Brook Universal Fighting Board Thread

1495052545570

Comments

  • DubonDubon Joined: Posts: 488
    I noticed a new fw was released. Does this have the xbox og compatibility?
  • VickoVicko Vegas Modder Extraordinaire! Joined: Posts: 2,829
    According to the changelog, no.
    SRK Tech Talk Member of the Year 2015
    Need a stick modded? I can dual mod, repair, and customize your stick or Hitbox for PS4/PS3/XB1/360

    www.vickomods.com
    lol
  • DubonDubon Joined: Posts: 488
    I knew it !
  • BiggzBiggz Joined: Posts: 42
    Does firmware version 1.8 fix the timeout on PS4 version 4.00?
    I ask because looking in the patch notes it doesn't say it does like v1.6 does for PS4 v3.55.
    V1.8 20160912
    Firmware optimized.

    V1.6-20160722
    1. Fix 8 minutes time out problem for PS4 V3.55

  • VickoVicko Vegas Modder Extraordinaire! Joined: Posts: 2,829
    there is no timeout if you have 1.6 already
    SRK Tech Talk Member of the Year 2015
    Need a stick modded? I can dual mod, repair, and customize your stick or Hitbox for PS4/PS3/XB1/360

    www.vickomods.com
    lol
  • shura30shura30 Joined: Posts: 55
    so what's the deal with the new firmware update then?
  • BiggzBiggz Joined: Posts: 42
    Vicko wrote: »
    there is no timeout if you have 1.6 already

    ah good news, cheers Vicko. I'm not sure I have that version anyway so I'll update anyway.
  • Agent_XAgent_X Joined: Posts: 21
    A small suggest. For the patch update program, why not have a way to check what version of the firmware you have.
  • Noble CactusNoble Cactus 56k Days Joined: Posts: 8,476
    edited September 2016
    I'm installing the basic Brook UFB (no pre-soldered headers, I should have done my research on that first) into my Qanba Q4 and have a few questions, considering how there doesn't seem to be a guide anywhere about the Q4 in particular. Complete newbie here.

    – What's the most efficient way to go about daisy chaining the grounds? Punch and Kick have four grounds each, yet the only daisy chain connectors I can find have three, 10, or 30-something connections (the ones listed on Focusattack, and this http://www.arcadeworlduk.com/products/insulated-daisy-chain-harness-with-32-crimp-connections.html), and I'd like to avoid clutter in my stick guts as much as possible. What about the cardinal directions?
    – The reviews I've seen for the UFB say that it's solderless unless you want to enable non-critical functions like the LEDs and Select. Yet the USB wires seem like they're supposed to be soldered to their respective pins. Am I okay just buying this and plugging it into the header that already comes on the side of the UFB instead http://www.paradisearcadeshop.com/ps360/1665-3m-black-usb-cable.html?search_query=USB&results=34 ?
    – Probably the silliest question, but do I need to worry about switching the Qanba's PlayStation/Xbox function to the appropriate console after installing this board?

    Thanks in advance.
  • sasquachsasquach MvC2 making a comeback 2017? Joined: Posts: 368
    edited September 2016
    I'm installing the basic Brook UFB (no pre-soldered headers, I should have done my research on that first) into my Qanba Q4 and have a few questions, considering how there doesn't seem to be a guide anywhere about the Q4 in particular. Complete newbie here.

    – What's the most efficient way to go about daisy chaining the grounds? Punch and Kick have four grounds each, yet the only daisy chain connectors I can find have three, 10, or 30-something connections (the ones listed on Focusattack, and this http://www.arcadeworlduk.com/products/insulated-daisy-chain-harness-with-32-crimp-connections.html), and I'd like to avoid clutter in my stick guts as much as possible. What about the cardinal directions?
    – The reviews I've seen for the UFB say that it's solderless unless you want to enable non-critical functions like the LEDs and Select. Yet the USB wires seem like they're supposed to be soldered to their respective pins. Am I okay just buying this and plugging it into the header that already comes on the side of the UFB instead http://www.paradisearcadeshop.com/ps360/1665-3m-black-usb-cable.html?search_query=USB&results=34 ?
    – Probably the silliest question, but do I need to worry about switching the Qanba's PlayStation/Xbox function to the appropriate console after installing this board?

    Thanks in advance.

    Grab the 10 chain, cut whatever isn't used. I.e. if only 8 is used, cut the last two. For the directions, you just use your joystick harness and wire it up that way via cutting and stripping unless you don't have one. You can use a USB-B to USB-A cable on the brook UFB. No need to worry about that last one.
    "I'm just nice" -Harry Potter
  • YaysianYaysian Aim of Hawkeye! Joined: Posts: 49
    edited September 2016
    For some reason my UFB isn't working on PS4. It doesn't even recognize the stick. It works on PC/XBOX360/PS3 but for some reason it isn't working on PS4. Think anyone could help with this?

    Nevermind figure it out. :P
    UMvC3: Nova/Spencer/Doom
  • ThePeterMissileThePeterMissile Joined: Posts: 13
    For some reason mine's not working on Xbox One. I can manually set it to each console and it comes up correctly on pc, but when I try to use it on my Xbox, it lights up my stick and does nothing else. Firmware is up to date. I even tried setting it to Xbox One mode manually and it still won't work. When i just leave it to auto detect, it turns off the "reconnect controller" for a second and then it pops back up. Please help
  • VickoVicko Vegas Modder Extraordinaire! Joined: Posts: 2,829
    Agent_X wrote: »
    A small suggest. For the patch update program, why not have a way to check what version of the firmware you have.
    I don't think bootloader does that, but clicking update takes literally 10 seconds, so just update if you're unsure.
    I'm installing the basic Brook UFB (no pre-soldered headers, I should have done my research on that first) into my Qanba Q4 and have a few questions, considering how there doesn't seem to be a guide anywhere about the Q4 in particular. Complete newbie here.

    – What's the most efficient way to go about daisy chaining the grounds? Punch and Kick have four grounds each, yet the only daisy chain connectors I can find have three, 10, or 30-something connections (the ones listed on Focusattack, and this http://www.arcadeworlduk.com/products/insulated-daisy-chain-harness-with-32-crimp-connections.html), and I'd like to avoid clutter in my stick guts as much as possible. What about the cardinal directions?
    – The reviews I've seen for the UFB say that it's solderless unless you want to enable non-critical functions like the LEDs and Select. Yet the USB wires seem like they're supposed to be soldered to their respective pins. Am I okay just buying this and plugging it into the header that already comes on the side of the UFB instead http://www.paradisearcadeshop.com/ps360/1665-3m-black-usb-cable.html?search_query=USB&results=34 ?
    – Probably the silliest question, but do I need to worry about switching the Qanba's PlayStation/Xbox function to the appropriate console after installing this board?

    Thanks in advance.
    This specific stick has been answered at least twice in either the qanba, this, the ps3/4 fightboard, or absolute q&a thread.
    Good luck.
    SRK Tech Talk Member of the Year 2015
    Need a stick modded? I can dual mod, repair, and customize your stick or Hitbox for PS4/PS3/XB1/360

    www.vickomods.com
    lol
  • VickoVicko Vegas Modder Extraordinaire! Joined: Posts: 2,829
    did you press home once plugged in? also on PC if you hold 4P does it show up as an xb1 controller?
    SRK Tech Talk Member of the Year 2015
    Need a stick modded? I can dual mod, repair, and customize your stick or Hitbox for PS4/PS3/XB1/360

    www.vickomods.com
    lol
  • FalkentyneFalkentyne Joined: Posts: 576
    edited September 2016
    The Qanba PS3/PC rocker switch is an SPDT toggle switch that hooks to the "Switch" pin on the circuit board, nothing more. You could hook that up to "LS" pin on a pre-soldered UFB (not really needed anymore as the UFB now has LS/RS/DP "combokeys" option now, but was required in much older firmware, if you wanted analog LS availability), or TPkey if you don't mind having it as a toggle. The Xbox 360 position connects to nothing. The PS3/PC position connects to GND. If you chose to hook the "Switch" pin to LS on the UFB, then Xbox 360 left position (No connection) would be Dpad, and PS3/PC right position (GND) would be LS.

    The Qanba USB cable connects right to the UFB USB cable pins if your UFB has pre-soldered headers. Then you can use the Qanba cable stop and the cable door just like before, which will put no stress on the connector, which is why the pre-soldered UFB headers is very useful. If you choose the RJ45 jack cable, you will need to do a mod to secure the cable so you can't yank on it internally.

    For Home (Xbox/guide), select, mode and turbo buttons, you will need wire crimps if you don't want to solder.
    You can use these

    https://www.adafruit.com/products/1949

    Then just strip 1 end into bare cable to use into the screw terminals. If your UFB is presoldered then you can use the TPkey/R3/L3 pins and hook them to something like Select, Mode, Turbo.
    Then Tpkey would function as select, back, options, etc.

    You would still need the "original" select button attached to something (like one going to the screw terminals) for firmware updates, as TPkey as select won't work for firmware updating.
    If you're doing that and are using TPkey as Select, make sure you have the original select wired to an extra wire so you can swap it in for firmware updating.

    This only works if your UFB has presoldered headers. Otherwise you will have to solder.
  • Brook_EngineerBrook_Engineer Brook on fire Joined: Posts: 343
    For some reason mine's not working on Xbox One. I can manually set it to each console and it comes up correctly on pc, but when I try to use it on my Xbox, it lights up my stick and does nothing else. Firmware is up to date. I even tried setting it to Xbox One mode manually and it still won't work. When i just leave it to auto detect, it turns off the "reconnect controller" for a second and then it pops back up. Please help

    possible to shoot a video?
  • QuexexQuexex Joined: Posts: 3
    Props to Brook, despite being 70 odd £ lighter I now have a stick that works on PS4 and PS3... Not tried the 360 yet and the PS4 times out after 4 mins atm, not updated the firmware yet though so hopefully that will fix it. Oh and you don't have to daisy chain the common ground if you're lazy like me you can twist together all the grounds into one which is ok for everything except the main buttons as you have to twist 8 of them together ...
  • BolSadguyBolSadguy Toronto Stick Modder Joined: Posts: 1,587
    Quexex wrote: »
    Oh and you don't have to daisy chain the common ground if you're lazy like me you can twist together all the grounds into one which is ok for everything except the main buttons as you have to twist 8 of them together ...

    At least use a closed end connector. They're dirt cheap and easy to crimp.
  • QuexexQuexex Joined: Posts: 3
    BolSadguy wrote: »
    Quexex wrote: »
    Oh and you don't have to daisy chain the common ground if you're lazy like me you can twist together all the grounds into one which is ok for everything except the main buttons as you have to twist 8 of them together ...

    At least use a closed end connector. They're dirt cheap and easy to crimp.

    Hahaha yeah, I'll do it properly and daisy chain them. Having bought the board off an eBay seller in the UK I just wanted to check it worked as quickly as possible.
  • QuexexQuexex Joined: Posts: 3
    edited September 2016
    Quick question, did I need to sacrifice L2 to wire it to touchpad click? It seems in the documentation that touch pad emulation can be achieved with button combos...

    Ignore re-read the documentation I do need the touch pad button. Now I have an unusual 6 button only setup on the face of the stick with two extra buttons on the side of the stick (pinball style) and three smaller 24mm sanwas resessed into the the top of the stick, for PS, Start and Select.

    I can't think of any fighting games that use more than six buttons so sacrificing one of my pinball buttons for the touch pad should be an issues as long as it's not P4! Which I may need at some point to force xb1 mode...
    Post edited by Quexex on
  • viparasviparas Magnificent Claw Joined: Posts: 95
    edited October 2016
    Hey everybody. Quick question, sorry if it has already been answered, been digging through the thread but it's mad long. I just installed a UFB into an original Fightstick TE for the second time, but this time around the firmware doesn't detect it when I go to update. PC won't recognize the stick unless I hold 3P on plug in, (presumably forcing in to 360 mode). What's the work around to get the firmware updater to see the stick on insert? Doing this on windows 7 (last one was done on the same computer, also with windows 7 and worked fine, but with an older firmware updater that Brooks no longer has available.)

    Edit: Actually it looks like my home button isn't working. I'll recheck the screw down. It doesn't need a separate ground right? (this is a 360 TE)

    Edit: Looks like I forgot to clamp down the ground from the turbo panel. Problem solved.
    Post edited by viparas on
    KOF XIII: Shen Wu/Duo Lon/Takuma
    3rd Strike: Makoto/Alex/Hugo
    Street Fighter 4 series: Vega/Makoto/T.Hawk/Gouken
  • GOGO.ZippyGOGO.Zippy Joined: Posts: 1,055
    Quexex wrote: »
    Quick question, did I need to sacrifice L2 to wire it to touchpad click? It seems in the documentation that touch pad emulation can be achieved with button combos...

    Ignore re-read the documentation I do need the touch pad button. Now I have an unusual 6 button only setup on the face of the stick with two extra buttons on the side of the stick (pinball style) and three smaller 24mm sanwas resessed into the the top of the stick, for PS, Start and Select.

    I can't think of any fighting games that use more than six buttons so sacrificing one of my pinball buttons for the touch pad should be an issues as long as it's not P4! Which I may need at some point to force xb1 mode...

    @Quexex
    The UFB can run in the auto mode while you plugged it on Xbox one console.
  • LLLLLFiVEL5LLLLLLFiVEL5L ¡!¿?¡!PSN:LLLLLFiVEL5L¡!¿?¡! ¡!¿?¡!CFN: FiVEL_FiGHTER_5L¡!¿?¡! Joined: Posts: 161
    I'm having a hard time searching through the tech talk forums for the TE2 chun li stick pcb layout. I'm doing my ufb without the ez-mod and I want to get use of of the madcatz's panel . I wish to get the LS/DP/RS turned into touchpad & the lock as the R3, & of course home button too. I noticed this has 14 , not 12 connections like the earlier post on th TE2 sticks . Could someone please point me in the direction . And if any of you been tring to text me , sorry ... New phone will be up and running hopefully tomorrow . Thanks
  • LLLLLFiVEL5LLLLLLFiVEL5L ¡!¿?¡!PSN:LLLLLFiVEL5L¡!¿?¡! ¡!¿?¡!CFN: FiVEL_FiGHTER_5L¡!¿?¡! Joined: Posts: 161
    Oh btw way, after doing a few mods here and there I seen how important it is to learn to soder & I taught myself how to do it. Back to my question above , do I soder to the button on the pcb ? & one more which is on going for the TE2 , the madcatz logo, where do I hook that up too. I read here & there but noy completely completely understanding what to do . Thanks again
  • VickoVicko Vegas Modder Extraordinaire! Joined: Posts: 2,829
    I'm having a hard time searching through the tech talk forums for the TE2 chun li stick pcb layout. I'm doing my ufb without the ez-mod and I want to get use of of the madcatz's panel . I wish to get the LS/DP/RS turned into touchpad & the lock as the R3, & of course home button too. I noticed this has 14 , not 12 connections like the earlier post on th TE2 sticks . Could someone please point me in the direction . And if any of you been tring to text me , sorry ... New phone will be up and running hopefully tomorrow . Thanks

    Can't do it without a microcontroller as the buttons are momentary. Just get an ezmod kit or a gummo ezpz. All the cool kids are doing it.
    SRK Tech Talk Member of the Year 2015
    Need a stick modded? I can dual mod, repair, and customize your stick or Hitbox for PS4/PS3/XB1/360

    www.vickomods.com
    lol
  • LLLLLFiVEL5LLLLLLFiVEL5L ¡!¿?¡!PSN:LLLLLFiVEL5L¡!¿?¡! ¡!¿?¡!CFN: FiVEL_FiGHTER_5L¡!¿?¡! Joined: Posts: 161
    edited October 2016
    ? Delete this please
  • LLLLLFiVEL5LLLLLLFiVEL5L ¡!¿?¡!PSN:LLLLLFiVEL5L¡!¿?¡! ¡!¿?¡!CFN: FiVEL_FiGHTER_5L¡!¿?¡! Joined: Posts: 161
    edited October 2016
    So basically I can't get the home button going without the ezpz or the ez-mod boards ? Seems I'll desolder the usb off the UFB , & use it on my VS stick . I'm not sure when I'll have for any cashof those boards
  • Agent_XAgent_X Joined: Posts: 21
    I am planning on building or buy a supergun. Does the ufb work with the undamned usb decoder?
  • DarksakulDarksakul Your lack of faith disturbs me Joined: Posts: 22,836
    Agent_X wrote: »
    I am planning on building or buy a supergun. Does the ufb work with the undamned usb decoder?

    I don't see why they would not work.

    But if you are making a Super Gun you can also skip both the undamned usb decoder and the UFB. You can use DA-15 connectors like the Neo Geo does.

    Are you expecting alot of tournament play on your Super Gun?
    "You must defeat Sheng Long to stand a chance."
  • SqueezelbumSqueezelbum Joined: Posts: 200
    edited October 2016
    That looks really nice. Looking forward to the video.
    Finest_KO wrote: »
    Wow, very impressive. I'd love to see those in action.
    jopamo wrote: »
    Please let us know when you've posted those videos

    As promised here's the video for the Madcatz:


    The one about the PDP should be up soon.
    Cheers,

    I hope everything works out and you can produce enough to sell. I'd be very interested in picking one up.
  • Agent_XAgent_X Joined: Posts: 21
    Darksakul wrote: »
    Agent_X wrote: »
    I am planning on building or buy a supergun. Does the ufb work with the undamned usb decoder?

    I don't see why they would not work.

    But if you are making a Super Gun you can also skip both the undamned usb decoder and the UFB. You can use DA-15 connectors like the Neo Geo does.

    Are you expecting alot of tournament play on your Super Gun?

    I have two usb sticks lying around with the ufb installed. And I do want to take it to tournaments.
  • The_Real_PhoenixThe_Real_Phoenix electronoob Joined: Posts: 171
    edited October 2016
    That looks really nice. Looking forward to the video.
    Finest_KO wrote: »
    Wow, very impressive. I'd love to see those in action.
    jopamo wrote: »
    Please let us know when you've posted those videos

    As promised here's the video for the Madcatz:


    The one about the PDP should be up soon.
    Cheers,

    I hope everything works out and you can produce enough to sell. I'd be very interested in picking one up.

    Thanks! I sold some PCBs from my proto batch here, and I'm waiting people feedbacks.
    There are also some people in the comments of the vids who are interested.
    If I run a commercial batch I'll run a 20pcs one. I could run a 50pcs but I'm not sure if I could sell so much. This is a niche product for a niche market after all.
    I'm targetting something like 10$ USD for a full kit (PCB ready to go + all the harness) but it depends of the price I can get all the parts and PCB.
    I wish I could make a post in the Trading section but I don't have enought posts yet.
    Post edited by The_Real_Phoenix on
  • DubonDubon Joined: Posts: 488
    That looks really nice. Looking forward to the video.
    Finest_KO wrote: »
    Wow, very impressive. I'd love to see those in action.
    jopamo wrote: »
    Please let us know when you've posted those videos

    As promised here's the video for the Madcatz:


    The one about the PDP should be up soon.
    Cheers,

    I hope everything works out and you can produce enough to sell. I'd be very interested in picking one up.

    Thanks! I sold some PCBs from my proto batch here, and I'm waiting people feedbacks.
    There are also some people in the comments of the vids who are interested.
    If I run a commercial batch I'll run a 20pcs one. I could run a 50pcs but I'm not sure if I could sell so much. This is a niche product for a niche market after all.
    I'm targetting something like 10$ USD for a full kit (PCB ready to go + all the harness) but it depends of the price I can get all the parts and PCB.
    I wish I could make a post in the Trading section but I don't have enought posts yet.

    Where are you located?
  • undamnedundamned Wake up! Time to die! Joined: Posts: 1,686
    Agent_X wrote: »
    I am planning on building or buy a supergun. Does the ufb work with the undamned usb decoder?

    Yeah, it works. Just force the UFB into X360 or PS3 mode. I have not officially released XBONE/PS4 firmware yet and the UFB defaults to PS4 when connected to the decoders.
    -ud
  • karduskardus Joined: Posts: 100
    edited October 2016
    undamned wrote: »
    Agent_X wrote: »
    I am planning on building or buy a supergun. Does the ufb work with the undamned usb decoder?

    Yeah, it works. Just force the UFB into X360 or PS3 mode. I have not officially released XBONE/PS4 firmware yet and the UFB defaults to PS4 when connected to the decoders.
    -ud

    I noticed with some PS3 controllers (including brook ufb) the encoder mixes up 2K and 3K, so I have to manually bind my stick every time I plug in. Is there any way to get around this with an update?
  • DarksakulDarksakul Your lack of faith disturbs me Joined: Posts: 22,836
    kardus wrote: »
    undamned wrote: »
    Agent_X wrote: »
    I am planning on building or buy a supergun. Does the ufb work with the undamned usb decoder?

    Yeah, it works. Just force the UFB into X360 or PS3 mode. I have not officially released XBONE/PS4 firmware yet and the UFB defaults to PS4 when connected to the decoders.
    -ud

    I noticed with some PS3 controllers (including brook ufb) the encoder mixes up 2K and 3K, so I have to manually bind my stick every time I plug in. Is there any way to get around this with an update?
    Are we talking the DIY or plug-and-play versions?
    "You must defeat Sheng Long to stand a chance."
Sign In or Register to comment.