A new warrior has entered the ring!

Hey everyone, i know these kinds of threads must be all over the place but i wanted to start a new one just to get direct answers to my problem.

I have been following fighting games for around 2-3 years now and have never played at all, i never really had the time to grind out the hours to learn and really get good at playing. I just started college and have a lot of spare time on my hands during the summer and want to start playing USF4, so i got the game today and ofc im a complete noob. I have small amounts of knowledge from reading the threads here and always watching a lot of pros and torneys (Fchamp and PRog streams) i am very willing to learn and want to some day play at a higher level.

so enough about my life story, where do i get started? i know that a good start is to pick up Ryu and just get used to the flow of the game and learning the basic movements footies etc but how would i go about doing that? should i play the arcade mode over and over or sit in training mode and learn?

I want to try and play Juri or ken im not 100% sure on who i want to main out of the two but juri and ken have always been 2 characters that peeked my interest but i wouldn’t mind playing anyone out of the cast i don’t really have a preference. i have a very aggressive play style and always like to be on the attack as much as i can so a character that fits that would be great! Im currently playing on PSN and im using a pad but hopefully should have a stick in the next week or so, also what button layout should i use for the time being while i have a pad?

any help would be greatly appreciated