Measuring GGPOFBA Micro Stutter

delatroydelatroy My Blue BoatJoined: Posts: 293
There's been talk over the years about frame skip / micro stutter in Windows 7 versus a smooth experience in XP. There's a way that I found today where you measure micro stutter via frame time analysis.

Here's a FRAPs Bench Viewer output of ggpofba frametimes over around 5mins of play on my Windows 7 machine:
oxf6.png

You can see that overall it's very consistent however there are on occasion very large spikes once every minute which may or may not be noticeable while playing. I don't have a way to run the same test but I suspect XP will be more stable and I'm curious if there's any difference with other operating systems like Vista and 8. I'm wondering if you guys could post your results and setups so we can see what's going on.

The test is easily performed using FRAPs and FRAPs Bench Viewer as follows:

Part 1 - Creating the benchmark data files:

Go to the Fraps FPS tab:
1. set up an output folder
2. set up a hotkey
3. Benchmark settings:
a. Frametimes = ON
b. others = don't care

Part 2 - Run the Test

Navigate to your GGPO install directory and launch ggpofba.exe. Run a demo file by going to Game > Replay input or simply spectate a live GGPO game instead. Press the FRAPs hotkey to begin the benchmark. Press the hotkey again after around minutes of play to stop the benchmark.

Part 3 - Viewing the benchmark data files:

The files created by Fraps are "CSV" or "comma separated values," which can be easily opened in any spreadsheet program. Fraps Bench Viewer performs some basic analysis and visual presentation for ease of use.

To view a Fraps "* frametimes.csv" file in Fraps Bench Viewer, drag the file onto the open program window or onto the application icon.

After a few moments of processing, you will see a chart. You have a choice of three ways to view the data:
* Time, FPS or Rank. Time is what we're interested in to see the Frame Time results.

Part 4 -Take a screenshot of your chart and reply here.

-dela
«1

Comments

  • UnessentialUnessential Joined: Posts: 1,168
    wow. a frame being displayed for 40-60 ms every minute? i don't think that happened when i was on win7 or now that i'm on win 8...

    I would do the test with tinyXP on my laptop but my monitor died during the summer.
    <quitjockinmystyle> everybody i wil approve what is cheating moves or not.
    STToronto https://www.facebook.com/groups/499056723549379/
    Because very few ST players check SRK anymore. mostly it's the local facebook group and NHC.
    PM me here or on facebook if you need a stick mod or repair. Same with arcade boards and superguns.
  • delatroydelatroy My Blue Boat Joined: Posts: 293
    edited October 2013
    I did another test under identical settings in Windows 7 of the following FBA versions:

    *Left: FBA v0.2.97.29 x64 (latest build, contains a Windows Vista / 7 /8 Aero fix)
    *Right: FBA v0.2.96.74 (GGPO's version from 2008)

    a4nd.png

    Left: Occasional late frame, always followed by a seemingly "fast" but really on-time frame.

    Right: averaging 60 fps but has terrible microstutter.

    Enabling / disabling Aero in Windows 7 had no effect on the results.
    Post edited by delatroy on
  • delatroydelatroy My Blue Boat Joined: Posts: 293
    Supercade fairs a bit better but still has the microsutter:

    syrq.png
  • hanasuhanasu Joined: Posts: 130
    GGFreeO: o3fwVRp.png
    Supercade: roIF2iB.png
    _______________________________________________________________
    STRevival

    Twitter | Twitch | Youtube
  • JedahsMinistryJedahsMinistry BattousaiCV Joined: Posts: 542
    edited October 2013
    Good research, thanks for finding a way to measure.

    Tested on Win7-64bit/ 2.9Ghz i7 (quad core) with 8GB of ram running DirectX v11 on an nVidia GTS450
    Aero disabled for all. Autoframeskip disabled for all.
    I can test WinXP on the same hardware (loaded via Ramdisk but it will have much less ram available) tomorrow.
    All tests were 120 seconds.

    GGPO offline Replay - VSav
    ngr6pqil.jpg
    Full view - http://imgur.com/ngr6pqi

    GGPO offline Replay - XMCOTA (wanted to see if anything would change)
    epFlbWFl.jpg
    Full view - http://imgur.com/epFlbWF

    SuperCade Offline Replay - VSav
    c3xygb4l.jpg
    Full view - http://imgur.com/c3xygb4

    FBA-RR v07 XMCOTA offline playing around (not sure what FBA it's based on but it was built in 2011 so I assume it has the fix)
    f9VYCQDl.jpg
    Full view - http://imgur.com/f9VYCQD
    Gettysburg, PA
    Netplay Poverty - http://www.twitch.tv/randomalt
    X-Men COTA and stuff - http://www.youtube.com/user/BattousaiCV
    Blurbs about games - http://twitter.com/BattousaiCV
  • delatroydelatroy My Blue Boat Joined: Posts: 293
  • JedahsMinistryJedahsMinistry BattousaiCV Joined: Posts: 542
    Same hardware except system ram was 1.07GB in this test (actually about 700MB free when the test was run).
    Windows XP running from ramdisk with DirectX 9.0c

    GGPO offline VSav replay
    bBEC5chl.jpg
    Full view - http://i.imgur.com/bBEC5ch.jpg
    Gettysburg, PA
    Netplay Poverty - http://www.twitch.tv/randomalt
    X-Men COTA and stuff - http://www.youtube.com/user/BattousaiCV
    Blurbs about games - http://twitter.com/BattousaiCV
  • BoggleMindsBoggleMinds Joined: Posts: 335
    edited November 2013
    I'm of the firm belief that one factor in the declining playerbase on GGPO (at least for ST) is that more and more people are moving to Windows 7/8, and the horrible frameskip that is inherent in GGPOFBA feels even worse on Win7/8. On top of that, if they're running it on a laptop it will be on top of the laptop screen's display lag, making the whole experience a laggy and stuttering mess compared to arcade.

    I'm using XP with a lagless monitor, and GGPOFBA still suffers badly from input lag compared to ShmupMAME, along with the usual frameskip/stutter. I think it would definitely help if Ponder ported the code to newer versions of FBA, but I honestly don't think it's going to happen, especially given how busy Ponder is these days.

    //EDIT: I just tried the latest build of FBA, and it does seem like input lag is a lot better. Still not quite as good as ShmupMAME, but it seems like various fixes the devs have made worked as it feels more responsive.
    Post edited by BoggleMinds on
    "My first visit to an arcade changed my life. It was such a sensational experience. The fact I got to play with total strangers and connect with them through the game enthralled me." --Daigo Umehara

    www.youtube.com/Guoguodi
    GGPO Handle: Gizzle
  • JedahsMinistryJedahsMinistry BattousaiCV Joined: Posts: 542
    The source to his GGPOFBA was released, so someone could try applying the fix mentioned in that neosource thread and rebuild or integrating the GGPO functions into a newer FBA. Submit it to Ponder and see if he will integrate it into the GGPO.net download.

    I don't know if this has already been tried, it may have been and he simply said no.
    Gettysburg, PA
    Netplay Poverty - http://www.twitch.tv/randomalt
    X-Men COTA and stuff - http://www.youtube.com/user/BattousaiCV
    Blurbs about games - http://twitter.com/BattousaiCV
  • delatroydelatroy My Blue Boat Joined: Posts: 293
    Anyone got a link to the source?
  • JedahsMinistryJedahsMinistry BattousaiCV Joined: Posts: 542
    http://ggpo.net/download/ggpofba_0.2.96.71.zip

    In case hotlink doesn't work, last link on here - http://ggpo.net/download/
    Gettysburg, PA
    Netplay Poverty - http://www.twitch.tv/randomalt
    X-Men COTA and stuff - http://www.youtube.com/user/BattousaiCV
    Blurbs about games - http://twitter.com/BattousaiCV
  • BoggleMindsBoggleMinds Joined: Posts: 335
    edited November 2013
    I don't think Ponder released the actual source though, I remember him being reluctant to do that, possibly because people could then fork and create alternate competing versions of GGPO? In that zip file only the header files are readable, the actual code is compiled to binary inside ggponet.dll (correct me if I'm wrong).

    I tried a more up-to-date FBA version (June 2013 build) and they've definitely fixed both the input lag and the frame stutter issues with ST. I have GGPO's FBA and the newer FBA side by side, and switching between them, I can feel a noticeable difference in reduced input lag and the rendering being a lot smoother. There's also an option in the menu of the newer FBA to fix the input lag when running Aero mode on Windows 7/8.

    So what's it going to take to get Ponder to update the GGPO's FBA client? Would it be a difficult thing to reintegrate the GGPO code into the latest FBA source? I'm a software developer myself so I have some idea of the complexity involved, although it seems only Ponder himself would know exactly how much effort it would require. I just think it's a pity that a much improved FBA exists that could solve a lot of issues people have with the ST experience on GGPO, and yet we're stuck with an outdated, inferior client.

    "My first visit to an arcade changed my life. It was such a sensational experience. The fact I got to play with total strangers and connect with them through the game enthralled me." --Daigo Umehara

    www.youtube.com/Guoguodi
    GGPO Handle: Gizzle
  • JedahsMinistryJedahsMinistry BattousaiCV Joined: Posts: 542
    edited November 2013
    GGPO itself is contained in the DLL and that is still closed, but the FBA license required the modified FBA source (GGPOFBA) to be released. There was a discussion with the FBA authors on that -
    http://ggpo.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=3218

    Whether anyone can actually build a usable version from that source is another matter. But connection testing can be done through P2P rather than needing to connect to the GGPO.net server if it's actually buildable. http://forums.shoryuken.com/discussion/160583/ggpo-in-p2p-lan

    edit: did an online test to see how Fraps would react to a laggy game (we knew he was having internet trouble), the results:
    iYWZl8dl.jpg
    Full view - http://i.imgur.com/iYWZl8d.jpg
    Post edited by JedahsMinistry on
    Gettysburg, PA
    Netplay Poverty - http://www.twitch.tv/randomalt
    X-Men COTA and stuff - http://www.youtube.com/user/BattousaiCV
    Blurbs about games - http://twitter.com/BattousaiCV
  • -TheBastard--TheBastard- FAB u LOSE! Joined: Posts: 1,276

    So what's it going to take to get Ponder to update the GGPO's FBA client? Would it be a difficult thing to reintegrate the GGPO code into the latest FBA source? I'm a software developer myself so I have some idea of the complexity involved, although it seems only Ponder himself would know exactly how much effort it would require. I just think it's a pity that a much improved FBA exists that could solve a lot of issues people have with the ST experience on GGPO, and yet we're stuck with an outdated, inferior client.

    u can directly contact him: http://ggpo.net/about/

    I personally know that if enough ppl requests him about it, he listens, I remember when I trolled the ST room with the afk spam, plenty of players sent email to him, by the next day I was unable to afk spam LOL

    well, u can start making the ball roll

    <blitzfu> cool, and bastard is a loser, screen shot that
    <Pasky> he's always trolling, he has a macro button that troll
    <Kyouya>LoL Bastard, best post evah! But you forgot the tiger uppercut!!
    Imagine a snail being able to play fgs, and being a noob in it, it would sure be a salty snail, oh the tragedy of a snail!
  • GosBroDansFanGosBroDansFan Joined: Posts: 379
    Just throwing another screenshot into the mix:

    5WnA3psh.png

    I did the benchmark on a Win 7 pro 64 bit comp with 4gigs RAM. It looked very solid. I spectated matches on GGPO for the benchmark.
  • toastedsubtoastedsub zzzz Joined: Posts: 197
    edited November 2013
    reduce lag on ggpo
    I've been using these settings to play 3rd strike
    I recently switched to windows 8 and the settings still work
    I remember some other users who managed to compile a version of ggpo that worked on hamachi when ggpo was down, it makes me wonder if its possible to compile it with the new updated blitters from fba
    zzzzzzzzz
  • jugosojugoso FG enthusiast Joined: Posts: 208
    edited January 2014
    a few notes:

    * We have evidence that it's the emulator (at least, its version) ggpo's biggest problem for FG enthusiasts. Good stuff
    * See http://neosource.1emu.net/forums/index.php?topic=2379.0 for a guide to compiling fba
    * I did a proof-of-concept p2p +2player implementation on fba (ie: trust my opinion on fba, I know internets)
    * I'm not judging anyone, but touching ggpo is definately not a priority for Ponder. Any improvement on ggpo will be based on emulator update and client/server for matchmaking and it won't be done by him. Someone else needs to step up.
    * I've been talking to @Torta about updating the ggpo emulator. This is definately feasible.
    * The above need new client/server implementation, and I would like to keep the second LGPL. Anyone interested hit me up on twitter @kyoneoblood
    * why is this not in Tech Talk?
  • TortaTorta A piece of Cake Joined: Posts: 714
    Bump for the epicness of lagless w7 gaming :)
    VAMOS
    MCCthulhu >> all

    KOFXIII: Ash/King/Vice
  • eltroubleeltrouble Joined: Posts: 5,714
    jugoso wrote: »
    * I'm not judging anyone, but touching ggpo is definately not a priority for Ponder. Any improvement on ggpo will be based on emulator update and client/server for matchmaking and it won't be done by him. Someone else needs to step up.

    The problem is that many members of the community have offered their services to help update FBA settings and run additional servers at no cost to Ponder. Whenever we ask, he says he doesn't really want to do it, and offers no additional explanation.

    So it's not that people aren't willing to step up and do it, it's that Ponder has absolutely zero intent to update it in any way, shape, or form, or is even willing to consent to let others do it for him.

  • jugosojugoso FG enthusiast Joined: Posts: 208
    @eltrouble
    We don't need Ponder's supervision to upgrade his work.
    I actually started working (very slowly) on an upgrade: https://github.com/FelipeLema/nggpofba.

    I'm starting by making the code compilable with nowadays tools, which will probably exclude legacy aspects for a while (mainly DX7)
  • delatroydelatroy My Blue Boat Joined: Posts: 293
    The DDW fix has been implemented in FBA for a couple of years now. This part is no problem but the GGPO source from here I think is outdated so you'll probably need to get the latest version off him if you can.
  • dialupsuckydialupsucky FINAL SHOWDOWN Joined: Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭✭✭ OG
    Not sure if this would be the right thread for this. But how do I fix GGPO on windows 8 for this? I used to have vista and besides randomly a hiccup graphically it was fine. Now its always hella pixly and awkward looking. Any one know on how to fix this? Ive tried messing with the display options a bit which is how I fixed it in vista. But im not having any luck with windows 8. Thanks
  • JedahsMinistryJedahsMinistry BattousaiCV Joined: Posts: 542
    Try the Enhanced or Experimental blitters and let us know what happens. I haven't heard of anyone trying it on Win8 yet.
    Gettysburg, PA
    Netplay Poverty - http://www.twitch.tv/randomalt
    X-Men COTA and stuff - http://www.youtube.com/user/BattousaiCV
    Blurbs about games - http://twitter.com/BattousaiCV
  • JedahsMinistryJedahsMinistry BattousaiCV Joined: Posts: 542
    Does Win8 come with DirectX installed? Are there any compatibility settings?

    It sounds like it's using software rendering rather than hardware acceleration.
    Gettysburg, PA
    Netplay Poverty - http://www.twitch.tv/randomalt
    X-Men COTA and stuff - http://www.youtube.com/user/BattousaiCV
    Blurbs about games - http://twitter.com/BattousaiCV
  • dialupsuckydialupsucky FINAL SHOWDOWN Joined: Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭✭✭ OG
    Im not sure exactly im not particularly computer savvy myself. As far as I can tell the problem is, when ever GGPO fucked up on my old vista cpu. I could right click the display settings or whatever, and for some reason the cpu would be in 32 bit mode. Then I would switch it back to 64 bit and the graphics etc would be fine. Now with windows 7 and 8 it seems it just automatically sets everything to either 32 bit or 64 bit. And ggpo no matter what I do will always run in 32 bit mode with though I have 64 bit windows 8. I cant seem to find any option to switch this now like vista. Ive tried searching online as well and havnt been able to find a answer either. Ive tried messing with all the compatibility settings that I can think of off hand too. Bummer.
  • oldschool_BRoldschool_BR Projectile spammer Joined: Posts: 2,442
    Not sure what the problem is, but 32-bit binaries will not run in pure 64-bit operating systems. The only they to accomplish that is to actually have multi-library system that will have both 32 and 64-bit libraries so as to be able to run both kinds of files. Windows will never run GGPO is 64-bit mode if the file itself is not 64-bit.

    Now since Windows does not have a file command (unlike *nix operating systems), I decided to download the latest version, decompress and run the command on them. Here's the result:
    $ file *
    META-INF:           directory 
    assets:             directory 
    css:                directory 
    fonts:              directory 
    ggpo.exe:           PE32 executable (GUI) Intel 80386, for MS Windows
    ggpo.swf:           Macromedia Flash data (compressed), version 10
    ggpoair.exe:        PE32 executable (GUI) Intel 80386, for MS Windows
    ggpofba.exe:        PE32 executable (GUI) Intel 80386, for MS Windows
    ggponet.dll:        PE32 executable (DLL) (GUI) Intel 80386, for MS Windows
    kailleraclient.dll: PE32 executable (DLL) (GUI) Intel 80386, for MS Windows, UPX compressed
    mfc80u.dll:         PE32 executable (DLL) (GUI) Intel 80386, for MS Windows
    mimetype:           ASCII text, with no line terminators
    msvcr80.dll:        PE32 executable (DLL) (GUI) Intel 80386, for MS Windows
    savestates:         directory
    
    So the files are 32-bit and cannot be run in 64-bit mode.
  • dialupsuckydialupsucky FINAL SHOWDOWN Joined: Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭✭✭ OG
    Dunno what to say then because thats how I got it to work in my 64 bit vista. Graphics were clear, but everynow and then my shit might bug out. And it would reset and it would say its in 32 bit mode again. And ggpo would be super pixly. So I would right click display and set everything back to 64 bit. And it would be fine again. Doesnt seem to work like this though anymore in windows 8. It automatically sets everything to 64 bit or 32 bit and I can not choose it manually anymore.
  • JedahsMinistryJedahsMinistry BattousaiCV Joined: Posts: 542
    Try downloading a DirectX update, although that may not help. Do you know what your video card is? If it has a control panel with program specific settings, you might be able to force it to do some stuff like running in a compatibility mode.

    There's also Windows compatibility settings, although I question how much of an effect they have. It can't hurt to try -
    http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/how-to-run-older-programs-under-windows-8.html
    Gettysburg, PA
    Netplay Poverty - http://www.twitch.tv/randomalt
    X-Men COTA and stuff - http://www.youtube.com/user/BattousaiCV
    Blurbs about games - http://twitter.com/BattousaiCV
  • Noble CactusNoble Cactus 56k Days Joined: Posts: 8,476
    edited February 2014
    My results from speccing a Hong Kong to Japan Vampire Savior match:

    5xiI7LD.jpg

    I am running ggpofba in Windows 7.
  • papasipapasi N Ken is the truth Joined: Posts: 1,568
    edited March 2014
    Sorry I'm late to this thread. Delatroy just pointed me to this.

    Here's what I understand so far

    The latest shipped version of ggpofba is 0.2.96.74

    The source code ponder released is http://ggpo.net/download/ggpofba_0.2.96.71.zip

    Unless he made actual improvement to the ggpo.dll, he probably just port the fba diff from .71 to .74.

    If not, we'll have to ask ponder for the latest ggpo.dll. He's 24x7 with his latest startup along with his brother and friends, but I think he'll eventually respond.

    Now, I read the fba building instruction from http://neosource.1emu.net/forums/index.php?topic=2379.0

    The latest fba is http://www.barryharris.me.uk/files/fba_src_029729.7z
    http://www.barryharris.me.uk/fba.php

    Jugoso, what changes have you made to the github fork you have there, can you already build it with the GNU tools?

    Updating ggpofba.exe could be feasible depending on whether the latest fba made some big architectural changes, and whether the up to date ggpo.dll is contained in ggpofba_0.2.96.71.zip.

    We'll also need the vanilla fba 0.2.96.71 source code so we can diff against ggpofba_0.2.96.71.zip, and port those diff to the latest fba.
    I tried to see if they keep old source tarball in the same location but nope
    http://www.barryharris.me.uk/files/fba_src_029671.7z

    Do the maintainers (CaptainCPS-X , Treble Winner ?) have a official code repo on google code, source forge or github?


    //EDIT: I just tried the latest build of FBA, and it does seem like input lag is a lot better. Still not quite as good as ShmupMAME, but it seems like various fixes the devs have made worked as it feels more responsive.

    What rom set you used ? I downloaded latest fba64_029729, neither the existing ggpo rom set nor the shmupmame st romset worked :(
    Post edited by papasi on
    eltrouble "I doubt that ST will be on the main stream ever again."
    OhNuki: Real men play ST!!
    James Chen: there is something special about playing ST on a cab. It just feels so goooooood.
    Super Turbo Hitbox & safe jump guide http://www.strevival.com/hitbox/
  • jedpossumjedpossum Ok, Darling Joined: Posts: 4,227
    In case people missed this, Zinac released his networking code on the MIT license.

    https://github.com/rcmagic/ShobuNetwork/

    I occasionally stream so you can see how boring poking around in the memory is. www.hitbox.tv/jedpossum

    [8/6/2014 8:19:53 PM] Pasky: jedpossum, hacker of the obscure fighting games

  • Born2SPDBorn2SPD SPD Fanatic Joined: Posts: 276
    How good is it? Where is it used?
    I keep reading stuff about ST revival, about bringing this game back to life...
    Its nice to see big tourneys happening and old top players giving this game a chance again...
    But what we really need is new players... And having a strong scene obviously helps...
    But in my opinion what will really bring new players to our community is good tutorials/character guides so they can learn easily and have something to start... So, actually good players, stop being selfish and write stuff about the chars you know! The wiki is lacking so much basic content... Stop being lazy and do something about it.
  • jedpossumjedpossum Ok, Darling Joined: Posts: 4,227
    edited March 2014
    Born2SPD wrote: »
    How good is it? Where is it used?
    In the game he's working which is in public alpha(Fearless Night).
    Me and MightyMar have played each other on it, the netcode is really good.

    Edit: It allows a rollback style netcode. Which I should of stated on the first post.

    I occasionally stream so you can see how boring poking around in the memory is. www.hitbox.tv/jedpossum

    [8/6/2014 8:19:53 PM] Pasky: jedpossum, hacker of the obscure fighting games

  • delatroydelatroy My Blue Boat Joined: Posts: 293
    What rom set you used ? I downloaded latest fba64_029729, neither the existing ggpo rom set nor the shmupmame st romset worked :(

    This is normal because the mame rom set updated since the 2008 GGPO FBA release. You can combine your current ssf2t.zip and ssf2tu.zip and it should be fine.

    See here: http://neosource.1emu.net/forums/index.php?topic=2436.0
  • papasipapasi N Ken is the truth Joined: Posts: 1,568
    delatroy wrote: »
    What rom set you used ? I downloaded latest fba64_029729, neither the existing ggpo rom set nor the shmupmame st romset worked :(

    This is normal because the mame rom set updated since the 2008 GGPO FBA release. You can combine your current ssf2t.zip and ssf2tu.zip and it should be fine.

    See here: http://neosource.1emu.net/forums/index.php?topic=2436.0

    cool. i'll give clrmamepro a try


    fba64_029729
    jedpossum wrote: »
    Born2SPD wrote: »
    How good is it? Where is it used?
    In the game he's working which is in public alpha(Fearless Night).
    Me and MightyMar have played each other on it, the netcode is really good.

    Edit: It allows a rollback style netcode. Which I should of stated on the first post.

    Besides the lax licensing term of FBA, why haven't people looked into implementing good quality net code in better emulators like groovymame or shmupmame? Do you think it will be tough to integrate ShobuNetwork with mame as least for p2p style connection without a match making service like ggpo.net?
    eltrouble "I doubt that ST will be on the main stream ever again."
    OhNuki: Real men play ST!!
    James Chen: there is something special about playing ST on a cab. It just feels so goooooood.
    Super Turbo Hitbox & safe jump guide http://www.strevival.com/hitbox/
  • jedpossumjedpossum Ok, Darling Joined: Posts: 4,227
    papasi wrote: »
    Besides the lax licensing term of FBA, why haven't people looked into implementing good quality net code in better emulators like groovymame or shmupmame? Do you think it will be tough to integrate ShobuNetwork with mame as least for p2p style connection without a match making service like ggpo.net?

    Well each system uses a different savestate setup and some systems don't even have savestate supported on Mame. So not all games could be supported. If it was going to be done you have to focus only on a few systems at first.

    I occasionally stream so you can see how boring poking around in the memory is. www.hitbox.tv/jedpossum

    [8/6/2014 8:19:53 PM] Pasky: jedpossum, hacker of the obscure fighting games

  • papasipapasi N Ken is the truth Joined: Posts: 1,568
    FYI antervud found the vanilla source of
    http://www.barryharris.me.uk/files/fba_src_029670.zip
    http://www.barryharris.me.uk/files/fba_src_029672.zip

    but for some reasons they don't have fba_src_029671.zip

    anyway the latest ggpofba is 029674 and they do have the vanilla source of that
    http://www.barryharris.me.uk/files/fba_src_029674.zip

    I just took a cursory glance of diff between fba_src_029670.zip and ggpofba_0.2.96.71.zip
    It wasn't too bad but not trivial either.

    However the bad news is the diff between fba_src_029674.zip and the latest fba_src_029729.7z
    They reorg a lot of code. So really need someone very motivated to do the port, given that ponder will give us ggpofba_0.2.96.74.zip (which according to license term of fba he should, but he's extremely busy)
    eltrouble "I doubt that ST will be on the main stream ever again."
    OhNuki: Real men play ST!!
    James Chen: there is something special about playing ST on a cab. It just feels so goooooood.
    Super Turbo Hitbox & safe jump guide http://www.strevival.com/hitbox/
  • antervudantervud Joined: Posts: 59
    edited March 2014
    this should be the release immediately after the frame fixes (apparently they skipped a code release to protest against some unofficial versions teams that don't wanna release source code)
    http://www.barryharris.me.uk/article_view.php?id=152 (0.2.97.09 Release)

    maybe this has less code reorganization

    you can see captain-cps claim that in this thread
    http://neosource.1emu.net/forums/index.php?topic=1482.msg11622#msg11622

    edit: this is the nearest available http://www.barryharris.me.uk/files/fba_src_029713.7z
  • AlexisdabombAlexisdabomb Joined: Posts: 2,528
    You think you guys could modify FBA to run 3S at an arcade perfect level?
    "I wish someone would flex in front of the camera and say I'm awesome....

    ;_; "

    Dander.
«1
Sign In or Register to comment.