Fightcade ST discussion!

Comments

• UCFinishUCFinish Tim Joined: Posts: 109
    Glad I came across this thread. I've been curious why online default is JP Turbo 1, and I see that its been answered.
    Thanks.
    Video games aren't supposed to make you feel miserable.
  • OhioNitsudOhioNitsud Joined: Posts: 81
    Been wanting to play this game for a couple years now. I'm hoping that learning the fundamentals here will help me in other fighters. I read some of the wiki, will go back and read it again and go over character strategy for Ryu and Ken. Is the AI rubberband?
  • BoggleMindsBoggleMinds Joined: Posts: 335
    edited February 2015
    hanasu wrote: »
    So it's all on FBA, and I do wish pof/ponder can eventually switch to using the latest FBA emulator at the very least.

It would literally take months of nonstop work to do this. The entire netcode DLL would have to be rewritten from scratch. People need to chill.

I'm a software developer myself, so I understand that often something that seems simple is in reality a lot more complicated! That said, I wonder what exactly about the netcode library makes it so tightly coupled to the old version of FBA and making an upgrade a daunting task. I'm guessing the netcode DLL that Ponder wrote (which of course is close-sourced) is hardcoded to use the old FBA? I can see how that could prevent us from ever upgrading unless Ponder decides to either 1) release the source code (never happening), or 2) spend time to update the DLL (also probably never happening given how busy he is with Stonehearth).

Sadly my C++ and C# proficiency is at a basic level (I'm a Java dev), otherwise I'd be interested in looking into providing assistance as it's a shame that fixes exist for FBA's frameskip/lag issues, but for various reasons we might never see those used in GGPO/Fightcade.