The death of fighting games… A personal journey that hopefully can help MvC:I ???

Comments

• NuSix3NuSix3 Britney's Dancebeat Champ Joined: Posts: 19
    Great post. I've been thinking about this very thing a lot recently and it just hit me after reading your post:

The problem isn't so much difficulty accessibility (there are instances where I think it can be a problem, but overall it's not the issue). The problem is the digital age has made us aware of how inferior our current skills are. Long story to elaborate on this:

When I started playing Tekken Tag back in the day, it was just me and some friends of mine messing around. All of us terrible. I got sick of losing, so I went into training mode and practiced until I knew the move sets (which are huge in tekken) for my favorite characters by heart. I was still terrible, but not as terrible as everyone else. Then they practiced and got better, then I practiced and got better...and so on.

Years later, I don't have any friends who play Tekken other than me. I still bought tekken 4 and tekken 5 and the habit of practicing never left me. When Tekken 5 came out, I was doing Xiaoyu BnB combos without even knowing they were BnBs (or what a BnB even was). I even invented my own notation so I could write the shit down and come up with new stuff (for what purpose, I have no idea - it was fun at the time). When I did finally start to research on the internet, I was able to perform almost any combination anyone else came up with (sans some really technical stuff, like foxstep, instant while rising 2s...etc).