USF4 On PS4

11112141617

Comments

  • Mr__CHUCKLESMr__CHUCKLES Joined: Posts: 239
    Bunkei wrote: »
    You peoples must hate me then. I'm always on WiFi .the modem not in my room.

    hate is such a strong word .. perhaps "strongly detest"? Naw, but seriously, if it works for you that's fine. But for more serious players, it's a deal-breaker esp. on ranked.

    I do agree wired over WiFi is better.but I tested both .I didn't see a huge difference in it. But when I can I do tend to go to wired over WiFi. Even when the other person has full green bars I'll get some lag on my wired connection
  • d3vd3v Coughing DAT PINK SPIT Joined: Posts: 36,689 mod
    Rice_Eater wrote: »
    That is a very good question, where does this game stand now since its patch updates & will anybody be using this port to host tournaments?

    FV Cup is the first CPT event that will be using PS4.



    It's a ranking event in Malaysia and takes place two weeks after EVO. It's on the same weekend as another ranking event in the UK. I think the PS4 version is great now so I expect more tournaments to follow suit after FV Cup. I expect every Premier event after EVO to also be on PS4 because it's good enough now that I think Capcom will go back to mandating it.
    Manila Cup, another CPT event which I'm running will also be using PS4.

    Decision was made after asking players at SEAM for their preference. Apparently, they'd rather deal with small visual glitches as long as they don't have to deal with PS3 input delay.

    You can't ask for well-thought-out changes off day 1, week 1, or mostly even month 1 play...and that's when the game is out and everyone's in the lab.
    -Mike_Z

    If there's anything we do best, it's breaking games and then making everyone suffer with all the cheapness.
    -PersiaXO
  • chadouken!chadouken! less < more Joined: Posts: 5,075
    Wargame wrote: »
    I appricate this is a silly question but I am thinking of getting rid of my 360 and getting a PS4, I only really play Street Fighter so just getting ready for V, can a Xbox 360 TE stick work on the PS4? I don't mind shelling out for the console, might trade in my 360 to part fund it but having to buy a stick as well makes the whole thing rather costly.

    I have seen mention of a Titan convertor, anyone have any experience with this?

    Just rip the Madcatz PCB out and replace it with a PS360+. I can confirm that they work fine with the PS4.
    po pimpus wrote: »
    Yes, I'm still pissed. Yes, go fuck yourself Darkfaggotasshole.
  • ShockBeastShockBeast @ShockBeast on Twitch + PSN & @ShockBeast_ on Twitter Joined: Posts: 105
    Wired or Wifi, u knw ur boy got love for u ......... Hey Chuck, dude I never noticed, I had some of the best connections with u on PS3 Sets we ran, mabe it's a PS4 thing, idk.........Regardless, Won't matter on Sunday, We'll be Offline Anyways, lol!! C U then!!
    You peoples must hate me then. I'm always on WiFi .the modem not in my room.
    FG's are like RPG's. You Level-Up & Eventually Fight the Final Boss except...........you level-up in the Lab & Your Final Boss is a Real Person!!
    Shock
  • MegasizerMegasizer Joined: Posts: 147
    chadouken! wrote: »
    Wargame wrote: »
    I appricate this is a silly question but I am thinking of getting rid of my 360 and getting a PS4, I only really play Street Fighter so just getting ready for V, can a Xbox 360 TE stick work on the PS4? I don't mind shelling out for the console, might trade in my 360 to part fund it but having to buy a stick as well makes the whole thing rather costly.

    I have seen mention of a Titan convertor, anyone have any experience with this?

    Just rip the Madcatz PCB out and replace it with a PS360+. I can confirm that they work fine with the PS4.

    Isn't there an 8 minute time out?
    SFV - no main.

    MAYFLASH V2 User
  • merkyofayceMFmerkyofayceMF KING OF THE ANTI-CLUTCH GENE Joined: Posts: 97
    Megasizer wrote: »
    chadouken! wrote: »
    Wargame wrote: »
    I appricate this is a silly question but I am thinking of getting rid of my 360 and getting a PS4, I only really play Street Fighter so just getting ready for V, can a Xbox 360 TE stick work on the PS4? I don't mind shelling out for the console, might trade in my 360 to part fund it but having to buy a stick as well makes the whole thing rather costly.

    I have seen mention of a Titan convertor, anyone have any experience with this?

    Just rip the Madcatz PCB out and replace it with a PS360+. I can confirm that they work fine with the PS4.

    Isn't there an 8 minute time out?
    .
    Yeah, but it it's quite a bit cheaper than any other out of the box stick option. You either gotta deal with the timeout (and hard reset) or pony up. You can have a modder add that support to your current stick for right about the price of a RAP4 Kai. Converters are ass and burn up your USB drives. Then there's the project box setup with undamned USB converter + PS4 pad which might be the most cost efficient method of PS4 support I just rattled off.
    DBAC is the code I live by

    XBL - merkyofayceMF
    PSN - ever_so_black

    one pump chump so I only play ultra for the moment.
  • iBryaniBryan Joined: Posts: 191
    edited July 2015
    I honestly will only play a match if I see green bars. Even then, I'll get lag some of the time. The netcode could be a lot better, expecting people to not use Wi-Fi is a bit silly don't you think?
    Post edited by iBryan on
    PSN: BonafydeSkillz
    USFIV: Vega
    SFV Beta: Vega, M. Bison
    Youtube: Search "BonafydeSkillz (Vega)"
  • Missing PersonMissing Person Righto. Joined: Posts: 13,811
    I don't recall any visual glitches. I played the PS4 version in a tournament last weekend in Seoul and I think it's fine now. Evo can't flip flop anymore but I don't see why it can't be the tourney standard now.
    XBL: WatCnBrwnDo4U | PSN: LanierIsPlusEV/FORpowerfulGame | CFN: MissingPerson/YddeDdeDe GGPO/FightCade: Missing Person | Steam: [TAS] Missing Person | Battle.net: MissingPersn#1365
    Twitter: JTMMissingPersn | Instagram: jtmmissingperson | Twitch: twitch.tv/missingpersonsrk
  • chadouken!chadouken! less < more Joined: Posts: 5,075
    Megasizer wrote: »
    chadouken! wrote: »
    Wargame wrote: »
    I appricate this is a silly question but I am thinking of getting rid of my 360 and getting a PS4, I only really play Street Fighter so just getting ready for V, can a Xbox 360 TE stick work on the PS4? I don't mind shelling out for the console, might trade in my 360 to part fund it but having to buy a stick as well makes the whole thing rather costly.

    I have seen mention of a Titan convertor, anyone have any experience with this?

    Just rip the Madcatz PCB out and replace it with a PS360+. I can confirm that they work fine with the PS4.

    Isn't there an 8 minute time out?

    I haven't had a timeout at all yet. But it does require me to have a PS4 controller on. I've played for over an hour with no issues.
    po pimpus wrote: »
    Yes, I'm still pissed. Yes, go fuck yourself Darkfaggotasshole.
  • merkyofayceMFmerkyofayceMF KING OF THE ANTI-CLUTCH GENE Joined: Posts: 97
    chadouken! wrote: »
    Megasizer wrote: »
    chadouken! wrote: »
    Wargame wrote: »
    I appricate this is a silly question but I am thinking of getting rid of my 360 and getting a PS4, I only really play Street Fighter so just getting ready for V, can a Xbox 360 TE stick work on the PS4? I don't mind shelling out for the console, might trade in my 360 to part fund it but having to buy a stick as well makes the whole thing rather costly.

    I have seen mention of a Titan convertor, anyone have any experience with this?

    Just rip the Madcatz PCB out and replace it with a PS360+. I can confirm that they work fine with the PS4.

    Isn't there an 8 minute time out?

    I haven't had a timeout at all yet. But it does require me to have a PS4 controller on. I've played for over an hour with no issues.
    you can connect your stick without the controller. you'll have to hit 3K and start IIRC to get it working again after 8 minutes. Some games allow for the lab zero driver (that forces ps4 pads to be used) some of them don't, like Guilty Gear.
    DBAC is the code I live by

    XBL - merkyofayceMF
    PSN - ever_so_black

    one pump chump so I only play ultra for the moment.
  • chadouken!chadouken! less < more Joined: Posts: 5,075
    edited July 2015
    Right on. I'm pretty sure SF4 has lab zero. I'm gonna have to eventually just get a PS4 stick though.
    po pimpus wrote: »
    Yes, I'm still pissed. Yes, go fuck yourself Darkfaggotasshole.
  • ProjectjusticeProjectjustice Psycho Denji Joined: Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭✭✭ OG
    The wifi modem in the PS4 is the biggest piece of garbage I've ever seen in a modem device. I highly suggest to not use it for any fighting game.
    Fightcade, Steam and XBL tag: Projectjustice
    PSN: Projectjustice77
  • dfybdfyb Joined: Posts: 368
    Anybody know if the PS4 version's PS3 support works with the Cthulhu PS3 PCB? Not the MC, but the older PS3 version http://www.godlikecontrols.com/download/PS3CthulhuWelcome.pdf

    Thanks
    "defibe"
  • d3vd3v Coughing DAT PINK SPIT Joined: Posts: 36,689 mod
    dfyb wrote: »
    Anybody know if the PS4 version's PS3 support works with the Cthulhu PS3 PCB? Not the MC, but the older PS3 version http://www.godlikecontrols.com/download/PS3CthulhuWelcome.pdf

    Thanks
    Anything that worked on PS3 by virtue of being a generic usb controller will work on PS4 via Lab Zerro's driver.
    You can't ask for well-thought-out changes off day 1, week 1, or mostly even month 1 play...and that's when the game is out and everyone's in the lab.
    -Mike_Z

    If there's anything we do best, it's breaking games and then making everyone suffer with all the cheapness.
    -PersiaXO
  • FrozteyFroztey Break the Cuffs Joined: Posts: 9,360 mod
    edited July 2015
    The port is great now but over here in Europe the playerbase sucks ass. I find SF to be a two-way experience, you have to be around equal skill to get the full effect. I thought PS4 would be full of vets because I wouldn't expect anyone that is new to the series bothering to buy a 6 year old game, I can't get a good ranked match, even the #1s on the leaderboards have sucked ass when I've played them. Looking at you #1 Dudley >.>
    UK Based, SFV - Juri, Kolin
    YouTube
    Twitch
  • Mr__CHUCKLESMr__CHUCKLES Joined: Posts: 239
    ShockBeast wrote: »
    Wired or Wifi, u knw ur boy got love for u ......... Hey Chuck, dude I never noticed, I had some of the best connections with u on PS3 Sets we ran, mabe it's a PS4 thing, idk.........Regardless, Won't matter on Sunday, We'll be Offline Anyways, lol!! C U then!!
    You peoples must hate me then. I'm always on WiFi .the modem not in my room.

    No worries I'm going to upgrade my modem/router pretty soon. To handle the 105mbps Comcast power.
  • robotic elfrobotic elf like in the stories Joined: Posts: 850
    You peoples must hate me then. I'm always on WiFi .the modem not in my room.

    So buy a fucking 60 ft ethernet cable and connect to it anyway? Yeah, they aren't free, but you bought a ps4, you've got the money.

    That's why it pisses people off, it makes everyone's experience worse, just because you're being lazy.
    It's better than the 360 version now.

    Anyone who still rips it at this point is just moaning trying to be hip and cool.

    How is it "better" as a tournament game? Surely it's "no worse"?
    Is SpoonyGosling
    This game glorifies violence. I love it for this reason.
  • Mr__CHUCKLESMr__CHUCKLES Joined: Posts: 239
    Soooo because I own a ps4 that means I am a person of means? Lol
    By that I must be rich for owning a 16yr old car.

  • ac81ac81 Joined: Posts: 22
    edited July 2015
    Is it me, or does anyone else notice the players who have relatively high player/battle points, are the one's who lag the most? High 2000's PP/8000's BP and above.

    Played tons of matches and most of the sub 2000 PP players have fast, stable connections. No lag whatsoever playing them.

    Hop onto a match with a player with high 2000 - 3000PP or high BP and it's a giant slide show. Cannot do anything. But for some reason, the other player doesn't have trouble doing combos on me.

    It's absolute frustration and feels like I'm playing through mud meanwhile, high PP/BP person having no trouble whatsoever.

    WTF? All these high PP/BP players on wifi or something?

    Gotta treasure those PP/BP.
  • saikofartsaikofart ex anorak Joined: Posts: 124
    ac81 wrote: »

    It's absolute frustration and feels like I'm playing through mud meanwhile, high PP/BP person having no trouble whatsoever.

    That's always happening to me. Happened on steam as well though. There's some youtubes of a dj player who does it then invites you to all these stupid groups. I think the in game recorder doesn't pick up lag, like the replays, so they can make themselves seem legit. Just remember their name and never play them again. That's a good thing with psn, they cant change their name without starting over. Who in their right mind enjoys playing like that anyways.
  • johnnytoxicjohnnytoxic Joined: Posts: 26
    Does everyones fightstick have trouble pressing Touchpad in Challenges?
  • ChaozCloudChaozCloud I am the Red Mage Joined: Posts: 2
    Froztey wrote: »
    The port is great now but over here in Europe the playerbase sucks ass. I find SF to be a two-way experience, you have to be around equal skill to get the full effect. I thought PS4 would be full of vets because I wouldn't expect anyone that is new to the series bothering to buy a 6 year old game, I can't get a good ranked match, even the #1s on the leaderboards have sucked ass when I've played them. Looking at you #1 Dudley >.>

    This is indeed true. Even people that are top 20 with their characters are really bad. Fought the #20 Cammy and all she did was random drills from far away and cannon spike when I was close.
    Now I'm not a great player myself after almost 2 years of absence, but seeing some of these players makes me a bit sad :(

    PSN: TheRedMage , only EU players need apply.
    Main: Makoto (USF4 and BB)
    Green bars with central EU and up and yellow bars with the rest.
  • akiramikeakiramike Joined: Posts: 305
    edited July 2015
    I've never seen any green bars when searching for matches (its always grey with no bars) but when people join my game I can see green. Still haven't gotten any lag free games on PS4 though whereas I can get no lag on 360. I've forwarded my ports and I'm using static ip. Can't think of anything else to improve my connection. Any other tips to improve my connection on PS4? I've tried changing MTU. Can't think of anything else besides that I'm using Japan PS Plus in Aust. Anyone else finding PS4 not as good as 360 online?
    hamsapsukebe.blogspot.com - Ramblings of a jobless bum.
  • RX-78-3RX-78-3 Newport News Arcade OG Joined: Posts: 557
    Picked up the port the other day when I got my PS4. So far I haven't found any major issue with it. It seems fully ready to be the new tournament standard.

    Just hope the ports reputation isn't tainted by the bad launch. It seems to be totally legit now.
    :f::d::df:+:p:
  • FeiWrongFeiWrong Joined: Posts: 358
    Just got a PS4 hoping I'd get the SFV beta, which I didn't (and don't really care about since it doesn't even work, lol), but in the mean time I downloaded USF for PS4. So who wanna play? Europeans only, I guess? I currently have no friends on PS4, lool!

    I'm sfOmar on PSN. Or I can add you, I don't mind.
  • saikofartsaikofart ex anorak Joined: Posts: 124
    sfOmar wrote: »
    Just got a PS4 hoping I'd get the SFV beta, which I didn't (and don't really care about since it doesn't even work, lol), but in the mean time I downloaded USF for PS4. So who wanna play? Europeans only, I guess? I currently have no friends on PS4, lool!

    I'm sfOmar on PSN. Or I can add you, I don't mind.

    I'm usually up for a game if I'm on and the connection is decent:

    pavlovianpokes

    Be warned, I'm pretty bad!
  • FeiWrongFeiWrong Joined: Posts: 358
    edited July 2015
    saikofart wrote: »
    sfOmar wrote: »
    Just got a PS4 hoping I'd get the SFV beta, which I didn't (and don't really care about since it doesn't even work, lol), but in the mean time I downloaded USF for PS4. So who wanna play? Europeans only, I guess? I currently have no friends on PS4, lool!

    I'm sfOmar on PSN. Or I can add you, I don't mind.

    I'm usually up for a game if I'm on and the connection is decent:

    pavlovianpokes

    Be warned, I'm pretty bad!

    Cool!

    And you gotta play to be become good :smile:


    Edit: So online is pretty trash? I get way better connections on the 360???
    Post edited by FeiWrong on
  • saikofartsaikofart ex anorak Joined: Posts: 124
    It's mixed. Sometimes they're great connections when they're red, sometimes they're terrible when they're green, but mostly green means good. I just play training room with ranked invites on and leave the lobby if someone red or orange joins. I find that searching for a game through Network multiplayer never gives anyone decent. I blame wifi connections with bog standard routers. You have to get an addon for 360, right? So I guess most people would be wired. Pc is either really good connection with wired desktops or terrible wifi laptops.
  • FatofiFatofi Joined: Posts: 88
    This week i had some slowdown issues even in the training mode, really worried about the next pro tour events.
  • Galactica727Galactica727 Joined: Posts: 75
    The online is still not up to par with the 360 version. Tested it myself with a friend where we switched between versions using the same characters and stage. Both wired. Not impressed. Some sound and graphical effects on ps4 are still off. I wonder if there will be another patch to fix these issues. The netcode being worse than the last gen 360 bothers me.
  • FrankthetankkFrankthetankk Joined: Posts: 27
    Im in europe so i don't know if it differs. But i'm experiencing pretty smooth games online. I usually go for green bars only but yellow bars are usually fine also. I'm getting the same experience i had playing Super on ps3 years ago. Never played it on XBL so i don't know the difference.
    I don't have a clue how to play this character.
  • BunkeiBunkei AlphaISM or bust Joined: Posts: 257
    Unresolved issue: Seth's Ultra 2 misses some hits on block
  • Galactica727Galactica727 Joined: Posts: 75
    edited July 2015
    Yeah, I noticed that too. No way is this the best version. Shoddy online that is still inferior, uneven sound effects where post-KO sounds muted, some moves are buggy like what was mentioned above. I would be surprised if there was no patch leading up to capcom cup.
    Post edited by Galactica727 on
  • BunkeiBunkei AlphaISM or bust Joined: Posts: 257
    Yeah, I noticed that too. No way is this the best version. Shoddy online that is still inferior, uneven sound effects where post-KO sounds muted, some moves are buggy like what was mentioned above. I would be surprised if there were no path leading up to capcom cup.

    The shoddy online is a bit overstated, as a lot of casual players use wireless. I've had several matches with people that I know and they were on par with X360. The remaining issues are easily fixable, and I expect them to be fixed now that it will be the official version for the remaining CPT events. We just need to continue reporting what we find on here as suggested.
  • w00denTEETHw00denTEETH "BLOW A FUSE, you lose" Joined: Posts: 780
    I don't find this version to be any worse online than PC or Xbox. It is much better than PS3.
  • Selfmadeking89Selfmadeking89 Joined: Posts: 136
    Imo the netcode is very good but its weird when the traffic is higher like on weekends or store updates it seems like the lag get worse
  • FeiWrongFeiWrong Joined: Posts: 358
    edited July 2015
    After a couple of days of playing I think I can agree to the fact that the netcode is as good as xbl. It's just too many people with bad connections, and I have a feeling it's because A ) more people use wifi on ps4 than on xbox, and B ) this is stupid, but I have a feeling that many actually stream their gameplay on twitch or ustream – that of course is not good for the connection. People should know better.

    And also psn needs more of the good players :neutral:
  • LightningBSLightningBS Joined: Posts: 269
    sfOmar wrote: »
    And also psn needs more of the good players :neutral:

    Give it a few more months. Players are slowing transitioning as we speak.

  • SpindriveSmasherSpindriveSmasher Joined: Posts: 48
    bought it two days ago much better than ps3.
  • gekkekoegekkekoe Joined: Posts: 42
    edited July 2015
    sfOmar wrote: »
    After a couple of days of playing I think I can agree to the fact that the netcode is as good as xbl. It's just too many people with bad connections, and I have a feeling it's because A ) more people use wifi on ps4 than on xbox, and B ) this is stupid, but I have a feeling that many actually stream their gameplay on twitch or ustream – that of course is not good for the connection. People should know better.

    And also psn needs more of the good players :neutral:

    Agreed, too many wifi players. Whish there was a way to identify them.
    But regarding the streaming part I kinda don't agree, If you have enough bandwidth it should be fine. I have 100mbit up and down and I don't notice more slowdowns while streaming though.

    btw, did I (hugo player) play a set against you yesterday? That bison matchup is really hard.
Sign In or Register to comment.