A New Warrior Has Entered The Ring! (Worklog Thread)

Hey all! I think I’m finally ready to get the ball rolling on my first custom :lovin:

I’ve ordered the following:

• 8 x OBSN-30 (Yellow)
  • 3 x SDM-18 (White Plunger, Black Rim)
  • 1 x JLF-TP-8YT (Yellow Balltop, GT-Y gate, harness & the flat mounting plate)

Still need to get:

• Wood (MDF)
  • QDs
  • Wire
  • Project Box
  • Wireless 360 PCB

I wanted to what I had in mind in case anyone more experienced might notice any issues I may run in to.

Here is my plan thus far:

http://img27.imageshack.us/img27/6682/3dmodel.jpg

I wanted to keep it simple since its my first attempt and the last time I worked with wood was 13 years ago in woodshop.

Instead of using blocks to mount the panel on I was thinking of carving out 1/2" of the 3/4" MDF like in the pic below:

http://img17.imageshack.us/img17/4548/3dmodeldimensions.jpg

I wanted to have the back/home/start buttons on top above the joystick meaning I’d have to cut out some of the panel support.

1. If I was to remove the support on the top part of the box (the one with the dimension marked) would that compromise my build?

Looking at other panels I always see the button holes have 2 sizes to make room for the nut that threads onto each button. The process seem a little difficult for me and it looks like it requires some skill.

1. Would routing out a chunk around all the buttons like in the pic below work just as good?

http://img6.imageshack.us/img6/3581/3dmodelbuttons.jpg

1. Also, for the SDM-18 buttons above the joystick I was thinking of jut cutting a slot in the panel (18mm high, wide enough for 3 buttons) and just snapping the buttons to the acrylic cover (it should be thick enough). Can you see where this wouldn’t work?

I will have access to some good tools (table saw, router, etc.) thanks to my father inlaw’s garage and hopefully he’ll be able to lend a hand (fingers crossed).