The official Cthulhu and ChImp thread - Try our new Dreamcast flavor!

1203204206208209260

Comments

  • NerrageNerrage STICKS for JOY Joined: Posts: 3,349
    Random questions:

    What button combo makes the MC register as a VSHG? I was testing a stick that was open and face down, so the buttons were just pressed in my lap, and low and behold, comes up on PC as "VIRTA STICK HIGH GRADE". I was just curious.

    WIll you have stickers at Evo? I'd like to pick up a few warranty voided ones.

    By any chance, would you be able to bring a set of screw terminals for an FGWidget to sell me at at Evo? I have a spare one that can go to a friend once it gets put into easy mode. Figured I might as well save on shipping.
  • ToodlesToodles da Fetus of Gawd! Joined: Posts: 10,778
    1P+1K forces VSHG mode
    Yup, I'll have lots of stickers, but I dont know if I'll be spreading them all over the center tables like last year.
    I can easy enough; it'd be $5 with the Evo cash discount.
  • clincherclincher Joined: Posts: 2
    Does this still work for anyone on Arch Linux? It worked for me, but now it just won't. It's not the joystick, I tried it on a Windows PC and it worked just fine. What could be the problem? I'm getting the same problem nullspace used to have:
    [clincher@lights ~]$ dmesg | tail -4
    [  761.240028] usb 3-1: new full speed USB device number 6 using ohci_hcd
    [  761.406528] input: Toodles 2008 Cthulhu+ PC/PS3 Controller as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:12.0/usb3/3-1/3-1:1.0/input/input19
    [  761.406712] generic-usb 0003:14D8:0409.0004: input,hidraw0: USB HID v1.11 Gamepad [Toodles 2008 Cthulhu+ PC/PS3 Controller] on usb-0000:00:12.0-1/input0
    [  761.665121] usb 3-1: USB disconnect, device number 6
    

    I still haven't gotten it to work again... any help would be appreciated
  • sait0usait0u Joined: Posts: 1,151
    are you bringing some boards to evo? i'm looking to grab a IMP v2 from you or the modders there if thats possible.
  • Francys PaiFrancys Pai ☆ Resident Cynic ☆ Joined: Posts: 5,085
    Right, did some messing around (and a little desoldering/resoldering) and I've at least pinpointed a part of the problem.

    When my roundhouse button is soldered it continually registers "up", when it is desoldered, the board functions normally, with the exception of roundhouse (obv because it's not connected).
    Is there any idea on what this is?
    I don't have a multimeter handy for another two weeks (I'm currently not home, otherwise I would've ran a test by now).
    MVY. Francys Pai | Eternal Blaze - Mad Vega Yomi forever <3
    "When one looks like glass, everything else looks to be made of stone."

    Art blog; Scarlet Eyed Rätsel
  • Kid D. ZasterKid D. Zaster It's Amore, BABY. Joined: Posts: 404
    Hey Toodles, been using your device for about 2 years now, and I love it.
    I'm having a random issue though.

    My pc, which I use to play SSF4:AE with, suddenly stopped recognizing the existence of the stick. It'll make a sound when I connect it, and when I disconnect it, but no "Installing device driver" or recognizing under the windows 7 game controllers section.

    I tried it in another PC, works.
    I tried hooking up a TE into my machine, works.
    Tried hooking up into PS3 and 360, works.
    Tries holding down the home button to put it into 360 mode, nothing.

    Restarting, etc, nothing seems to work so far.
    It only doesnt read on this one machine.

    Is there a hard copy of the device driver you have that might fix the issue?
    "From start to finish, I'm always at a climax."
  • gahrlinggahrling Better safe than Hori.. Joined: Posts: 3,968
    I've come across a problem when connected to my PS2 (model SCPH-50001). After system loads, the stick stops responding. I thought this was a problem with the PS2 cable I had crimped with an RJ-45 connector, but it still happens with a second cable I made. I have to completely unplug the PS cable from the system, give it about 5 seconds, and re-plug it to get a response. The stick is good within the round of SFA or Guilty Gear. But once the system loads again (another match or another a new audio track) the stick again stops responding.

    I have not come across this with other systems (Wii/GCN, PC, PS3, Xbox, SNES, 3DO). This just happens with the PS2.

    .
    Have you updated the firmware?

    .
  • ToodlesToodles da Fetus of Gawd! Joined: Posts: 10,778
    are you bringing some boards to evo? i'm looking to grab a IMP v2 from you or the modders there if thats possible.
    I'll be bringing a few, but if you know for sure there's something you want to pick up, definitely best to let me know. Send a PM with what you want and your cell phone number and I'll text when there so you can pick them up. The Imps would be $7 each in cash, so you're looking at $14.
    Hello Toodles and all. I'm a long time MC Cthulhu owner (nearly two years now). It never stops kicking ass.

    I've come across a problem when connected to my PS2 (model SCPH-50001). After system loads, the stick stops responding. I thought this was a problem with the PS2 cable I had crimped with an RJ-45 connector, but it still happens with a second cable I made. I have to completely unplug the PS cable from the system, give it about 5 seconds, and re-plug it to get a response. The stick is good within the round of SFA or Guilty Gear. But once the system loads again (another match or another a new audio track) the stick again stops responding.

    I have not come across this with other systems (Wii/GCN, PC, PS3, Xbox, SNES, 3DO). This just happens with the PS2.
    gahrling's right, updating the firmware should be the very first thing to do; link in first post.
    Is there a hard copy of the device driver you have that might fix the issue?
    You've already narrowed down the problem to a specific PC. No, there isn't a device driver you can install because it uses the device driver built into the OS.
  • sait0usait0u Joined: Posts: 1,151
    Sent a PM man. Thanks and see you there.
  • Mr.GraveMr.Grave PSN WillyGrave Joined: Posts: 1
    Hey Toodles, love your stuff! I'm sure i speak for everyone when we say, we appreciate all you're doing and have done. LL seems to be out of the MC Cthulhu and it's killing me! I know you're super busy with EVO stuff, but if i could snag one off you, it would be much appreciated >.< Hate to be bother, but it's either i ask, or i sit and wait till LL show's them in stock again (I'm not patient, lol) Let me know if it's at all possible. Much appreciated, thanks for your time!
  • ToodlesToodles da Fetus of Gawd! Joined: Posts: 10,778
    Sure, all information needed for ordering straight from me is listed in the first post of this thread.
  • ResynnResynn Joined: Posts: 9
    I have to say, Toodles, I thank you, i was alittle weary at first ordering just from a post and a random paypal email, but you sir are the definition of quality service. a response to my email within 30minutes of the original message, I sent the payment for the product on a friday morning, and I received the package on monday morning, you sir provided excellent service and I appreciate it. I thank you and my fight stick thanks you.
  • danacondadanaconda Joined: Posts: 8
    Payment just sent for 1 MC Cthulhu board. Thanks!
  • kpxchokpxcho Joined: Posts: 261
    YESSSSSSSSS I JUST GOT MY CHIMP IN THE MAIL TODAY
    toodles you are the best.

    :-( only thing is i didnt get the cthulu godlike controls sticker to show off that i use a cthulu product. oh well i got a warranty voided sticker lol
  • Shinkuu TatsumakiShinkuu Tatsumaki Joined: Posts: 6,811
    I'm using a madcatz 360 fightpad, Imp, and Cthulhu.... I've wired everything correctly however it doesn't work. I've made the PS3 the primary system also. Like others, the 360 guide button flashes really quick. No idea what's wrong. Bad Cthulhu?
  • jdm714jdm714 Blue Blue Glass Moon Joined: Posts: 12,830
    Most likely the Imp.
    You are using Imp v1.0 right?

    The 4066 chips are not good in Imp v1.0 one.
    Which is why Toodles recommend Imp v2.1 using.

    If you do not want to use Imp v2.1, then piggyback another 4066.

    But you did not say what is wrong.
    You just say that the Dual Mod does not work.
    You have to be specific on what work and what does not.
    J&J SoCal Modding: http://shoryuken.com/forum/index.php?threads/113434/
    Visit J&J SoCal Modding's Blog for review of new Arcade Parts: http://jjsocalmodding.blogspot.com
  • Shinkuu TatsumakiShinkuu Tatsumaki Joined: Posts: 6,811
    Yeah I did buy another Imp v1.0 so now I have two. What do you mean by piggybacking?

    Yeah, I'm gonna need to go pick up a multi meter. Prob grab one tomorrow.
  • jdm714jdm714 Blue Blue Glass Moon Joined: Posts: 12,830
    0937d11f.png

    You still did not say what is wrong.
    Tell exactly.
    J&J SoCal Modding: http://shoryuken.com/forum/index.php?threads/113434/
    Visit J&J SoCal Modding's Blog for review of new Arcade Parts: http://jjsocalmodding.blogspot.com
  • Shinkuu TatsumakiShinkuu Tatsumaki Joined: Posts: 6,811
    The only thing I know is that it's not recognized at all when plugged into my laptop. When I got my new Imp board, and soldered everything on, the laptop did detect a usb device, but then it said that it was not a recognized usb device. After I tried plugging it in again nothing happens anymore. Only the guide button on the 360 PCB lights up for a sec.
  • ToodlesToodles da Fetus of Gawd! Joined: Posts: 10,778
    It's a bit early to try to 4066 stacking, since there's no indication that it will help. The number of possible problems based on the little we know is astronomical.
    Shinkuu, we're happy to help, but there needs to be a LOT more information, and you can bet that a multimeter IS required. You'll need to be specific about what you're looking for when testing on a PC (Game Controllers applet being best), you'll need to hit the Cthulhu troubleshooting guide linked in the first post. Hitting the Imp troubleshooting guide linked in the first post of the Imp thread would be a good start as well. Blinking lights on the 360 pad dont tell us anything about whats going on and wont help the troubleshooting.

    Go through the guides, post up what you find, along with GOOD quality pictures of the wiring and we'll do our best.
  • jdm714jdm714 Blue Blue Glass Moon Joined: Posts: 12,830
    Yes, I wanted him to do the Troubleshoot before stacking. :sad:
    But he won't give us any information.
    J&J SoCal Modding: http://shoryuken.com/forum/index.php?threads/113434/
    Visit J&J SoCal Modding's Blog for review of new Arcade Parts: http://jjsocalmodding.blogspot.com
  • Shinkuu TatsumakiShinkuu Tatsumaki Joined: Posts: 6,811
    Alright, I'll work on that this weekend.

    Question though, since the pcbs are all soldered together atm, if I put another USB cable into the cthulu, will it work if I just want to use it for PS3/PC temporarily?
  • jdm714jdm714 Blue Blue Glass Moon Joined: Posts: 12,830
    Yes.
    J&J SoCal Modding: http://shoryuken.com/forum/index.php?threads/113434/
    Visit J&J SoCal Modding's Blog for review of new Arcade Parts: http://jjsocalmodding.blogspot.com
  • ScaffaScaffa Joined: Posts: 182
    Is there any way to have a VLX modified with chimp autoselect to the Xbox controller board instead of the PS3 / PC one?

    If i can get it to use the Xbox instead then it'll work fine with PC AE and be detectable by some other programs I run on the PC. At the moment if i try and configure in PS3 / chimp mode on AE it won't even recognize, however my non-modded Hori V3 is fine.
  • KarazKaraz Joined: Posts: 4
    I can't believe how fast my order came in, Thanks Toodles!
  • ToodlesToodles da Fetus of Gawd! Joined: Posts: 10,778
    Is there any way to have a VLX modified with chimp autoselect to the Xbox controller board instead of the PS3 / PC one?

    If i can get it to use the Xbox instead then it'll work fine with PC AE and be detectable by some other programs I run on the PC. At the moment if i try and configure in PS3 / chimp mode on AE it won't even recognize, however my non-modded Hori V3 is fine.
    No, the Chimp cannot autoselect 360, but you can force it with the button combination.
    But then again. Chimp works just peachy with AE.
    http://shoryuken.com/forum/index.php?threads/the-official-cthulhu-and-chimp-thread-try-our-new-dreamcast-flavor.46572/page-163#post-5526956
  • ScaffaScaffa Joined: Posts: 182
    Thanks for the insanely quick reply toodles. You really are dreamy.

    heart.jpg
  • ponycarponycar Joined: Posts: 22
    I have a PS3/PC cthulhu that in my stick I just made. I can't get the stick to work for SS4:AE. It works perfectly on my PS3 for Mortal Kombat, and when I check the function on my pc it detects the stick's motion. But in SF I can't get the directions set in the controller options. All the buttons work, but not the stick. Any idea what could be causing that? I read in this thread about updating the firmware..but I only see a download for the multi console version. Any help would be great...thanks.
  • jdm714jdm714 Blue Blue Glass Moon Joined: Posts: 12,830
    Two Post above you.
    J&J SoCal Modding: http://shoryuken.com/forum/index.php?threads/113434/
    Visit J&J SoCal Modding's Blog for review of new Arcade Parts: http://jjsocalmodding.blogspot.com
  • ToodlesToodles da Fetus of Gawd! Joined: Posts: 10,778
    And also the very first Q&A in the very first post of the thread.
  • kpxchokpxcho Joined: Posts: 261
    Hey i just wanted a little bit of clarification, but im using a madcatz gamestop pad to dual mod with the chimp and the instructions say for the triggers if they need to be inverted to solder the middle section for the pot, that is the wiper right?

    also i had a little mishap and ripped out a solder point while taking out the pot
    IMAG0049.jpg

    so i decided to turn it over and connect it to the next best thing

    IMAG0048.jpg

    can anyone verify if this would still work?

    Also i put everything together and took it apart because everything was working except for the jab strong fierce and the 4k or 4p button (i dont remember which one) would that be due to my xbox pcb or just wiring things to the chimp wrong? chimp by itself worked fine
  • ToodlesToodles da Fetus of Gawd! Joined: Posts: 10,778
    Those symptoms are definitely trigger related. The contact point you used should be good.
    My question is, do the other punch buttons work fine when that 4P or 4K button is held down? If the punch problem goes away when the trigger button is held, then you've got it backwards; i.e. you're using an invert signal off the Chimp when you dont need to, or not using an invert when you should, whatever the opposite is of what you're doing.
  • RosserRoosterRosserRooster Cocka-doodle-do MoFo Joined: Posts: 2,069
    Hey toodles will your FGWidget Converter output 5v to power the spark when its in PS2 mode? I know normal ps2 pcb's only out put 3.3v I rarely use PS2 but I have a converter for every system so I was looking for a small ps2 pcb
    thanks
    :df: :d::d::d::d::d::d::d::d: :db::blah: Pm me if you need something coated :blah:
    :f: [URL='http://<div style="width:480px;text-align:right;"><embed width="480" height="360" src="http://pic2.pbsrc.com/flash/rss_slideshow.swf"; flashvars="rssFeed=http%3A%2F%2Ffeed86.photobucket.com%2Falbums%2Fk89%2Frosserrooster%2FPowder%2520Coated%2520links%2520etc%2Ffeed.rss" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" /><a href="javascript:void(0);" target="_blank"><img src="http://pic.photobucket.com/share/icons/embed/btn_geturs.gif"; style="border:none;" /></a><a href="http://s86.beta.photobucket.com/user/rosserrooster/library/Powder Coated links etc&quot; target="_blank"><img src="http://pic.photobucket.com/share/icons/embed/btn_viewall.gif"; style="border:none;" alt="rosserrooster&#039;s Powder Coated links etc album on Photobucket" /></a></div>']Powder Coated Link Gallery [/URL] :b:
  • ToodlesToodles da Fetus of Gawd! Joined: Posts: 10,778
    The power from the converter is the same as the power coming from whatever it's hooked up to. If you have the converter going to a xbox360 pcb or other 5v pcb, it'll be 5v. If you have the converter going to a hacked ps1 pad, it'll be the power from whatever the ps1 pad is hooked up to, which is 3ish volts if its plugged into a PSX or PS2.

    The converter does not adjust the voltages at all. If you are making a PS2 -> something converter using the FGW converter, the power to the PS2 controller will be the same as the power from whatever the final console is.
  • RosserRoosterRosserRooster Cocka-doodle-do MoFo Joined: Posts: 2,069
    The power from the converter is the same as the power coming from whatever it's hooked up to. If you have the converter going to a xbox360 pcb or other 5v pcb, it'll be 5v. If you have the converter going to a hacked ps1 pad, it'll be the power from whatever the ps1 pad is hooked up to, which is 3ish volts if its plugged into a PSX or PS2.

    The converter does not adjust the voltages at all. If you are making a PS2 -> something converter using the FGW converter, the power to the PS2 controller will be the same as the power from whatever the final console is.
    just to clarify are you speaking of your fgwidget will have the power off whatever system its connected to or are you saying the ps2 converter i.e inpin converter .

    If I plug my hrap2(PS2) into a inpin ps3 converter will it up the voltage to 5v on the pcb to use the spark?

    oh and I just sent you payment for everything sorry for all the bs with paypal yesterday
    :df: :d::d::d::d::d::d::d::d: :db::blah: Pm me if you need something coated :blah:
    :f: [URL='http://<div style="width:480px;text-align:right;"><embed width="480" height="360" src="http://pic2.pbsrc.com/flash/rss_slideshow.swf"; flashvars="rssFeed=http%3A%2F%2Ffeed86.photobucket.com%2Falbums%2Fk89%2Frosserrooster%2FPowder%2520Coated%2520links%2520etc%2Ffeed.rss" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" /><a href="javascript:void(0);" target="_blank"><img src="http://pic.photobucket.com/share/icons/embed/btn_geturs.gif"; style="border:none;" /></a><a href="http://s86.beta.photobucket.com/user/rosserrooster/library/Powder Coated links etc&quot; target="_blank"><img src="http://pic.photobucket.com/share/icons/embed/btn_viewall.gif"; style="border:none;" alt="rosserrooster&#039;s Powder Coated links etc album on Photobucket" /></a></div>']Powder Coated Link Gallery [/URL] :b:
  • ToodlesToodles da Fetus of Gawd! Joined: Posts: 10,778
    I cant speak for the inpin; I havent tested. Most PSX -> USB converters will power it at 5v. Some will convert it to 3ish volts to be nice. You'll have to break out the multimeter to know for sure.

    FGW converters dont adjust the voltage, so if you made your own PSX -> 360 converter with one, it would power the HRAP2 and Spark with 5v.
  • EmptyShikiEmptyShiki 絶望 Joined: Posts: 786
    would you be willing to ship a cthulhu or 2 first class instead of priority? if you can't no big deal but It would save me a couple bucks.
  • ToodlesToodles da Fetus of Gawd! Joined: Posts: 10,778
    Sure, even in a padded envelope, and only to US addresses (paypal does not like international first class) but there'll be a whole lot of don't care if there's any problems, delays, or lost in mail situations.
  • MetaMeeksMetaMeeks Joined: Posts: 143
    If you wire a chimp smd up to a custom "stickless" arcadestick and hold down the left and right direction at the same time do you know if the output will be the character blocking both ways (in street fighter) or will it just be considered neutral? I know the guys that make the official hitbox have it so the output is neutral and are using a cthulhu pcb but I wasn't sure if this was because of the pcb or if they did some special modding themselves to create this affect.
  • jdm714jdm714 Blue Blue Glass Moon Joined: Posts: 12,830
    Toodles made the Cthulhu for Hit Box.
    J&J SoCal Modding: http://shoryuken.com/forum/index.php?threads/113434/
    Visit J&J SoCal Modding's Blog for review of new Arcade Parts: http://jjsocalmodding.blogspot.com
Sign In or Register to comment.