3s:Great game, Bad Cast?

On another board I got involved with a thread about 3rd Strike being a great game plagued by a bad cast. I’ll admit that I was a bit put off by the fact that I only knew a few of the cast members when i started playing, but as I’ve gotten more into the game and more acquainted with the characters, they’ve definitely grown on me. I also didn’t play NG or 2I before, so I didn’t know any of the newer characters from those games.

I am still a bit confused as to why they had some 3s characters play slightly like older characters (like Remy’s specials and even some normals reminding one of Guile’s moveset) instead of just bringing back the older characters. But as I said before, the cast has definitely grown on me as I’ve played more and I’m glad they didn’t bring back more older characters.

So what do you guys think? Is the cast great, weak, in-between?

I think the cast is great.

3’s brought a bunch of new characters that were new to the SF series and like you, I at first didn’t like them too much but they all grew on me.

Esp chars like: Q, Gill, Necro & Alex.

i’ll take oro, makoto, and dudley over any other sf characters

no, the roster is fine and it’s good that it has different chars than SFII, it’s a different game dammit !

There are some very original or more modern designs in that game, eventhough, of course, as in every game, some already look dated and old.
And the fighting styles are very studied.
I think they made Remy/necro etc… just to propose a new design, more up to date with 2000 mood.

Fans being fans, change guile’s old design a bit to update him, and you’ll have as many complaints and praises.
And guile didn’t change a bit in SFIV.
Then it’s easier (and more interesting) to propose a new skin for an old moveset.

love oro, makoto, Q, 12 and I prefer Sean over Dan.

Ibuki is my favorite SF character ever, and shes not in any other game.

Sean>Dan

keep: Urien, Gill, Alex, Hugo, Yun, Yang, Duds, Q