Adapting to FightStick from pad

My whole life I played on arcades, but for the last 4 years I’ve played on videogames only. My gf, bless her, gave me a MadCatz Pro Fightstick for christmas so I’ve been playing with it almost non-stop for 24 hours now.

It’s great, the accessibility of the buttons put Focus attacks and FADC’s right into my game with little effort, but I’m having some dificulty adapting the hand positions during the fight. As you change sides, or charge up , etc, your hand needs to move on the stick and I’m having some troubles. Result is that I’ve lost the majority of fights that I fought today.

How was that transition for you? Did you struggle for a bit? I’m surprised actually. Will it get better?

The same exact thing happened to me. I started playing on stick at the arcades but then home consoles were getting ports in the mid 90s so i got used to my saturn pad. Thr best advice I can give you is never got back no matter how frustrating it could get. Now i could never go back to playing on a pad. It will get better and become 2nd nature.

Sleep is important when you are learning new motor skills. Your brain strengthens the new connections you make, so after a night of practice (and possible roadblocks), you will often feel more control the next day!

It was tough for me staying motivated to train stick because I fought with controllers for two years. I think both are viable but some characters have techniques that are harder on controller (like plinking medium attacks)

I won my first stick thanks to my high school’s black history quizbowl, got it home, and was complete and utter ass. It only took me a week or so to get it down, do it’s not that long. Best advice here is to just not quit.

Give it a month at least.