360/Analog Sticks on a Fight Stick

So…don’t judge me I have my trusty modded Atrox for normal fighting games…but I’m building a fight stick for Super Smash Brothers: Project M.

The main issue I’m having however, is that I need to be able to register tilts as well as full directional movement, so it looks like I need to use a 360 degree stick similar to what you see in some arcade cabinets.

I’m looking at the Ultrastik 360 Arcade Joystick for the stick and my PCB is planned to be the Toodles Cthulu (because what CAN’T you do? <3), I just don’t know if I can use this stick on this PCB as this is my first build. (although I have modded my Atrox with some new wiring, art, restrictor plate, and blazblue buttons)
Link to the stick: http://www.ebay.com/itm/ULTRASTIK-360-ARCADE-JOYSTICK-BLACK-BALL-TOP-HANDLE-SUPPORTS-UP-TO-8-BUTTONS-/271278522964?pt=UK_Video_Games_Coin_Operated_MJ&hash=item3f2975c254

If this is a no-go, do you guys know of any sticks that can handle the tilts that I need? I’m having difficulty finding anything outside of the reliable 8-way sticks I’m used to.

edit: alternatively, are there any controller thumbstick modules that work well if I attach a stick and balltop to the end of without them having an awkward feel?

Your problem is less of whether or not that joystick unit can do analog, and more of whether or not the PCB you choose can handle the analog input.
Most arcade-fighting-game-joystick-driven PCBs don’t take analog inputs; and while the Cthulhu does emulate the left/right analog sticks, it doesn’t actually take in analog inputs.

I’m also doubtful that you’d be able to use the stick you linked to with the application that you’re intending, since it appears to run on a totally separate interface (ie, it has its own PCB); but I’ll leave that to someone else more knowledgeable on analog joysticks to chime in.

http://www.ultimarc.com/ultrastik_info.html