3s on dreamcast

I’m just getting into Third Strike, and i’m thinking about buying it for dreamcast since not too many arcades that i know of have it in so cal except for family fun. I was wondering if there are many differences between the DC version and the arcade version and if it’s even worth buying since it’s so hard to find. Thanks.

It is well worth your money.

The only difference is slightly less frames per sprite (barely even noticable), The music isn’t as deep (IMO, I’m not sure if this is fact), and unblockables are taken out (not sure if all of them are, but the few I know have been).

This one alone is reason enough to buy a DC.

^What he said.

Nice av btw.

sweet. this is good news, thanks

Jiorn, your avatar makes me very happy.

the number of frames are the same, but there’s a moderately insignificant shift in start-up and hit frames. moderately insignificant because this usually has no effect on some characters, but on others, it does. the music’s just as good :stuck_out_tongue:

but yea, definitely should buy the game. don’t let anyone start ragging about how 3S DC sucks – they’re just pussies who can’t play the game well enough. WHINERS :lol:

Yeah, I mean, KO, KSK, Izu, we all know those guys can’t play 3s well enough alright… They know nothing! Listen to the almightly exodus and his frame data of doom instead. :wink:

Don’t worry, DC 3s is fine if you’re just getting into the game. But keep in mind that it’s not arcade perfect and the timings and a few more things (speed, sprite size, etc…) are different. Still way better than DC Alpha 3 though.

the japanese players are much more resource-intensive than we are. they don’t NEED DC 3S at ALL. meanwhile, the population of US arcades with 3S in them are slim. the only one he knows of is at family fun, but a newbie definitely would not spend lots of money playing against family fun competition.