Ask a cop thread.

AHVB_AHVB_ Joined: Posts: 56
edited July 14 in General Discussion
This is a thread for anyone who has a question about law enforcement and the job that we do.

Without going into too many details, I'm currently a cop in a big city, I have a background as a military reservist and in 911 EMS.

I ask that your questions be specific and respectful, I don't "feed" trolls & I hope that we can have meaningful dialogue.

I will not engage in political debates and I will not answer vague questions like "why do cops get away with..." please understand that every case has its own set of facts and local laws that apply to those facts.

So ask away fellow srk'ers.
Post edited by AHVB_ on

Comments

• chadouken!chadouken! less < more Joined: Posts: 5,025
    How do the Denver PD feel about the legalization of marijuana? Do you guys bust a lot of people driving while high? If so, what are the field sobriety tests for a suspect who's been pulled over and suspected of driving under the influence of pot?
    I'm a grown fucking man, if I wanna smoke a crack pipe on a friend's birthday, I wanna smoke a crack pipe.
    -ArtVandelay, 2017
  • AHVB_AHVB_ Joined: Posts: 56
    I'm not employed by the Denver Police Dept and I've personally never asked a Denver cop how they felt about the changes in marijuana laws in Colorado. But generally speaking, as officers, our job is to enforce the law and adhere to the changes in the law. Some of us agree with the changes, some of us don't.

Every police department has their own way of doing sobriety tests and I don't know how Denver PD does theirs. Generally, police departments have Field tests that try to determine wether or not your are oriented, alert and coordinated enough to drive safely. If you're high, you will fail.