A very strange character situation

I’ve been playing street fighter 4 AE for about 3 or 4 months now, and I’ve been wanting to stick to a single character for a while. The only problem is that my Dan is ten times better than all of my other characters (gouken, rose, cody, etc.). I really like Dan, and I’m pretty good with him, but I don’t want to plateau at a certain point because my character is THAT bad. Coming from a veteran, what should I do?Will picking Dan over other characters really make that much of a difference?
Sincerely, Not Falco