99% Noob to SSF4 AE

I just recently started playing fighting games and i found it very entertaining instead of calling in attack dogs all day long on b ops. So yeah i have SOME experience in the fighting game genre such as cross ups , dragon punch motion, fireball, frame trap, grabbing and all that basic stuff. My first fighter would have to be MVC3 sadly that game is so easy mode lol, when i hopped onto AE about 3days ago all i got was like 5k+ battle points while im here waiting at the loading screen with 3 digit battle points and that’s only if im lucky to find anyone online (CANADA) So basically what i need help is:
Who is the most noob-friendly character in SSF4 AE?
How can i improve my skills towards this game when no online is at my level =/?
Any help would be much appreciated

1.Ryu is a good place to start.
2. Play people better than you. Boo hoo if you lose, get your ass whooped and you will level up very quickly.
3. You can add me on xbl. GT is Pong Boom is you want any help.

PongBoom is right. With Ryu you’ll get the best overall training of footsies, anti air, zoning. He’s not the most execution intense character but as he’s well rounded, he gives you a good overview of the important aspects of the game.

I’d say pick up a charge character on top of Ryu or Ken. If you play charge characters, chance are you’ll be holding back all the time. Alternating between them can help you develop a better sense of footsies and zoning, or so I find.

I’m still fuzzy as to how getting roflstomped all over PSN or XBL helps people “get better”. If I play a match, get the unholly hell kicked out of me by some pro Balrog, what exactly am I learning?

I’ve never understood that piece of advice. Playing people who are a little bit better than you can yield insights into the game, but getting stomped into the ground just increases frustration.