Future Tone Arcade Controller for PS4

FuturetonerFuturetoner Joined: Posts: 5
Hey y'all

In the little research into building a Arcade Stick I've done I have seen this forums name come up a ton; so I thought I'd come get some help from y'all. I'm basically looking to build a Arcade Stick for the PS4 port of a rhythm game called Hatsune Miku Future Tone. Ideally I want it to look as close as the actual arcade game controller as possible while being able to comfortably fit in my lap. I'd like it to be able to navigate the PS4 dashboard too.

Actual arcade cabinet controller:
http://www.siliconera.com/postgallery/?p_gal=299583|0
The multicolored bar at the top is a touchpad for drag notes on the arcade version of the game. In the PS4 port you can remap buttons, so I'm thinking having L1 and R1 buttons above the buttom buttons (triangle, x etc). The L1 and R2 buttons need to be easy to hit though, but also smaller than the buttom buttons.

https://projectdiva.net/community/threads/project-diva-homemade-controllers.1465/
Most of these come closer to the DS4 layout rather than the arcade layout I'd like though.

Here's some gameplay too:

I need to be able to reach the buttons pretty quickly.

I have no clue how I'm going to go about doing this so I'd really appreciate any help you guys can give me.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

  • menoslinkmenoslink Give them the Boot Joined: Posts: 73
    so would the project diva x controller work for this?
    Tell me why a group of squids aren't called a squad?
  • Fatso666Fatso666 Joined: Posts: 15
    The Project Diva X controller would be perfect for what he's after I would have thought. You can remap the controls to recreate the arcade buttons as well

    The arcade machines use 100mm buttons which means the the controller would have to be at least 40cm wide if faithfully recreating the arcade setup, probably plus 10cm so to add tolerances on the side at which point it's not something you can use on your lap
  • FuturetonerFuturetoner Joined: Posts: 5
    edited September 2016
    Thanks for your responses guys. I also understand that the Project Diva X would work with the game, but I'd much prefer making one to the style of the original arcade cab. My brain finds it hard to register and tap out the combo notes the way the DS4 and Project Diva X controller is laid out. If I have to sacrifice it being able to be played on my lap, that's fine with me. I'm also thinking if it would be feasible to make a smaller sized arcade style controller? Or, would a cheaper fight stick, let's say a venom; would that be comfortable enough and responsive enough to use on project diva?
  • BolSadguyBolSadguy Toronto Stick Modder Joined: Posts: 1,588
    You could always just get the PDX Hori controller, gut it and then put everything in a wooden box that has your desired layout.
  • FuturetonerFuturetoner Joined: Posts: 5
    BolSadguy wrote: »
    You could always just get the PDX Hori controller, gut it and then put everything in a wooden box that has your desired layout.
    That would rack up a lot of unneeded expense though. The PDX controller is £100+ just by itself.

  • d3vd3v Coughing DAT PINK SPIT Joined: Posts: 36,426 mod
    BolSadguy wrote: »
    You could always just get the PDX Hori controller, gut it and then put everything in a wooden box that has your desired layout.
    That would rack up a lot of unneeded expense though. The PDX controller is £100+ just by itself.

    You'll probably be spending that much on parts along for a custom build anyway. A single OBSA-100UMQ push button will go for £27 alone.
    You can't ask for well-thought-out changes off day 1, week 1, or mostly even month 1 play...and that's when the game is out and everyone's in the lab.
    -Mike_Z

    If there's anything we do best, it's breaking games and then making everyone suffer with all the cheapness.
    -PersiaXO
  • FuturetonerFuturetoner Joined: Posts: 5
    d3v wrote: »
    BolSadguy wrote: »
    You could always just get the PDX Hori controller, gut it and then put everything in a wooden box that has your desired layout.
    That would rack up a lot of unneeded expense though. The PDX controller is £100+ just by itself.

    You'll probably be spending that much on parts along for a custom build anyway. A single OBSA-100UMQ push button will go for £27 alone.

    Huh? Buying a Project Diva X controller to gut it and build a custom controller would cost much more than actually building one from scratch surely?...
  • DarksakulDarksakul Your lack of faith disturbs me Joined: Posts: 22,877
    d3v wrote: »
    BolSadguy wrote: »
    You could always just get the PDX Hori controller, gut it and then put everything in a wooden box that has your desired layout.
    That would rack up a lot of unneeded expense though. The PDX controller is £100+ just by itself.

    You'll probably be spending that much on parts along for a custom build anyway. A single OBSA-100UMQ push button will go for £27 alone.

    Huh? Buying a Project Diva X controller to gut it and build a custom controller would cost much more than actually building one from scratch surely?...

    It depends what you are going for.
    I did something similar to get a custom Hrap Twin Stick rather than ordering the ones that were Japan only exclusives
    In the Long run I ended up spending more money.

    I understand that the original Project Diva X controller got some Quality control issues, I could be wrong.

    I know if you want a Quality POP n' Music Controller now you pretty much have to go the DIY route, the retail small-sized home controllers are like PS2 era Mad Catz game pads, break at the slightest touch.
    "You must defeat Sheng Long to stand a chance."
  • Fatso666Fatso666 Joined: Posts: 15
    edited September 2016
    Thanks for your responses guys. I also understand that the Project Diva X would work with the game, but I'd much prefer making one to the style of the original arcade cab. My brain finds it hard to register and tap out the combo notes the way the DS4 and Project Diva X controller is laid out. If I have to sacrifice it being able to be played on my lap, that's fine with me. I'm also thinking if it would be feasible to make a smaller sized arcade style controller? Or, would a cheaper fight stick, let's say a venom; would that be comfortable enough and responsive enough to use on project diva?

    If you don't like the Project Diva X button layout then why not rewire or move the buttons into a standard layout? If they're standard Sanwa buttons then they'd be easy to remove, and the only problem might be the wire lengths. I have read some reviews and the buttons seem to be low quality however

    I'm in the process of building a full size arcade replica (within limits, the touchpad is impossible to easily replicate) but the buttons are extremely expensive, the 100mm full size buttons are around 3000-4000 yen each and the 60mm buttons (which are the next size down) are around 3000 yen each. I don't know if anyone offers dome style buttons in 30mm sizes either
    Post edited by Fatso666 on
  • TomtortoiseTomtortoise Joined: Posts: 13
    I gotcha bro!

    http://www.instructables.com/id/Project-Diva-FTCT-Arcade-Controller/

    Just keep in mind that the BOM alone is $400+

    Also Fatso666, you keep showing up everywhere lol.
  • d3vd3v Coughing DAT PINK SPIT Joined: Posts: 36,426 mod
    d3v wrote: »
    BolSadguy wrote: »
    You could always just get the PDX Hori controller, gut it and then put everything in a wooden box that has your desired layout.
    That would rack up a lot of unneeded expense though. The PDX controller is £100+ just by itself.

    You'll probably be spending that much on parts along for a custom build anyway. A single OBSA-100UMQ push button will go for £27 alone.

    Huh? Buying a Project Diva X controller to gut it and build a custom controller would cost much more than actually building one from scratch surely?...

    4 OBSA-100UMQs would cost you £108, which is more than using a Project Diva X controller. That's not factoring in the cost of things like a PCB - about £50+ if you padhack a Hori FC4, or up to £70 if you go for a Brook UFB.

    With a Project Diva X controller, you get all of the above for only £80, meaning you can spend the rest of your money on the casing.

    Remember, CUSTOMS ARE NOT CHEAP. As a general rule, customs are the most expensive option for building an arcade controller these days.
    You can't ask for well-thought-out changes off day 1, week 1, or mostly even month 1 play...and that's when the game is out and everyone's in the lab.
    -Mike_Z

    If there's anything we do best, it's breaking games and then making everyone suffer with all the cheapness.
    -PersiaXO
  • Fatso666Fatso666 Joined: Posts: 15
    edited September 2016
    I gotcha bro!

    http://www.instructables.com/id/Project-Diva-FTCT-Arcade-Controller/

    Just keep in mind that the BOM alone is $400+

    Also Fatso666, you keep showing up everywhere lol.

    When I research something, I tend to go to great extents >_>

    The buttons for my controller currently total around £280 alone, that's 4 100mm buttons, 4 60mm buttons, 6 30mm buttons and 3 24mm buttons. You would only get it under £100 if you swapped all the buttons for a bunch of standard 30mm arcade buttons rather than the dome buttons used in the arcade.
  • yyryyr Joined: Posts: 18
    Darksakul wrote: »
    I know if you want a Quality POP n' Music Controller now you pretty much have to go the DIY route,

    Not at all =)

    gamo2.com/en/index.php?dispatch=products.view&product_id=249
  • FuturetonerFuturetoner Joined: Posts: 5
    I gotcha bro!

    http://www.instructables.com/id/Project-Diva-FTCT-Arcade-Controller/

    Just keep in mind that the BOM alone is $400+

    Also Fatso666, you keep showing up everywhere lol.
    Yeeess, thank you so much. This is exactly what I was looking for.
  • sstar986sstar986 Joined: Posts: 3
    Does anyone know where to get button artwork similar to the project Diva controller?
  • TomtortoiseTomtortoise Joined: Posts: 13
    If you look on my instructable you will see the set I made, it is on one of the steps. It's not exact to the arcade but it is pretty close.
  • el grecoel greco Lite Dash Joined: Posts: 361

    Here's some gameplay too:


    This is the type of game that turns dudes in ladyboys; please play beatmania instead.

    - a concerned friend
  • sstar986sstar986 Joined: Posts: 3
    I am new with trying to make my own arcade stick. I am planning to use a ps3 controller as the pcb for my stick. However, is it possible to add leds to the stick if I have a ps3 controller as my pcb? And how do I actually try to wire it? Can I use a led controller for my arcade stick Like this one http://www.paradisearcadeshop.com/leds/1628-paradise-kaimana-led-controller-pcb.html
  • JesseJamesJesseJames Click Clack Joined: Posts: 60
    sstar986 wrote: »
    I am new with trying to make my own arcade stick. I am planning to use a ps3 controller as the pcb for my stick. However, is it possible to add leds to the stick if I have a ps3 controller as my pcb? And how do I actually try to wire it? Can I use a led controller for my arcade stick Like this one http://www.paradisearcadeshop.com/leds/1628-paradise-kaimana-led-controller-pcb.html

    To answer sstar986 question... yes, depending on if you are using a wired or wireless ps3 controller for the padhack and what you want those LED to do. Please provide more information so that we can help you.


    For the rest of y'all, I would like to announce that I am about 90% complete on my project (waiting on a few little parts now) so you'll see something posted eventually on the "Check Out My New Arcade Stick!" thread.
  • sstar986sstar986 Joined: Posts: 3
    edited October 2016
    I want to use a wireless dualshock ps3 controller and I want the led to light up when I push a button and I want another option where you have the leds light up all the time. Does this mean I can have a led controller like this one How do you connect the leds if you are using a ps3 controller as your pcb.l Lastly, how do you padhack a controller? http://www.paradisearcadeshop.com/kaimana-led-series/1629-jasen-s-kaimana-kameleon-led-driver-pcb.html
    Post edited by sstar986 on
  • JesseJamesJesseJames Click Clack Joined: Posts: 60
    sstar986 wrote: »
    I want to use a wireless dualshock ps3 controller and I want the led to light up when I push a button and I want another option where you have the leds light up all the time. Does this mean I can have a led controller like this one How do you connect the leds if you are using a ps3 controller as your pcb.l Lastly, how do you padhack a controller? http://www.paradisearcadeshop.com/kaimana-led-series/1629-jasen-s-kaimana-kameleon-led-driver-pcb.html

    Depending on how much knowledge you have in electronics and your soldering skills.

    If you are padhacking a DS3 wireless controller, then you possibly won't be able to use the Kaimana since I assumed they required 5V to operate (the battery on the DS3 runs on less than 5V). Also, the DS3 controllers are not common ground. Therefore, you would need to assemble some circuits to get the LED to work with the wireless setup.

    Padhacking a wired PS3 controller would be an easier option since the voltage supplied would be sufficient to power the Kaimana. Just make sure the wired controller you are padhacking is a common ground.

    My best advice for you would be to get a Brook PS3/PS4 fighting board and the Kaimana LED PCB just for the easiness and convenience... just need to do some soldering. Hope this helps.


  • JoprarisJopraris I´m lovin´ it Joined: Posts: 19
    Hi! anyone know if HORI will released new controllers for Future Tone ?
  • sora_mercurysora_mercury Joined: Posts: 1
    edited March 29
    hi, i think about buying this game... you can use any arcade stick for it, right? i really want to try it with the razer panthera.
  • GOGO.ZippyGOGO.Zippy Joined: Posts: 1,055
    Brook PS4+ Audio board provided analog stick inputting

    http://www.brookaccessory.com/detail/09922855/
  • Letram ChiLetram Chi Only for Pro Joined: Posts: 108 ✭✭✭✭✭ OG
    anzhar wrote: »
    GOGO.Zippy wrote: »
    Brook PS4+ Audio board provided analog stick inputting

    http://www.brookaccessory.com/detail/09922855/

    Is it wireless?

    No
    Letram Chi - FighterChile
    Youtube.com/LetramChi
    https://www.facebook.com/FighterChile/
  • d3vd3v Coughing DAT PINK SPIT Joined: Posts: 36,426 mod
    Any kind of "arcade controller" for the PS4 is going to be wired.
    You can't ask for well-thought-out changes off day 1, week 1, or mostly even month 1 play...and that's when the game is out and everyone's in the lab.
    -Mike_Z

    If there's anything we do best, it's breaking games and then making everyone suffer with all the cheapness.
    -PersiaXO
  • PlayerOne_nkPlayerOne_nk Joined: Posts: 4
    I made a controller with a touchpad (stretched the touchpad DS4), multitouch slides are not working very well. For multi-touch slides I use a stick. Now I'm waiting for the delivery of buttons ...
  • PlayerOne_nkPlayerOne_nk Joined: Posts: 4
    I think I'm done. With the new version of the touch panel, double slides are supported(True from the small size of the touch pad DS4, the developers in the game decided to make a general introduction for all the double slides).

  • FreudlosPsyDFreudlosPsyD Joined: Posts: 32
    Yea, looks like you nailed it, @PlayerOne_nk
    Now the question is: Are you willing to share what parts went into your build and what your codebase looks like?
  • PlayerOne_nkPlayerOne_nk Joined: Posts: 4
    edited September 19
    Yea, looks like you nailed it, @PlayerOne_nk
    Now the question is: Are you willing to share what parts went into your build and what your codebase looks like?

    Dualshock 4 PCB, Dalshock 4 touchpad + copper foil and plume, original sanwa 100mm button + switch 1F + sanwa led lamp, 6 channel light-music PCB, body 6\4mm acrylic in size copy of the original.
  • FreudlosPsyDFreudlosPsyD Joined: Posts: 32
    So no additional controllers are involved? You just hackjobbed a new copper foil touchpad to the Dualshock 4 and hardwired it in place?
    From what I remember, the CTP_0.08 is about the same size as the brook one, albeit it kinda shows its 4(6?) rows and 11 columns.

    If my assumption is correct, you simply scraped off the protective layer, soldering directly to those individual areas?
    I mean if that's the case and the horizontal resolution is basically limited to center plus 5 distinguishable pixels in each direction, it really wouldn't be all to hard to reproduce.

    What exactly changed in-between your first revision and the current one? You said initially you were having trouble getting multi-touch notes to register and opted for the sticks instead.
    Was that a problem on your end or did Sony change its controller behavior?
  • PlayerOne_nkPlayerOne_nk Joined: Posts: 4
    So no additional controllers are involved? You just hackjobbed a new copper foil touchpad to the Dualshock 4 and hardwired it in place?
    From what I remember, the CTP_0.08 is about the same size as the brook one, albeit it kinda shows its 4(6?) rows and 11 columns.

    If my assumption is correct, you simply scraped off the protective layer, soldering directly to those individual areas?
    I mean if that's the case and the horizontal resolution is basically limited to center plus 5 distinguishable pixels in each direction, it really wouldn't be all to hard to reproduce.

    What exactly changed in-between your first revision and the current one? You said initially you were having trouble getting multi-touch notes to register and opted for the sticks instead.
    Was that a problem on your end or did Sony change its controller behavior?

    I did not break the touchpad isolation, I used Copper Adhesive Tape, works through 6mm acrylic.
    I used to take 11 pixels in the center, now I take 2 rows of 11 pixels. In fact, 2 touch pad with a small dead zone in the center.
    IMG_20170820_201952.jpg
Sign In or Register to comment.