Buttons-Sanwa-OBSFS-30-schwarz_1128.html

    since they are not as loud as the usuall ones but i read somewhere...probably here, that there are some kind of
    microswitch buttons which durability should be much better but i havent seen them so far.


    which buttons would you recommend for a hitbox?
    for the case that there is a option without soldering i would prefer them as long as they are good.

    I myself prefer the Seimitsu 24 mm buttons for the hitbox - PS14-DNK

    Example: http://www.focusattack.com/seimitsu-ps14-d-n-k-24mm-screw-button-purple/

    More because they have those locking screws than anything else. Options for not-soldering the buttons...? I'm assuming you want to wire the buttons to the PCB without using solder - I prefer using quick disconnects.

    Example: http://www.focusattack.com/philmore-187-non-insulated-quick-disconnect-terminal/
    Blazblue Chronophantasma Extend: Arakune
    Guilty Gear Xrd - Sign - : Leo=Whitefang, I-No
    Link to my sticks: http://forums.nrvnqsr.com/showthread.php/5364-Challenging-the-Concept-of-Arcade-Sticks
  • Prototype909Prototype909 Joined: Posts: 41
    Open up the case and plug the Cthulhu directly into the PS3 using a a USB a to B cable (make sure to unplug the RJ45 cable from your ps3 or pc first, plug both in and things will be fried). If it works , you can simply replace the Rj45 jack with a USB jack, leaving the RJ45 cable disconnected.

    Ok, picked up a USB A to B cable plugged it directly into a Cthulhu and plugged into both my PC and Ps3, and there's no response. I don't even get an unrecognized USB message when I plug it into the PC through the A to B cable (Whereas I did get one when I plugged it in through the RJ45 which defaults to the 360 controller), though it's still receiving power.

    I guess this means it's the Cthulhu which is dead.
  • PresidentCamachoPresidentCamacho Dwayne Elizondo Mountain Dew Herbert Camacho Joined: Posts: 3,455
    I would guess that's the case without being able to poke around in there myself. You could disconnect the cthulhu altogether as one last test (should have worked with the test you did), but that would require de-soldering, which I'm guessing is beyond your scope based on the information you've given so far. The easiest solution at this point would be to use a zero delay ps2/ps3/pc encoder (get the .110" connector version), which will run you $20. It's plug and play with the exception of possibly having to re-arrange the 5 pin (which won't take soldering either).
    Play Crimzon Clover, or go to hell.
  • PresidentCamachoPresidentCamacho Dwayne Elizondo Mountain Dew Herbert Camacho Joined: Posts: 3,455
    Also worth adding that you could sell the hacked 360 pad with that imp board and recoup some of your losses.

    Here's the encoder I mentioned: http://www.ebay.com/itm/100-ZD-USB-Encoder-PC-PS2-PS3-to-Joystick-for-MAME-Arcade-Fight-Stick-Control-/171182655665?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item27db4808b1

    The downside of that option would be that you wouldn't be able to use your pass through without doing some modification to the cable or adding a cable- nothing tough, but it might be intimidating to someone unfamiliar with stick mods and wiring. If you wanted to keep the RJ45 pass through, you could solder a 1' cat5 cable to the USB pins (following the correct cat5 configuration for ground, voltage, data+, and data-, of course) and leave the included cable out altogether (which will likely be way too long to fit in the case, unless you've got plenty of vertical clearance). If you can make the included cable fit inside, you would need to swap the pass through for a USB jack.

    All this said, replacing the Cthulhu is obviously also an option. You could do a "fresh install" and keep it solderless (would also require a USB pass through). Personally, I would use the ZD in this case, as it's cheaper and comes with all the wiring (not to mention as easy as it gets to install for someone new).
    Play Crimzon Clover, or go to hell.
  • YenjoiYenjoi Joined: Posts: 556
    edited December 2014
    Any chance you guys know what kind of screw goes on the metal plate of the jotstick on the etokki omni rev3? Just received this etokki omni case and the screws from an older TE do no properly secret the joystick in it or what size is the screw
  • RufusRufus An unexpected database error has occurred. Joined: Posts: 1,966
    Have there been any fightsticks that work by being pressure sensitive rather than position sensitive? That is to say, fightsticks where the stick moves very little in response to pressure.
    Hitboxes http://www.pedantic.org/~nate/HDR/
    "You don't know what you're talking about as much as I do." -- Unknown
  • RufusRufus An unexpected database error has occurred. Joined: Posts: 1,966
    Yenjoi wrote: »
    Any chance you guys know what kind of screw goes on the metal plate of the jotstick on the etokki omni rev3? Just received this etokki omni case and the screws from an older TE do no properly secret the joystick in it or what size is the screw

    An easy way to address issues like this is to take the stick or a sample screw to a hardware store. Threaded screwholes in that stick are likely to be metric.
    Hitboxes http://www.pedantic.org/~nate/HDR/
    "You don't know what you're talking about as much as I do." -- Unknown
  • CoffeejuiceCoffeejuice Joined: Posts: 401
    you mean like analog joysticks? they're working with one in the smash controller thread http://forums.shoryuken.com/discussion/comment/9947215#Comment_9947215. there are some arcade games that use analog joysticks also but just about every fighting game i know is designed for digital joystick inputs.
  • DarksakulDarksakul Your lack of faith disturbs me Joined: Posts: 23,791
    you mean like analog joysticks? they're working with one in the smash controller thread http://forums.shoryuken.com/discussion/comment/9947215#Comment_9947215. there are some arcade games that use analog joysticks also but just about every fighting game i know is designed for digital joystick inputs.

    Most arcade games that use analog are later model Flight Sims or Driving titles.
    There no actual fighting game that uses Analog. And I disagree with the whole Smash bros Argument and Analog.
    “Strong people don't put others down... They lift them up.”
    - Darth Vader, Philanthropist
  • samtruong200samtruong200 Joined: Posts: 71
    Since the Madcatz SF x T fightpad for xbox 360 seem scarce, what is another pad that is good to use for dualmodding my Round 1 PS3 TE stick? Sorry if this has been answered multiple times/wrong thread.
  • PresidentCamachoPresidentCamacho Dwayne Elizondo Mountain Dew Herbert Camacho Joined: Posts: 3,455
    Mad catz brawlpad. If you can't get a mad catz fight/brawl pad, get a mad catz 4716 controller (getting the triggers to work properly will require hex inverters, though you could keep it easy and go 6 button). Rock candy pads seem popular here as of late (cheap and common ground), but I can't personally attest to using one.
    Play Crimzon Clover, or go to hell.
  • PresidentCamachoPresidentCamacho Dwayne Elizondo Mountain Dew Herbert Camacho Joined: Posts: 3,455
    Sweet, didn't know you could skip the inverters on those.
    Play Crimzon Clover, or go to hell.
  • Lemony VengeanceLemony Vengeance JAMMA pad hacker Extraordinaire Joined: Posts: 463
    I guess this means it's the Cthulhu which is dead.

    You may be able to revive it by buying a replacement IC from toodles. I've had to replace the IC once or twice due to some issues I've encountered and that cleared them up. they're listed as the "MC Cthulhu Upgrade Kit" You'll only need the IC.
    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL!
    Santa Hatz 4 lyfe!
    Ask me about my Consolized Naomi!
  • samtruong200samtruong200 Joined: Posts: 71
    Since the Madcatz SF x T fightpad for xbox 360 seem scarce, what is another pad that is good to use for dualmodding my Round 1 PS3 TE stick? Sorry if this has been answered multiple times/wrong thread.

    The 360 Rock Candy controllers are $20 each at Toys R Us, are common ground, and easy to padhack. No trigger inversion needed. Price match if needed, as it's $25 everywhere else.

    360ps3imp1200.jpg
    CLICK HERE for full size

    Awesome, what pcb is that on the right?

  • DarksakulDarksakul Your lack of faith disturbs me Joined: Posts: 23,791
    The pcb are in this order
    xbox 360, v 2 imp and a cthlhu
    “Strong people don't put others down... They lift them up.”
    - Darth Vader, Philanthropist
  • NakiNaki 「謎のバイカー」 Joined: Posts: 448
    What's a fairly inexpensive soldering iron? I had a weller 25w and it just died on me in the middle of a project. I'm also looking for something with a smaller tip as well.
    like this post if you want cfe released on psn/xbla
    cvs2 too
  • DarksakulDarksakul Your lack of faith disturbs me Joined: Posts: 23,791
    Naki wrote: »
    What's a fairly inexpensive soldering iron? I had a weller 25w and it just died on me in the middle of a project. I'm also looking for something with a smaller tip as well.
    I was going to recommend the soldering iron you had died
    “Strong people don't put others down... They lift them up.”
    - Darth Vader, Philanthropist
  • CoffeejuiceCoffeejuice Joined: Posts: 401
    i've been keeping a 5 dollar 30w iron from walmart for about two years now. the tips wear away with extensive use but i find cheap replacements on amazon or ebay. i have to use a fresh tip for the projects that require more precision but it works well most of the time.
  • manbehindthewiresmanbehindthewires Consider yourself lightly, consider the world deeply Joined: Posts: 947

    Also, whomever padhacked that fightpad/brawlpad shouldn't be putting glue on top of his solder points, but glue on the wire next to the solder points, this allows someone not only to make corrections on the solder point if necessary without tearing the glue off and risking lifting a trace, but also prevents the wire from being lifted up.

    I use clear RTV (Dow Corning 732) instead of glue. Can cover the whole board if you want and it'll peel off without causing any damage whatsoever.

    Still holds well enough under fightstick levels of stress, although arguably its not as strong as glue.
    SFV: Chun Li [CFN: thewires / manbehindthewires]
    Third Strike: Alex/Ibuki [Fightcade: MBTW]
    Here to learn.
Sign In or Register to comment.