1x4 Buttons or 2x2 Buttons for SNK games?

Do you use a 2x2 layout or a 1x4 layout for games like King of Fighters XIII? I’m torn on the advantages of either one. I use 1x4 but that makes it difficult to do LP+HP and LK+HK. 2x2 makes it not difficult, but a bit awkward, to do LK+HP (Hyperdrive) in King of Fighters XIII unless you use an extra button to activate.

I personally feel like the 1X4 LP>LK>HP>HK is a much more ergonomically layout for me for KoF. Sure PP and KK feels weird at first, but once you get into it then you’ll be perfectly fine with the layout. Though both of them are fine IMO.

Always 1x4

If you got a 6 button stick then you drop the A Button to the lower row and keep the other buttons on the top row
But that is it

Just look at every neo geo cab

I play guilty gear, so the 1x4 is just kinda natural.

Depends on the game. For KOF I use 2x2, most other neo games I use 1x4.

2x2 cos I’m a Capcom noob.

3x1

Back when KOF’95 got really popular around here, people were so used to SF2 and most of the arcade cabinets used its button layout (3x3), so most of us got used to play KOF with:

A B C
— D

Of course we had a lot of trouble playing on “original” SNK cabinets, with its (then) weird layout of 4 buttons in one line, slightly bent.

http://gamesdbase.com/Media/SYSTEM/Arcade/CP/big/SNK_vs.Capcom-SVC_Chaos_Plus-2003-_Bootleg.jpg

Back then we also played KOF a lot on Sega Saturn and I even used this layout on the Saturn’s pad, but assigned friendly shortcuts to the other buttons. For this same reason I didn’t like to play SNK games on a PS1 pad (plus the PS1 ports of SNK games were inferior anyway)

To this day I can only play SNK games like that

Currently 2x2 but I am practicing the 1x4 since it allows me to use a single finger for each button and strings come out easier.

In General how many Neo Geo fighting games play, not just KoF the 1x4 makes alot more sense.