Advice against Yun/yang?

makoto

Im up to over 2k bp ranked 100 or so with makoto but i am totally free against yun/yang.

How do you deal with their dive kick pressure and defense?

im having the same problem. best thing to do is block high than low after because yuns will try to get you with a short after the dive kick. Other options include ex hayate, backdash, standing strong. im still learning but those are options. I hope this helps.

tried backdash it doesnt work i get hit out of it.

Tried s.mp but it is too slow and i get hit out of it.

-cr.mk’s a winner
-wise block/focus & backdash maneuvers, and regroup

There’s a match up sticky. Please keep this type of conversation there.

im sorry but i think we need a thread specific to the twins especially since it will easily be 50% of anyones matches played for the next few months.
on top of the fact that the thread itself is extremely outdated and hasnt been updated in quite some time and likely needs to be remade for AE anyway.

I’ve found that S.mk beats out alot of their dive kick approaches if spaced properly. Also I personally feel that Makoto has a pretty decent advantage when she gets a knock down (more so than against other characters) against yun because of his disablilty to FADC after his DP kick move. (or at least I’ve never seen one do it before). I dont think the match up is as bad as some people think it is. She can stay on top of them as well as they can against her.

Just IMO of course…

S. mp is great for stuffing yun’s lunge punch on reaction. Sometimes you trade in his favor but at least he gets air reset and doesn’t have frame advantage on you

OS c. lp + c. lk + c. mk works well or you can even bop them with an Ultra 1 if you’re feeling lucky

From my experience S.MK and S.MP work on far away dive kicks, C.MK works pretty well against close dive kicks.

As for specials, I’ve taken a day in training mode and looking at frame data to find some stuff…
Yun
LP shoulder is safe.