Advice against a specific strategy

I have been playing 3rd strike for about 6 months now and have been developing my skills a lot over the summer. However, when I return to college is when I will really put my 3S skills to the test. One of the people at my college plays as Ryu 99% of the time, and he generally uses this annoying strategy and I would like to know from other players how you would deal with it. Of course I haven’t faced him in 4 months, so I might be able to take him down now, because I have evolved in my game tremendously from back in May.

Anyway, his strategy basically consists of turtling like crazy if I attack, then countering with either a shoryuken or a fireball. He basically plays a punish game. He waits for me to mess up, then attacks. He also parries like crazy, then counters. However, if I refuse to attack him, or just lay back (with Q for example), he corners me and continously uses overheads and lows. This presents a problem for Q because he needs the player to jump in order to get out of the corner most of the time. I would like to know how I could deal with this aggravating strategy. I know its easy to beat, but I just haven’t quite found the weak spot in his game. However, I am beginning to think punishing his low fierce kick with Q’s SA1 would be perfect, because he uses that constantly as a panick move, and as just a general annoyance move.

All advice/strategies are welcome! :slight_smile: