Madcatz Street Fighter V Fightstick Alpha

123457

Comments

  • PresidentCamachoPresidentCamacho Dwayne Elizondo Mountain Dew Herbert Camacho Joined: Posts: 3,473
    LeoDT wrote: »
    The stick looks and feels completely normal. It's just the down input that is being triggered at all times. I checked to see if the small switch inside the stick was stuck or something, but it isnt. I don't even know why this is happening.

    I tried changing the stick to simulate the left stick, digital pad and right stick and JoyToKey and X360CE keeps accusing that it is holding down, tho switching the buttons it is simulating at the time.

    http://imgur.com/a/jPuo0

    Here, I took a screenshot from JoyToKey and X360CE with the stick simulating LS and DP. The LS shortcut for the keyboard on JoyToKey is disabled because I was trying to play using WASD on the keyboard and the buttons on the stick. I failed miserably haha.

    It could still be an issue with the lever, try disconnecting it like I suggested.
    Play Crimzon Clover, or go to hell.
  • ochenochen Joined: Posts: 13
    Assuming I'm not going to mod mine in any way, is still still worth 2x the Hori Mini 4?
  • LeoDTLeoDT Joined: Posts: 12
    LeoDT wrote: »
    The stick looks and feels completely normal. It's just the down input that is being triggered at all times. I checked to see if the small switch inside the stick was stuck or something, but it isnt. I don't even know why this is happening.

    I tried changing the stick to simulate the left stick, digital pad and right stick and JoyToKey and X360CE keeps accusing that it is holding down, tho switching the buttons it is simulating at the time.

    http://imgur.com/a/jPuo0

    Here, I took a screenshot from JoyToKey and X360CE with the stick simulating LS and DP. The LS shortcut for the keyboard on JoyToKey is disabled because I was trying to play using WASD on the keyboard and the buttons on the stick. I failed miserably haha.

    It could still be an issue with the lever, try disconnecting it like I suggested.

    Just tried it. Disconnected the stick and it still shows up as holding down. :(
  • PresidentCamachoPresidentCamacho Dwayne Elizondo Mountain Dew Herbert Camacho Joined: Posts: 3,473
    LeoDT wrote: »
    LeoDT wrote: »
    The stick looks and feels completely normal. It's just the down input that is being triggered at all times. I checked to see if the small switch inside the stick was stuck or something, but it isnt. I don't even know why this is happening.

    I tried changing the stick to simulate the left stick, digital pad and right stick and JoyToKey and X360CE keeps accusing that it is holding down, tho switching the buttons it is simulating at the time.

    http://imgur.com/a/jPuo0

    Here, I took a screenshot from JoyToKey and X360CE with the stick simulating LS and DP. The LS shortcut for the keyboard on JoyToKey is disabled because I was trying to play using WASD on the keyboard and the buttons on the stick. I failed miserably haha.

    It could still be an issue with the lever, try disconnecting it like I suggested.

    Just tried it. Disconnected the stick and it still shows up as holding down. :(

    Unfortunately, it sounds like your pcb is fucked then.

    Play Crimzon Clover, or go to hell.
  • LeoDTLeoDT Joined: Posts: 12
    LeoDT wrote: »
    LeoDT wrote: »
    The stick looks and feels completely normal. It's just the down input that is being triggered at all times. I checked to see if the small switch inside the stick was stuck or something, but it isnt. I don't even know why this is happening.

    I tried changing the stick to simulate the left stick, digital pad and right stick and JoyToKey and X360CE keeps accusing that it is holding down, tho switching the buttons it is simulating at the time.

    http://imgur.com/a/jPuo0

    Here, I took a screenshot from JoyToKey and X360CE with the stick simulating LS and DP. The LS shortcut for the keyboard on JoyToKey is disabled because I was trying to play using WASD on the keyboard and the buttons on the stick. I failed miserably haha.

    It could still be an issue with the lever, try disconnecting it like I suggested.

    Just tried it. Disconnected the stick and it still shows up as holding down. :(

    Unfortunately, it sounds like your pcb is fucked then.

    FML :(

    Thanks a lot for the help tho. I appreciate it.
  • KYO84KYO84 Riddle Solver Joined: Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭✭✭ OG
    Would it be better to gut this for the PCB and transfer it to another case or would gutting a Fightpad be the better option?
    "Better that we die on our feet than live on our knees!" Magneto
  • PresidentCamachoPresidentCamacho Dwayne Elizondo Mountain Dew Herbert Camacho Joined: Posts: 3,473
    KYO84 wrote: »
    Would it be better to gut this for the PCB and transfer it to another case or would gutting a Fightpad be the better option?

    Gutting a hori fighting commander 4 would be cheaper, and probably easier to work with as well (for size, if nothing else).
    Play Crimzon Clover, or go to hell.
  • gahrlinggahrling Better safe than Hori.. Joined: Posts: 3,968
    KYO84 wrote: »
    Would it be better to gut this for the PCB and transfer it to another case?


    Unless you have all the money in the world, fuck no.

    Currently the Brook PS4 Fightboard is an excellent choice for ease and price, the Hori pads can also be found quite cheaply at the moment but will require a bit more effort to install.
  • adrian9118adrian9118 Really wanna start playing again. Joined: Posts: 47
    I got the alpha stick over this weekend(fighting mini is sold out everywhere I looked) and played a few matches with it but I just can't keep it straight while hitting buttons. It's way too small for me and didn't fair well on my lap or a table. I've only had an se stick before and I think it's perfect. Good size, good weight, rubber feet and fits in my backpack. So I wanted to take the alpha boards and put them in my se stick which had sanwa buttons and a jlf gate. I finished putting qd's on the alpha board but after that I got stuck on where to put all the other buttons. Idk how to read a pcb board but I have a semi decent understanding of wiring from my old job in the military. Is there anything you guys would suggest I do? All I've come up with so far is to cut front wall of the se stick and fit the board there with some makeshift buttons. I looked at that brook board and that's kinda my last resort as I've already got most of the parts to make one ps4 stick.
  • RDRKT69RDRKT69 Joined: Posts: 2
    Hi! I just bought 2 Mad Catz Alpha (this is my first Fightstick). 1 doesn't have a problem at all but the other 1 has.
    The circle button feels different than the other buttons. when I press it a bit higher it feels stiff but when I press on the center or lower it feels fine that's why I want to change the buttons.

    I don't have experience in soldering and crimping, So is it possible to just buy 10 Connection 22 AWG .110" Ground Daisy Chain Wire and 16pc 22 AWG Wire with .110 Quick Disconnect on Focus attack to avoid soldering and crimping? Sorry for my bad english.
  • adrian9118adrian9118 Really wanna start playing again. Joined: Posts: 47
    RDRKT69 wrote: »
    Hi! I just bought 2 Mad Catz Alpha (this is my first Fightstick). 1 doesn't have a problem at all but the other 1 has.
    The circle button feels different than the other buttons. when I press it a bit higher it feels stiff but when I press on the center or lower it feels fine that's why I want to change the buttons.

    I don't have experience in soldering and crimping, So is it possible to just buy 10 Connection 22 AWG .110" Ground Daisy Chain Wire and 16pc 22 AWG Wire with .110 Quick Disconnect on Focus attack to avoid soldering and crimping? Sorry for my bad english.

    That won't work. You can avoid crimping but you can't avoid soldering and only one end of the wires can add the quick disconnects.
  • Kata8884Kata8884 Joined: Posts: 1
    Can I check with the brothers here if I can swap Sanwa JLF-TP-8YT-SK and OBSF-30 into the Mad Catz Fightstick Alpha? Thank you very much.
  • DarksakulDarksakul I find your lack of Faith Disturbing. Joined: Posts: 24,736
    yes
    “Strong people don't put others down... They lift them up.”
    - Darth Vader, Philanthropist
  • KillaFoxKillaFox Resident Savage Joined: Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭✭ Junior OG
    How tf do you even open this stick?
  • DarksakulDarksakul I find your lack of Faith Disturbing. Joined: Posts: 24,736
    KillaFox wrote: »
    How tf do you even open this stick?

    Screw driver. Sometimes screw holes are covered by rubber feat and even the "Warranty voided if this is broken" sticker.
    “Strong people don't put others down... They lift them up.”
    - Darth Vader, Philanthropist
  • busta.rhymesbusta.rhymes Joined: Posts: 7
    edited March 2016
    I would want to use a sanwa octonal gate and a sanwa Bat top...
    Is it straight forward putting them in the alpha?
    Post edited by busta.rhymes on
  • KillaFoxKillaFox Resident Savage Joined: Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭✭ Junior OG
    Darksakul wrote: »
    KillaFox wrote: »
    How tf do you even open this stick?

    Screw driver. Sometimes screw holes are covered by rubber feat and even the "Warranty voided if this is broken" sticker.

    Yea one was covered with a sticker. Ty

  • adrian9118adrian9118 Really wanna start playing again. Joined: Posts: 47
    I would want to use a sanwa octonal gate and a sanwa Bat top...
    Is it straight forward putting them in the alpha?

    Is a bat top just screwed onto the top like a ball top? If yes then yea octo gate and bat top will go in fine
  • RagsTheGoatRagsTheGoat Joined: Posts: 5
    Changed out the stock lever for a Link. feels better.
  • Principlesof98Principlesof98 Joined: Posts: 22
    I would want to use a sanwa octonal gate and a sanwa Bat top...
    Is it straight forward putting them in the alpha?

    Hey man. New here, but i got the alpha amd wanted to try an octagon gate. It looked like the sanwa gate so i ordered it to see. Dont know of its just variations in parts, but everything is near exactly the same with the gate, except the lock tabs are just slightly off enough it wont for. BUT, the small octagonal ring insert DOES fit. I dod have to very lightly sand the stock restrictor plate to fit bit it does fit very nice. So for a couple bucks i have an 8 way gate in my alpha
  • RDRKT69RDRKT69 Joined: Posts: 2
    edited March 2016
    can I just cut the wires connected to the button and use a butt connector to connect 10 Connection 22 AWG .110" Ground Daisy Chain Wire and 16pc 22 AWG Wire with .110 Quick Disconnect to the original wires? (sorry for my bad english)

    Oh never mind. I've found a video in youtube and he did what exactly I'am thinking.

    Thank you guys!
    and Thank you random person who post a video on youtube!

    Post edited by RDRKT69 on
  • truendymiontruendymion Beer Me! Joined: Posts: 2,280
    So are the buttons/stick junk that has to be replaced with real parts?
    I'm making a fighting game!
    SRK thread - Discord server.
  • MazzaMazza Joined: Posts: 19
    Changed out the stock lever for a Link. feels better.

    Did you just drop in a Link without using a JLF? Interesting...

    Would anyone know if we can mod a Neutrik usb to this as well?
  • IanskieIanskie Keep Watch Joined: Posts: 611
    edited April 2016
    Just noticed these are on Amazon for $54 and are Prime eligible.
    Post edited by Ianskie on
  • DarksakulDarksakul I find your lack of Faith Disturbing. Joined: Posts: 24,736
    Mazza wrote: »
    Changed out the stock lever for a Link. feels better.

    Did you just drop in a Link without using a JLF? Interesting...

    The Link can work not just with the Sanwa JLF but any JLF clone and the Hori Hayabusa.

    Mazza wrote: »
    Would anyone know if we can mod a Neutrik usb to this as well?
    To the Street Fighter Alpha? Is there room to mount om the rear or the sides something than needs a 24mm hole?
    “Strong people don't put others down... They lift them up.”
    - Darth Vader, Philanthropist
  • Feargus001100Feargus001100 Joined: Posts: 990
    Has anyone been able to get this stick to work on PC SFV?

    I downloaded the MadCatz driver from here: http://madcatz.com/downloads/ , called Fight_Stick_Alpha_PS4_7_0_54_5_x64_Full.zip

    And it installed without any issues, and afterwards the stick was picked up in Joy.Cpl as "XBox360 Wired Controller", but when I launched SFV I still couldn't navigate the menus with it. I tried the LS, RS, and DP settings, but none worked.
    #MAS_Preservation_Society
  • FalkentyneFalkentyne Joined: Posts: 576
    edited May 2016
    @Feargus001100 :
    Did you click the "Xinput" option in the windows taskbar?
    It's right in the readme txt file.
  • Feargus001100Feargus001100 Joined: Posts: 990
    @Falkentyne , derp on me for missing that step :loser: , works like a charm now, thanks!!!
    #MAS_Preservation_Society
  • FalkentyneFalkentyne Joined: Posts: 576
    Enjoy!
  • Feargus001100Feargus001100 Joined: Posts: 990
    Falkentyne wrote: »
    Enjoy!

    Enjoy complete, now wondering if any of the usual TT mad scientists have taken one of these bad boys apart and found the TP Key on the PCB.

    I have no electrical skills but I can rip this thing open and my PS4 TE S+ to compare PCBs if that helps =)
    #MAS_Preservation_Society
  • anzharanzhar five times Joined: Posts: 1,035
    how easy is it t swap this pcb in to another 6 button stick??

    is there qd's for start select and home?

    i dont want anything that needs a firmware upgrade and i am not capable pad hacking
  • TizTozBriBruTizTozBriBru Joined: Posts: 253
    I was afraid to bump this but anzhar did it for me B)

    Anyway @anzhar the PCB has a couple ribbon cables coming out of it, so if you wanted to avoid soldering to the PCB, you could cut off the ribbon cables where they lead to, strip & tin the ends of those wires, and boom, Ken's youtr uncle.



    ......So a Hayabusa joystick does fit in this it seems. No mods or drilling right? Looks like people have dropped in JLF without problem which is definitely promising. It looks pretty shallow though so are there any 30mm buttons I should avoid or will whatever I want fit in this thing.

    thanks bros.
  • gahrlinggahrling Better safe than Hori.. Joined: Posts: 3,968
    edited January 2017
    anzhar wrote: »
    how easy is it t swap this pcb in to another 6 button stick??

    Easier than a regular pad hack.
    anzhar wrote: »
    is there qd's for start select and home?

    There are no quick disconnects in an Alpha stick. All the buttons are soldered or connected via JST's.

    ......So a Hayabusa joystick does fit in this it seems.

    You sure about that? I wouldn't risk it tbh.
    It looks pretty shallow though so are there any 30mm buttons I should avoid or will whatever I want fit in this thing.

    Sanwa RG buttons won't fit, Sanwa OBSF and snap-in Seimitsu buttons should be fine.
  • TizTozBriBruTizTozBriBru Joined: Posts: 253
    Thanks man. I read something about a JLF fitting in these so I thought a Hayabusa might fit. No go for a LS56 then i assume? Thanks again for your help!
  • anzharanzhar five times Joined: Posts: 1,035
    ok cool, these go for under £25 sometimes so im thinking of snagging one

    i have not got a ps4, but i end up at places where it is the platform being used......
  • DarksakulDarksakul I find your lack of Faith Disturbing. Joined: Posts: 24,736
    Thanks man. I read something about a JLF fitting in these so I thought a Hayabusa might fit. No go for a LS56 then i assume? Thanks again for your help!

    A JLF could fit but it's a difficult and ugly fit. You have to mod the JLF it self to make it work.
    An LS-56 could work, you will have to ditch the Mount plate, dremel the underside of your Hori EX2 smooth and drill holes from the top to mount the LS-56
    “Strong people don't put others down... They lift them up.”
    - Darth Vader, Philanthropist
  • anzharanzhar five times Joined: Posts: 1,035
    Darksakul wrote: »
    Thanks man. I read something about a JLF fitting in these so I thought a Hayabusa might fit. No go for a LS56 then i assume? Thanks again for your help!

    A JLF could fit but it's a difficult and ugly fit. You have to mod the JLF it self to make it work.
    An LS-56 could work, you will have to ditch the Mount plate, dremel the underside of your Hori EX2 smooth and drill holes from the top to mount the LS-56


    this threa is for the Mad Catz fightstick Alpha, a very poor copy and paste job sir !!!!!
  • DarksideHazukiDarksideHazuki Joined: Posts: 2
    JLF and Seimitsu PS-15s fit without any issue. OBSFs also fit, but you'll have to bend the terminals. LS-56 will fit with the KOWAL converter plate if you remove a single mounting peg from the case, but you may be endangering the stick's structural integrity.
  • TizTozBriBruTizTozBriBru Joined: Posts: 253
    edited January 2017
    JLF and Seimitsu PS-15s fit without any issue. OBSFs also fit, but you'll have to bend the terminals. LS-56 will fit with the KOWAL converter plate if you remove a single mounting peg from the case, but you may be endangering the stick's structural integrity.


    Thanks for that. Damn, I thought the Hayabusa would fit if the JLF would but is there really not enough room in there for the Hayabusa's blocky structure? Hell i would even be willing to cut up the Hayabusa plastic to make it fit in one of these controllers...

    If @Darksakul advice was for this stick and not the EX2, i would be willing to do the necessary modding to fit my LS56 in it...

    If LS56 and Hayabusa REALLY won't work I'll just get a damn JLF....
  • anzharanzhar five times Joined: Posts: 1,035
Sign In or Register to comment.