Madcatz Audio Board for Brook PS4+ and Madcatz Front Panel REV 2

The_Real_PhoenixThe_Real_Phoenix electronoobJoined: Posts: 199
edited September 11 in Tech Talk
Hey everyone

I've made a small board who fits in Madcatz TE/SE stick and can be plugged in the Brook PS4+ (with audio) board
cM4iL6ol.jpg



As long as this board, I've also made a new revision of the front panel I've made last year:
Link to the Brook thread where I talked about it http://forums.shoryuken.com/discussion/comment/10969848/#Comment_10969848
Here's a video of the REV 1


REV 2 has just the holes for physical switches removed, aligned properly connectors and have now the same orientation as the Brook UFB or PS4+.
Front panel have
  • LS/DP/RS switch
  • Lock/Unlock Home/Turbo/Start/Select switch
  • Players LEDs where old top turbo led where or on Players LEDs for SFxT layout.
  • Turbo Button + LED.

The harness for the Turbo Button can be change for an other button (TP, R3 or L3).


I'm selling kits on the trading outlet section here:
http://forums.shoryuken.com/discussion/216394/wts-madcatz-te-se-audio-board-for-brook-ps4-madcatz-front-panel-for-brook-ufb-and-ps4/

Kits are:
- Audio board + harness + screws
cuDS2Lul.jpg

Front panel + harness
2C2lHwal.jpg

- Audio Board + Front Panel

Post edited by The_Real_Phoenix on

Comments

  • The_Real_PhoenixThe_Real_Phoenix electronoob Joined: Posts: 199
    edited September 16

    Installing front panel
    Cable harness are designed to be plugged with the UFB and PS4+ with connectors' orientation:
    vO65JZBl.jpg

    or with 90° header (courtesy from ArcadeShock)
    BROOK_UFB_CLEAN.png?v=1479969193
    G0A1850_1024x1024.png?v=1503716218


    /!\ If you have a different orientation it won't work. /!\

    If you have headpin connectors please plug in the correct orientation.


    Installation of custom harness (i.e TP key)
    If you asked a harness other than the turbo one, the cable will look something like this:
    ZdhsDCOl.jpg

    It this case this harness is to replace the turbo button (TB key) with the touch pad button (TP key).
    The orange one is the ground.

    Wiring looks like this:
    x1Lg4yul.jpg
    CECX6LMl.jpg
    Post edited by The_Real_Phoenix on
  • Finest_KOFinest_KO Joined: Posts: 173
    Wow, making me want to revive my TE right now.
  • DAyalaDAyala Joined: Posts: 59
    Very nice!
  • eyeamg0dlyeyeamg0dly Joined: Posts: 55
    kind of a dumb question, but can the front panel be used with a xbox face?
  • jopamojopamo Stuck in Silly-con Valley Joined: Posts: 1,264
    Other than the Home button tops, both PS3 and Xbox front panel face plates are one in the same. It's the PCBs under them that differ.
  • eyeamg0dlyeyeamg0dly Joined: Posts: 55
    ive made some bad assumptions about parts recently, so lately ive been second guessing everything that i think i know.
  • jopamojopamo Stuck in Silly-con Valley Joined: Posts: 1,264
    edited September 16
    No worries. Glad to help.
  • The_Real_PhoenixThe_Real_Phoenix electronoob Joined: Posts: 199
    eyeamg0dly wrote: »
    kind of a dumb question, but can the front panel be used with a xbox face?
    Hi, this is not a dumb question.

    As Jopamo said, Xbox front panels are physicaly the same as PS3 ones, minus the home button which have player LEDs which are around them.
    My PCB will fit in Xbox front panels, however player LEDS will be where old turbo LEDS where (see the video).
  • jopamojopamo Stuck in Silly-con Valley Joined: Posts: 1,264
    edited September 16
    My gummo board with leds around the home button shine just fine on my PS3 TE. There's enough clear plastic around the button to allow light through. The round 1 PS3 TE has no player leds--at least not on the units I've modded.
  • The_Real_PhoenixThe_Real_Phoenix electronoob Joined: Posts: 199
  • eyeamg0dlyeyeamg0dly Joined: Posts: 55
    just got my panel yesterday, everything is working perfectly. thank you phoenix for making everything easy
  • The_Real_PhoenixThe_Real_Phoenix electronoob Joined: Posts: 199
    eyeamg0dly wrote: »
    just got my panel yesterday, everything is working perfectly. thank you phoenix for making everything easy

    Thanks. I'm glad you like it.
  • fokkusuhaundofokkusuhaundo Joined: Posts: 659
    edited September 29
    Finally got around to installing the TE front panel and audio board after I received my Brook PS4+ USB Type B 2017 board. Everything went well, the player LEDs, the lock switch for Home/Start/Select, and the audio/mic port all work great. However I did run into one unforeseen issue.

    My Brook PS4+ board came with the pins for the LS/DP/RS switch laid horizontally, making it difficult to connect the wire harness from the TE front panel board. To get the JST/XH connector to fit well, I had to flip it over:
    t1aJF3Gl.jpg

    This also meant that I had to pull out and reverse all of the wires and connection terminals in the connector, which wasn't a big deal. It seems to hold in fine and the LS/DP/RS switch works perfectly.
    youはshock!
  • The_Real_PhoenixThe_Real_Phoenix electronoob Joined: Posts: 199
    Finally got around to installing the TE front panel and audio board after I received my Brook PS4+ USB Type B 2017 board. Everything went well, the player LEDs, the lock switch for Home/Start/Select, and the audio/mic port all work great. However I did run into one unforeseen issue.

    My Brook PS4+ board came with the pins for the LS/DP/RS switch laid horizontally, making it difficult to connect the wire harness from the TE front panel board. To get the JST/XH connector to fit well, I had to flip it over:
    t1aJF3Gl.jpg

    This also meant that I had to pull out and reverse all of the wires and connection terminals in the connector, which wasn't a big deal. It seems to hold in fine and the LS/DP/RS switch works perfectly.

    Thanks for your feedback.

    I'll try to switch to Dupont connector for LS/DP/RS as fasst as possible.
  • unpurposedunpurposed Joined: Posts: 5
    Finally got around to installing the TE front panel and audio board after I received my Brook PS4+ USB Type B 2017 board. Everything went well, the player LEDs, the lock switch for Home/Start/Select, and the audio/mic port all work great. However I did run into one unforeseen issue.

    My Brook PS4+ board came with the pins for the LS/DP/RS switch laid horizontally, making it difficult to connect the wire harness from the TE front panel board. To get the JST/XH connector to fit well, I had to flip it over:
    t1aJF3Gl.jpg

    This also meant that I had to pull out and reverse all of the wires and connection terminals in the connector, which wasn't a big deal. It seems to hold in fine and the LS/DP/RS switch works perfectly.

    Ah I just got my 2017 board and it also has this.

    Am I correct in understanding that you just turned the connector over and reversed the wires? I'm not particularly handy and just bought one of these boards - is it hard?

  • The_Real_PhoenixThe_Real_Phoenix electronoob Joined: Posts: 199
    Dang, I didn't expect PS4+ 2017 boards to be 90°, but straight like the pic I posted.

    Dupont connectors are en route, I'll update the thread when I got them.
  • fokkusuhaundofokkusuhaundo Joined: Posts: 659
    unpurposed wrote: »
    Ah I just got my 2017 board and it also has this.

    Am I correct in understanding that you just turned the connector over and reversed the wires? I'm not particularly handy and just bought one of these boards - is it hard?
    It wasn't very hard. There are tiny and thin metal tabs that hold each connector inside the plastic connector housing. Using a small metal pin or toothpick, you can carefully press down the tabs on each connector just enough so that it can slide out of the housing.

    Just be careful not to press and bend the tab too much or it won't hold in place when you insert it back in, in which case you would have to carefully bend the tab back out.
    youはshock!
  • DarksakulDarksakul Your lack of faith disturbs me Joined: Posts: 23,877
    like this:
    ysPDBdJm.jpg
    teuPiSDm.jpg

    I do that all the time for PC Fan cable sleeving.
    “Strong people don't put others down... They lift them up.”
    - Darth Vader, Philanthropist
  • unpurposedunpurposed Joined: Posts: 5
    edited October 3
    So I just installed this with a 2017 Audio Board into a Mad Catz SFIV TE and it was relatively painless. Couple issues / questions though:

    1) How is the lock switch supposed to work? For me, it disables buttons when it is in the unlock position. Moving it to the lock position enables buttons, and moving it to the unlock position brings up the PS4 quick home menu. Something seems wrong. I am using a 20-pin harness if that makes a difference.
    Well, I'm an idiot. I connected ground and Home backwards. That would explain it. I stil have a question though - will having the 20 pin harness connected affect anything? That is, it also has Home and Ground connected, but to nothing since I'm using the screw terminals via this board instead. It's late, so I'll test it tomorrow.

    2) You can't seem to use the audio breakout in combo with the ps4+ audio board usb/audio breakout. I originally connected this audio breakout and connected the brook breakout, but only with the usb pins connected. It would register as always having headphones connected (when none were connected), and would switch to tv audio when headphones were connected! It seems you can only use one or the other. Is there a way to use this audio board and a separate usb? Do I need to connect not to the usb pins, but instead to the usb port?
  • The_Real_PhoenixThe_Real_Phoenix electronoob Joined: Posts: 199
    unpurposed wrote: »
    So I just installed this with a 2017 Audio Board into a Mad Catz SFIV TE and it was relatively painless. Couple issues / questions though:

    1) How is the lock switch supposed to work? For me, it disables buttons when it is in the unlock position. Moving it to the lock position enables buttons, and moving it to the unlock position brings up the PS4 quick home menu. Something seems wrong. I am using a 20-pin harness if that makes a difference.
    Well, I'm an idiot. I connected ground and Home backwards. That would explain it. I stil have a question though - will having the 20 pin harness connected affect anything? That is, it also has Home and Ground connected, but to nothing since I'm using the screw terminals via this board instead. It's late, so I'll test it tomorrow.

    2) You can't seem to use the audio breakout in combo with the ps4+ audio board usb/audio breakout. I originally connected this audio breakout and connected the brook breakout, but only with the usb pins connected. It would register as always having headphones connected (when none were connected), and would switch to tv audio when headphones were connected! It seems you can only use one or the other. Is there a way to use this audio board and a separate usb? Do I need to connect not to the usb pins, but instead to the usb port?

    1) The home is supposed to be link to either the 20 pin harness or the screw terminals. The K-ground is supposed to be link to the start and select button, so you can control them with the lock switch.
    2) If you have the headphones always connected that means the PS4+ detects the "sense" pin on the jack is open. It's supposed to be closed (grounded) to have the sound on TV. Your behaviour is inverted. I'll check at home tonight, but seems a ground issue. Have you tried the audio breakout alone?
  • unpurposedunpurposed Joined: Posts: 5
    Ok that's good to know about the KGND. I will see what I can do with that.

    I will also test more tonight
  • The_Real_PhoenixThe_Real_Phoenix electronoob Joined: Posts: 199
    edited October 4
    Ok I know what's going. It totaly works with the breakout USB.

    However, it appears you have a bad cable for my audio board: one of the housing in the wrong direction makint the the pins being inverted. Try the cable from the other kit.

    Test with the other one.

    You can either fix it yourself with a needle and remove each six pin from the housing and replace it the other way, or I can send you an other cable.
    fyBq24Qm.jpg
    eo3qIbmm.jpg

    Here's what a correct harness should like:
    BWmWuFsm.jpg
    See the black wire? It should be opposite on each connector.

    Here's the pinout:
    qUK6GYr.jpg


    Or I can send you an other cable. Contact me in PM if you want to.

    I apologies for the inconvenience.
    Post edited by The_Real_Phoenix on
  • DarksakulDarksakul Your lack of faith disturbs me Joined: Posts: 23,877
    Ok I know what's going. It totaly works with the breakout USB.

    However, it appears you have a bad cable for my audio board: one of the housing in the wrong direction makint the the pins being inverted. Try the cable from the other kit.

    Test with the other one.

    You can either fix it yourself with a needle and remove each six pin from the housing and replace it the other way, or I can send you an other cable.
    fyBq24Qm.jpg
    eo3qIbmm.jpg

    Here's what a correct harness should like:
    BWmWuFsm.jpg
    See the black wire? It should be opposite on each connector.

    Here's the pinout:
    qUK6GYr.jpg


    Or I can send you an other cable. Contact me in PM if you want to.

    I apologies for the inconvenience.

    On the Up side that the same process you have to go though if you want to sleeve that cable in tech flex
    “Strong people don't put others down... They lift them up.”
    - Darth Vader, Philanthropist
Sign In or Register to comment.