A-Chun vs P-Geese

chun-li

Ive started to use a-chun recently. I realize c-chun is better but I play a-groove, so I dont want a lot of replies saying to change grooves :smiley:

Anyway, i need some help with this matchup. P-geese is owning my chun. I cant jump. I get maybe 1 or 2 successful jumps in a game. I get grounded by c.jab, c.rh, s.rh, and if i do manage to get in the air, his c.fierce is more than enough to stop my cross up attempts. Attacking from the front has not been too successful either, because all his wiffed attacks seem to leave him plenty of time to safe parry -> close s.fierce (out of the air)/throw.

I’ve tried using twds.rh against his poke string (c.jab, c.jab, c.rh, repuken). But Im just forced to block more jabs, get a counter hit if I try to jab, or a low parry. Ive thought of using rc sbk at this point too but im not too good at those and I dont even know if they will be effective (ie will they be fast enough that he cant high counter).

I cant get into my s.mp range because of his s.rh zoning. If I block one of these I either get low parried, or am forced to block a c.rh xx repuken and the poking starts all over again.

So I guess my main problem is, how do I escape the poke strings. Is there a way to keep him out?

Any other strats/setups with chun would be good too, but mostly relating to geese as he’s the only character im at a total loss with what to do.

Oh, and I do her ghetto sweep/sbk custom cuz I havent had a chance to practice her others :smiley:

Hahaha

Do what I do, run away from him all day, don’t bother trying to counter his block strings. And after his standing roundhouse, try to throw him if he is close. Cause he wants that low parry.

Tick throws also work pretty well against steve in general.

He’s never close after a s.rh. If I try to throw I get c.jab, c.jab, c.rh

all i know is that c.forward kills geese’s s.rh…that what i do when i have chun vs his geese.