A few questions on Street Fighter 4 AE

Before I start just want to say that I play Ryu.

Ok so my first question is how do I implement combos into games? Like I can do many of Ryu’s combos fine in training mode, but I have a hard time using them during a match. I just find myself slowly poking my opponent to death with crouch medium kick and fireballs.

Also I want to know what to do after a knockdown. Like I try to jump in or do something but I always get punished by wake up uppercut. I have found myself just crouching next to my opponent and not touching any buttons. Perhaps a specific example with Ryu on what to do?

Thanks in advanced.

Fundamentals before combos.

Take the time to watch and rewatch the video tutorials for total beginners.

Go watch a match of Daigo playing and see how much of his damage just comes from cr.mk or fireballs. It’s a large portion. Don’t be concerned with doing combos all the time, worry about optimizing damage.

Most combo implementation comes from capitalizing to the max in specific situations. Sometimes the best damage off getting a jump-in is cr.mk xx hk tatsu. Sometimes it’s cr.hp xx lp SRK, FADC U1. Try to be greedy with combos and figure out which situations they work in.

Ryu has great safe jump options. Off a backthrow, immediately cr.mp, hold up forwards is a true safe jump (won’t work on shotos, Blanka, Cammy, or Sagat). After a forward throw, you can either do a safe jump or a crossup that makes reversal SRK whiff. After a sweep, if you just hold up forwards, it’s a true safe jump that’s really strong (won’t work on shotos, Blanka, Cammy, or Sagat).

Worst case scenario, you can usually throw a lp hadouken and get some free chip.

99% of combos are applied in either whiff punishes, frame traps or wake up extensions for Ryu.

You generally practice combos in training to get the muscle memory for the timing down, you won’t necessarily always apply them raw in matches.