A truly bizarre question (N64 Controller)

Here’s a truly weird question…is there any way to use a Nintendo 64 pad on a PS2?

There’s a certain kind of N64 pad (minus the autofire / slo-mo) that I’ve been using for years (6+ years exclusively, actually) on a Adaptoid.

Of course, a N64 to PS2 adapter doesn’t exist, and as far as I know, there isn’t a USB to PS2 adapter. Might there be a way of fitting a PS2 PCB into such a controller, or some other means of getting a hold of something with a similar shape to that controller?

Thanks in advance to any help! :tup:

Off of my head, I can imagine that it might be possible to highjack the pcb of the n64 with a ps1 series controller. I imagine soldering wires from the ps1 controller to the traces that lead to the buttons on the pcb of the N64 controller. I have two N64 controllers but dont think I will try this on my own. I might open it and look.

If you use the way I said it, you might be able to fit the pcb of the Series A solderless type into the shaft of where you would insert a memory card. Talking about it makes me feel there is a way.

Also the pcb from the SF anniversary stick seems small enought to hide almost in the controller. You would mostlikely have some of it hanging out. I am sure given the size of the N64 controller, getting a good grip wont be a problem.

Hmm, I hope there’s a way. I have 5 or 6 of these N64 controllers laying around and I’d really, really like to have the guts of them replaced with some form of PS pcb if at all possible. Unfortunately I don’t know thing one about wiring and such. :shake:

It’d be an absolute godsend to have one or two of these done in time for FRXI.

You might want to talk to fallback he did a similar mod where he used a street fighter pad and hacked it for the 360 check this thread out.