That is strange that you couldn’t figure out when Ryu can strike. It is a tricky super and I have, maybe once, got Ken on a Power Bomb from Alex. I started the move on Ken before he started the super so when he activated super, hands were well out and ready to reel him in
The reason shippu beats ex srk is because it has more priority. Throws have more priority than supers, which is why powerbomb beats it, but the grab has to be active as soon as shippu is active.
I repeat and offer the solace of a grain of salt, priority in the sense that in an unspecified situation x will always beat y is just not true.
I guess I should clear that up. I know some people use “priority” to describe the startup of a move or its number of active frames or whatever. I’m talking about the priority system for the types of hitboxes coded in the game - what happens when the active frames of two moves intersect.
They trade. Supers have no hurtbox in many cases and thus the seemingly invincible state but if there are two hit boxes one for each character and each of those hitboxes overlaps with a hitbox, they will trade.
Found this draft recorded for this topic (didn’t know forum allowed one draft per topic), don’t know why i didn’t posted it at the time. It was about Isotopez find about SA3 being able to hit pushbox, and i was answering to Tebbo post i guess:
Actually, seems it does work with pushbox acting like regular hitbox.
Tested it with SA3 vs ex SRK (both ken):
- if SA3 doesn’t overlap pushbox (is too far), then nothing happen even when active hitbox is over srk active hitbox (quite normal)
- if SA3 does overlap it (even from 1 pixel), then it hits even though ther’s supposedly nothing to hit (except pushbox and active HB)
Also, it doesn’t seem to apply vs another SA, as Oro ex SA1 still remains invulnerable vs Jinrai, active hitbox overlapping pushbox or not. Same for Jinrai vs Ken SA1 or 2…
Good find isotopez!
There is no trade. The ex srk overlaps with Ken, but Ken does not get hit by it. The first hit of shippu overlaps with Ryu, and he does get hit by it. The same thing happens with throws as long as the super has a throwable hitbox, which shippu does, but instead of shippu winning, throw wins.
Crazy that shippu can hit pushboxes.
I wonder if that is common or uncommon.
I’ve only tested genei jin, shippu, corkscrew blow, and tanden renki. I know from experience that activation supers like tengu stone and denjin hit pushboxes. Tanden renki doesn’t seem to give makoto’s normals super priority though. I assume the general rule is that supers can hit pushboxes, with a few exceptions, like tanden renki and grab supers.
What do the colors on there mean? Are the green push, red hit and blue hurt? I couldn’t guess for the white ones.
It looks there like Ryu is getting hit on the ground which is strange for this scenario because you said you used EX uppercut and all situations where it was EX upper vs Shippu usually end up with the EX upper getting hit out of the ground.
You’re right about the red, green, and blue boxes. White is the throwable hitbox.
It’s definitely ex srk because all his other srks have hurtboxes. I’m pretty sure he’s grounded for the first few frames. I don’t know what frame he’s airborne on, but I remember hitting him out of the air when I was messing around with the move timings.
He becomes airborne at 5th frame.
on ESN’s site what would be an example of dash back (recovery cancelled)?
In MISC menu, you can click on the little blue/green/red icon to watch it in action.
‘Full animation’ means i did nothing and the end of animation is triggered by a parameter (in game core) going back to neutral value.
‘Recovery cancelled’, as soon i inputted the dash, i held up direction to cancel it.
IIRC, since then, Tebbo (i think?) has shown attacks may be able to cancel dashes sooner than jump.
General 3S/3S OE Thread. NO DISCUSSING REBALANCE, unless you like INFRACTIONS!
wow thats pretty cool…so jumps cancel dash recovery.thanks for such a speedy answer i appreciate it
Jumps or any attack/special/sa i think. Hence Makoto being able to karakusa after a hella short dash forward.
Is this a dynamic of the system that anyone on here consciously uses? If so, please explain how with some examples. Thanks!
Never knew things worked that way but I had been using something like this before. After a forward throw with Gouki against Yun, if you dash at him while he quickrises he gets 123 for free, but dash demon beats it. I just figured demon breaks lots of rules anyway so shrug
I think dashes also cancel dash recovery. If you watch good Oros you will see that it looks like they’re “chaining” the dashes.
my understanding of it has always been the exact opposite. ie. that you can cancel dash “recovery” with anything (jump, block, attack, etc) except another dash. i based this off the fact that makoto has to wait a noticeable amount of time between two consecutive dashes and esn’s chart shows that she has the longest “recovery” frames, so i put two and two together and ended up with this theory. could be wrong but this is how i’ve always interpreted whatever dash “recovery” is.