Hori RAP 4 - Did I just buy a dud ?

swoosegooseswoosegoose Joined: Posts: 4
Hi friends, a newbie here. I recently bought a HORI RAP 4 arcade stick from the middle east through a friend of mine working there. I chose the middle east route since the same stick costs roughly about 400 USD in India. That's PS4 console ballpark and I just couldn't justify the extra premium that I had to shell out. So my friend came back to India with the arcade stick and I was pretty excited just to see the packaging let alone the stick. I took the stick home and connected it to the PS4 after watching a few YouTube videos on how to properly connect one. Then came the bummer, the joystick wouldn't register down input *Facepalm*,every other input worked pretty flawlessly. I then started reading on this specific problem online and after scouring through various threads came across the potential cause, that it could be due to a faulty snap action switch in the joystick assembly. I sourced the micro switch that they widely use in arcade cabinets in my town and replaced the original and what I thought was the faulty one with the new micro switch. The stick still didn't respond to the down input and I pretty much concluded that the problem lies elsewhere. And my temporal lobe was like, 'Elsewhere, you mean the bloody PCB, that's rocket science, that's way beyond what a mere mortal like you could fiddle with '. So, I threw a random Hail Mary and entrusted the stick with a friend who said he knew people who work on dual shock controllers and consoles. It has been a while now and when I spoke with him last week he said they were unsure if they could fix it since they weren't familiar with one. It is depressing just to think about the stick now.
Is there any way the stick could be fixed ? Looking forward to valuable suggestions from fellow tech savvy members. Thanks in advance.

Posting a few photos for reference
http://imgur.com/a/dOFGt

Regards
Gautham

Comments