Hori Real Arcade PRO V3 "SA" Thread - (Available Now! Check OP!)

12324252628

Comments

  • hibachifinalhibachifinal 後方互換性 Joined: Posts: 1,649
    Awesome! I was reading the earlier posts and seems like replacing the stick with a seimitsu isn't as easy... I guess I'll just stick with Sanwa for now.

    nope, it's fairly easy to get seimitsu's in. just get the right mounting plate.
  • cmonstercmonster Joined: Posts: 117
    nope, it's fairly easy to get seimitsu's in. just get the right mounting plate.
    Nice, thanks for the heads up. I'll probably rock it normally then slowly switch out parts.
  • osiriskiddosiriskidd Joined: Posts: 582
    Nice, thanks for the heads up. I'll probably rock it normally then slowly switch out parts.
    as long as you have a mounting plate it drops right in.
  • garrygodgarrygod Joined: Posts: 6
    i want to run a Light source from the PCB of the HRAP V3 SA? anyone know what i need to Solder to have a light running?
    hrap3vxpcbedited2.jpg
  • marquezsfmarquezsf Joined: Posts: 523
    so i installed a ps360+ into my vx sa but i cant get my guide and select to work anyone know where the ground and power is on the turbo panel of the stick?
  • RosserRoosterRosserRooster Cocka-doodle-do MoFo Joined: Posts: 2,069
    thanks now how do i remove the shit job i did with this crappy rust-oleum.
    brake fluid don't soak the whole case though just use a brush or rag and apply let it set should come right off
    :df: :d::d::d::d::d::d::d::d: :db::blah: Pm me if you need something coated :blah:
    :f: [URL='http://<div style="width:480px;text-align:right;"><embed width="480" height="360" src="http://pic2.pbsrc.com/flash/rss_slideshow.swf"; flashvars="rssFeed=http%3A%2F%2Ffeed86.photobucket.com%2Falbums%2Fk89%2Frosserrooster%2FPowder%2520Coated%2520links%2520etc%2Ffeed.rss" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" /><a href="javascript:void(0);" target="_blank"><img src="http://pic.photobucket.com/share/icons/embed/btn_geturs.gif"; style="border:none;" /></a><a href="http://s86.beta.photobucket.com/user/rosserrooster/library/Powder Coated links etc&quot; target="_blank"><img src="http://pic.photobucket.com/share/icons/embed/btn_viewall.gif"; style="border:none;" alt="rosserrooster&#039;s Powder Coated links etc album on Photobucket" /></a></div>']Powder Coated Link Gallery [/URL] :b:
  • esoeso Freestyler Joined: Posts: 98
    I've had the VX-SA for roughly 9 months and I've had so many problems with it. :( I think I may have gotten one that was made poorly.

    Anyways, I've had problems with the quick disconnects coming off easily and I found out that the female crimps were tightened too much. When they put on that plastic casing for the crimp and then tried to jam it onto the terminal, it forced the crimp backwards, breaking the plastic casing. Thus, it kept coming off whenever I push the buttons too hard. I've had to take off the casing then loosen the crimps (which isn't easy. Is there even a tool for that?) then tighten them correctly.

    Another problem which was asked earlier in this thread was about the turbo settings. When I toggle on the turbo settings for 6 of the 8 buttons then toggle it to off, the buttons continue to be on turbo mode. It's as if the PCB's memory never gets cleared, or maybe faulty wiring in the turbo circuit board. Only way I can get it to reset is to disconnect and reconnect the controller from the console.

    Has anyone else had problems like this? I feel like I can't really trust Hori for their craftsmanship after so many problems with this. :s
  • NunoV2NunoV2 Joined: Posts: 24
    okay this is what I did with my HRAP V3-SA

    192098_509469405734827_628954922_o.jpg
  • Capn SpankyCapn Spanky Bullet Billpocalypse Joined: Posts: 1,795
    okay this is what I did with my HRAP V3-SA
    Jet Set Radio is always a good choice. Always. I approve 100%
  • d-el.ayd-el.ay Go, Go, Super Pogo! Joined: Posts: 41
    Where did you get the stainless steel top panel?
    Apologies haven't been round these parts for a while. I had the panel custom made for me. I think I mentioned it back up in the thread. I had two slightly different layouts prototyped. I have the spares knocking around somewhere it's great as it won't ever get damaged by finger acid even if the top plate gets scratched :)
  • Time pantsTime pants Maybe Evil Ryu is just misunderstood? Joined: Posts: 448
    I've had my V3 for a while now and I love it. My one complaint is the location of the Start button. The buttons are so sensitive that an accidental brush is enough to pause the game (would have cost my buddy the round at EVO this year when he borrowed it, but fortunately his opponent was cool about it). The new Hori V3 Kai sticks have the option to toggle the Start and Select buttons on and off, but I'm not really keen on dropping another $130 for a new stick after having this one for only a few months, but I really want to fix this Start button problem.

    Is it easy/possible to crack open my stick and mess with the wiring so pressing the Select button reads as pressing the Start button and vice-versa? I feel like that's probably the best solution available (if it can be done without too many headaches) short of buying a new stick or custom panel. Anyone else have any experience with a simple (I think???) modification like the one I'm describing?
  • jdm714jdm714 Blue Blue Glass Moon Joined: Posts: 12,834
    HRAP V3 SA Kai does not toggle Select and Start on and off.
    The Select/Start Configuration Switch swaps Select and Start.

    Yes, you can mod your HRAP V3 SA to have Select and Start switch places.
    You will have to cut Traces or if you want, wires, then reroute.

    Or just install your own Tournament Mode Switch for Start.
    Easier to do, if you do not mind cutting into the Case.
    J&J SoCal Modding: http://shoryuken.com/forum/index.php?threads/113434/
    Visit J&J SoCal Modding's Blog for review of new Arcade Parts: http://jjsocalmodding.blogspot.com
  • Time pantsTime pants Maybe Evil Ryu is just misunderstood? Joined: Posts: 448
    HRAP V3 SA Kai does not toggle Select and Start on and off.
    The Select/Start Configuration Switch swaps Select and Start.

    Yes, you can mod your HRAP V3 SA to have Select and Start switch.
    You will have to cut Traces or if you want, wires, then reroute.

    Or just install your own Tournament Mode Switch for Start.
    Easier to do, if you do not mind cutting into the Case.
    Thanks so much for the prompt response! Is there a tutorial available for either of these? I'd rather not cut into the case unless I'm 100% certain of what I'm doing. Also, I'm not familiar with "cutting Traces." What is that, exactly? Is any soldering required for swapping the two buttons or any other supplies/materials I would need to have on-hand? Just trying to get an idea of what a project like this is going to require (I'm a first-timer as far as DIY modifications go).
  • blklightning21blklightning21 Ibuki and Vega Joined: Posts: 1,494
    James means like my tournament mode :rock:
    100_0446.jpg
    Modding solutions for you Hori RAP V3/VX SAs now available!!!!!
    Lightning Label Customs -> Arcade Sticks and Custom Metal Control Panels(TE, Hrap, V3, Custom, etc)
    The Game Surgeons -> Game System Repairs
    Thread
    http://shoryuken.com/forum/index.php?threads/project-llc-metal-replacement-panels-madcatz-hori-qanba-customs-and-more.126522/
  • jdm714jdm714 Blue Blue Glass Moon Joined: Posts: 12,834
    Laugh.
    I definitely thought of you.

    HORI also modded Tatsujinken and Warahk and AndyOCR the same way.
    The Tournament Mode Switch.
    J&J SoCal Modding: http://shoryuken.com/forum/index.php?threads/113434/
    Visit J&J SoCal Modding's Blog for review of new Arcade Parts: http://jjsocalmodding.blogspot.com
  • SUPARNOVAXSUPARNOVAX 必殺技 Joined: Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭✭✭ OG
    Where's that steel panel from? I gotta get me one.
    "Defeat is a state of mind. No one is ever defeated until defeat has been accepted as reality. To me, defeat in anything is merely temporary, and its punishment is but an urge for me to greater effort to achieve my goal. Defeat simply tells me that something is wrong in my doing; it is a path leading to success and truth." ~ Bruce Lee
  • syn13syn13 AKibA KiSSA Manga Cafe Toronto Joined: Posts: 1,346
    So quick question to all the owners with a game edition HRAP V series, how's the stock factory holding up? I would imagine anyone with an Arcana Heart 3 or Blazblue Continuum Shift would start to see problems with the graphic under heavy play(typical adhesive bubbling up or graphic rubbing/scratching off).

    I'm currently questioning whether I should pick up an Arcana Heart edition over the Continuum Shift as a collector's item(being that AC3's HRAP is the earliest game-limited edition stick)...by Collector's item, I mean never really playing on it since everyone I know with a HRAP V series has developed some nasty surface wear and or bubbling. I wouldn't know, my graphics are changed right away on my past three HRAP V3s...
  • Mordecai WalfishMordecai Walfish Joined: Posts: 8
    Thanks so much for the prompt response! Is there a tutorial available for either of these? I'd rather not cut into the case unless I'm 100% certain of what I'm doing. Also, I'm not familiar with "cutting Traces." What is that, exactly? Is any soldering required for swapping the two buttons or any other supplies/materials I would need to have on-hand? Just trying to get an idea of what a project like this is going to require (I'm a first-timer as far as DIY modifications go).

    If you don't want to add a "tournament mode" switch, you could always just mount a cover for the start button to the case, like a concave acrylic dome with a hinge. Pretty simple.
  • RedforthRedforth Joined: Posts: 18
    Hey guys, I'm pretty much a first time modder, I have a question about the secondary PCB in the V3 and how those should be wired to a Sixaxis board to get the controller indicator LEDs to function. I've removed the harness for the LEDs on the sub-PCB and rewired them, but I'm not clear on where to wire it to the Sixaxis PCB. Any help would be appreciated.

    If it helps anyone, I'm using an older version of the Sixaxis, it has a tab jutting up in between the analog sticks,and it will be wired to a Leo v2.
    Thanks in advance!
  • Time pantsTime pants Maybe Evil Ryu is just misunderstood? Joined: Posts: 448
    If you don't want to add a "tournament mode" switch, you could always just mount a cover for the start button to the case, like a concave acrylic dome with a hinge. Pretty simple.
    Haha that's crazy! That's exactly what I ended up doing.
  • iflexxiflexx Joined: Posts: 9
    Just need someone to let me know if the OBSF-24 is supposed to spin/move/rotate in the HORI REAL ARCADE PRO VX / V3?

    I just swapped out my buttons and stick and everything seems to be fine except the start button OBSF-24 is rotating now and isn't solidly locked in like the other buttons... I can't remember that it did this before but perhaps it did? I tried to look if there is anyway to properly lock it in other than just snapping it into the case I can't see anything.

    help!?
  • NunoV2NunoV2 Joined: Posts: 24
    I switched my buttons for green/purple ones, the start button (OBSF24) being the purple one and I don't have that problem =/
  • iflexxiflexx Joined: Posts: 9
    Thanks for the info NunoV2! hmm i wonder whats happened... does anyone know how to lock it in? have i perhaps damaged the button?
  • PointBreak91PointBreak91 Custom costumes for SFV please Cap Joined: Posts: 666
    Press down on it harder from the top, so the two plastic locking pegs underneath click into place. When getting them out, you need to depress these.
    twitch.tv/nyc_vf
  • iflexxiflexx Joined: Posts: 9
    Thanks PointBreak91 buts its weird they are both clicked into place and it still moves...
  • NunoV2NunoV2 Joined: Posts: 24
    Well, it's not like you can't play. Unless you use the start button for another function. It would be worse if it was any other button (except for select :p)
  • iflexxiflexx Joined: Posts: 9
    Yeah it doesn't really affect play but I'm really OCD (especially when it comes to my arcade stick)
    And I'd love to work out why on earth it is happening!
  • donutdonut i get distrac Joined: Posts: 143
    Just need someone to let me know if the OBSF-24 is supposed to spin/move/rotate in the HORI REAL ARCADE PRO VX / V3?

    I just swapped out my buttons and stick and everything seems to be fine except the start button OBSF-24 is rotating now and isn't solidly locked in like the other buttons... I can't remember that it did this before but perhaps it did? I tried to look if there is anyway to properly lock it in other than just snapping it into the case I can't see anything.

    help!?
    i had the same thing happen recently. swapped in a brand new 24mm and it spins around. weird, but it doesn't really bug me. easy fix would be to just get a screw-in button.
  • iflexxiflexx Joined: Posts: 9
    i had the same thing happen recently. swapped in a brand new 24mm and it spins around. weird, but it doesn't really bug me. easy fix would be to just get a screw-in button.
    I really wander why on earth it happens though!? Surely somebody on this board knows... speak up!
    I've ordered a new OBSF-24 and a PS-14-DN so i'll see how it turns out.
    I'd prefer to just have full sanwa parts though so if anyone can enlighten me how to resolve this issue I will be greatly appreciative.
    Hell, I'll send you a prize even (real talk)...
  • NunoV2NunoV2 Joined: Posts: 24
    I really wander why on earth it happens though!? Surely somebody on this board knows... speak up!
    I've ordered a new OBSF-24 and a PS-14-DN so i'll see how it turns out.
    I'd prefer to just have full sanwa parts though so if anyone can enlighten me how to resolve this issue I will be greatly appreciative.
    Hell, I'll send you a prize even (real talk)...
    Why don't you have full sanwa then ?
  • janne213janne213 Joined: Posts: 1
    Hi everyone.

    Im brand new to this whole world of arcade sticks lol, ive played alot in arcade halls as a child but haven't touched a stick in 15+ years.

    Recently i decided to buy a stick to play with, and after much looking around i found the Hori Ultimate Marvel vs Campcom 3 Ps3 Stick for good price.


    I'm thinking of maybe moding the stick and changing the templete, the only problem is that i have absolutly no idea of how to do such a thing lol.

    The templete i would like to have is red Viewlix front used in the Street Fighter 4 arcade machine, only problem is i haven't come across a front that's for the Hori Ultimate stick..

    Does anyone know of some good sites where one could find ready to print fronts and what not.

    Also is it worth the time spray panting the stick since mine is gray and not black, and my start button is also grey.
  • KSTKST Joined: Posts: 222
    edited April 2014
    Just stumbled upon this thread today. Was quickly scanning through all the pages and checking out all the art and mods. Great stuff guys!
    I thought I'd link this here and try my luck finding this part here as well. If anyone might have this spare part lying around and would like to sell it or be kindly give one away if you're not going to be using it =)
    Since I got a used HRAP V3 SA recently and the compartment was missing from it. Would love to find this part and complete this stick.
    http://forums.shoryuken.com/discussion/188706/wtb-ps3-hrap-v3-sa-compartment-door?new=1
    Post edited by KST on
    "What can be better in life than a 64 oz of Pepsi, and a piece of pizza, and all the video games you can play." -Southern Hills Golfland 4 Life
  • Milk StoneMilk Stone Joined: Posts: 200
    Anyone have a good template for this stick? Or the original art so I can adapt it to something custom I'm working on?
  • VasshernVasshern Joined: Posts: 8
    Custom Yoshimitsu stick, the art was made by @Felix4u. He did a great job and I suggest you guys send him a message if you want him to make some great stick art for you dcxey874etvs.jpg
  • KYO84KYO84 Riddle Solver Joined: Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭✭✭ OG
    edited February 2016
    WP_20160207_003.jpg

    The panel on my Hori is starting to warp and peal, are there any alternatives to getting a plexi top? I can't afford one at the moment or the commission for artwork.
    "Better that we die on our feet than live on our knees!" Magneto
  • DarksakulDarksakul I find your lack of Faith Disturbing. Joined: Posts: 24,683
    edited February 2016
    KYO84 wrote: »
    http://s10.postimg.org/adyc0hc1l/WP_20160207_003.jpg

    The panel on my Hori is starting to warp and peal, are there any alternatives to getting a plexi top? I can't afford one at the moment or the commission for artwork.

    Go bare metal
    “Strong people don't put others down... They lift them up.”
    - Darth Vader, Philanthropist
  • KYO84KYO84 Riddle Solver Joined: Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭✭✭ OG
    I was thinking of using some type of vinyl wrap. Does the plexi top from Tek-Innovation set flush with the edge or is it elevated above it ?
    "Better that we die on our feet than live on our knees!" Magneto
  • BolSadguyBolSadguy Toronto Stick Modder Joined: Posts: 1,613
    The Tek plexi on my HRAP Kai is just a bit too thick to sit flush when combined with the artwork.
  • aszydaszyd Joined: Posts: 505
    That is one well worn stick! You should keep that artwork as a badge of honor.

  • AlerhanAlerhan Joined: Posts: 92
    You can go to tek innovations for the plexi. Its only $14.50 so its not too expensive. Its 1/32 inch so you will barely notice it. I have the same hori just in a different color and I barely notice the 1/32 inch thick plexi being there. That or I'm quite used to having the plexi there and dont feel it anymore.

    I dont recommend going bare metal since if you do eventually it will rust since its just a plain steel panel with no protective treatment.
Sign In or Register to comment.