A complete newbie's question about getting good at SSFIV

G’day folks. Since I’m sure everyone’s got stuff to do I’ll keep it short.

What does it take to become decent – in my opinion, that’d be being able to defeat about 75% of the players online – at street fighter?

Does it really require extensive knowledge of frame data, knowing nearly every worthwhile combo of a character and/or doing nothing but street fighter during a large part of your average week?

Y’see. I suck. I don’t seem to get the game (for instance by getting my behind handed to me by people below a 100 BP and PP, even though I’ve gotten over a 1000PP for a while) and I wonder whether I’m just doing something wrong, or whether I’m ignorant of something, or whether there’s something I haven’t thought of.

And lastly, sorry to bug everyone about this, but I have nowhere else to ask.

online?

step1: block random DP
step2: punish

repeat until win

also, Newbie Saikyo Dojo check this place out… find your main and go to their subforum and read/ask questions there… practice lots… realize that everything you’re reading/practicing is worthless because online all you find are people who die to the above 2 step process.

Ohoho Gwass hoppa…Knowledge only comes with experience.

Honestly, there is no quick way to be good. Even learning the combos will take you only so far. Frame data is not really that important to being good and just is only a mathmatical way to figure what works and doesn’t, people don’t see those numbers in their head when they fight. There are so many factors that go into being good to really pinpoint it. You can spend so much time on what you are doing, but what really matters in any fighter is knowing what the opponent can and wants to do.

Yes. You gotta play if you want to be good.